Skip to content

Indonesian Peanut Chicken

November 25, 2009
Indonesian Peanut Chicken

Indonesian Peanut Chicken

This is basically one of my favorite recipes ever. It’s another slow cooker recipe and there are only like, 2 ingredients (or not. But who doesn’t already have the first 7 ingredients in their pantry?). And it took like, 3 seconds to whip up. And it tasted like we were in Malaysia. India. Indonesia, yes that’s it. (Perhaps you’ve guessed that I’ve maybe called it all of the above).

1 1/2 lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut up into 1 inch cubes

1/3 cup chopped onion
1/3 cup water (I used chicken broth)
1/4 cup reduced-fat creamy peanut butter
3 tbsp. chili sauce (I used a mixture of Thai sweet chili and regular chili sauce… and maybe an extra tbsp too).
salt, pepper
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (plus about 5 extra dashes if you like to really taste your food, like me)
6 tbsp. chopped salted peanuts
1 sweet red bell pepper
3 cups cooked brown rice
1. Place chicken in the slow cooker. The ingredients don’t call for this, but I had a bottle of spicy Thai peanut sauce in my fridge, and so I marinated the chicken in it…it was worth it. I love a good kick in my food.
2. In a small bowl, combine the onion, water, peanut butter, chili sauce, salt & pepper, and cayenne; pour over chicken (Notice it doesn’t say the red bell pepper or the peanuts. I had to check that 9 times to be sure). Cover and cook on low for 4 – 6 hours, or until chicken is tender.
3. Shred meat with two forks (yeah I didn’t do that) and return to slow cooker; add the red bell pepper and peanuts; heat through.
Serve with the brown rice. And, friends, make enough rice, because I didn’t, and that was a shame. So don’t be cheap, and really go for the full 3 cups like the recipe calls for. The recipe KNOWS.
And finally, as I did, add a salad. With an Asian inspired dressing. Homemade. But I’ll save that for another post. Mmm, ginger!
Then… go to the gym. I did that too.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. camille permalink
    August 4, 2010 9:25 am

    I gotta try this. I love the following recipe and make it OFTEN although your recipe looks much less work:

    http://www.rachaelrayshow.com/food/recipes/make-your-own-take-out-spicy-peanut-chicken/

Trackbacks

  1. Meal Plan Sunday | Delicious Living

Leave a Reply

