Skip to content

delishplan week 2

February 15, 2010

Well, last week’s menu didn’t go exactly as planned but that’s okay. I still ended up using 4 of the meals, just on different days. The Fettuccine Alfredo with Shrimp was really really good, and by far the most low fat version I’ve ever made. I added 1/2 pkg of low fat cream cheese which made it even creamier and still not too hard on the fat and calories. It was also the very first time I have ever cooked with shrimp and it wasn’t scary. Ok, maybe it wasn’t scary because the shrimp were precooked and I didn’t have to “devine” anything or pull off any tails. But I have to start small – it wasn’t that long ago that I couldn’t touch a raw chicken. Speaking of which, once I thought I was buying this amazing deal on chicken breasts, until I brought them home and found out they weren’t boneless! GROSS. I had a mini heart attack and I might’ve puked a little bit until Kevin came and rescued me. Sometimes I am grateful for the farm boy in him.

This week we have four out of five evenings out (usually I try to keep it to 2 so that I don’t lose my sanity), so meals are simple. I didn’t explain last week that what is in the brackets after each meal is just the groceries I need to buy for the dish – obviously I’m not listing all the ingredients to make the meal…usually I have most of them already. Ok that was probably totally obvious. Anyway, here is this week’s dinner plan:

Monday: leftovers from last week (yay!). Actually, Kevin will be the only one eating leftovers. I am having a spinach, goat cheese, avocado and dried cranberry salad to make up for a bad eating weekend. Plus I’m off to the gym after this blog. Tonight, girls night to watch “The Bachelor” and I am bringing Triple Chocolate Fudge cake, yes I am. Right. So, about that bad eating weekend…

Tuesday: Honestly, THE best Lasagna in the world that I made awhile ago, all ready for me in the freezer. Choir in the evening.

Wednesday: Coconut Curry Shrimp (1 red bell pepper, ground coriander, curry powder, light coconut milk, fresh cilantro). We have a brand new little Indian market just around the corner from my house, so I think I’ll check it out for the curry powder. Evening at home, so have a little extra time to make a new meal.

Thursday: Chicken Artichoke Pasta (mushrooms, roma or cherry tomatoes, fresh parsley). Small group. We’re starting “The Love Dare” – anyone done this before?

Friday: we didn’t get to Kevin’s yummy omelet’s, so we’ll take a stab at them again this week. Again, served with Hashbrown Casserole. (1 red & 1 green bell pepper, mushrooms). Night out with friends!

A friend asked me for my mom’s Hashbrown Casserole recipe, and seriously, Kevin has asked me to make it a thousand times because he loves it so much. It’s definitely not my favourite but the things we do for the men we love (note: I only love one man. Just to be clear). I’ll just have a scoop.

Hashbrown Casserole:

500 ml sour cream (I use light, but it’s probably a lot better full fat)
2 cans cream of mushroom soup
1/4 cup melted butter
2 cups grated cheese
salt and pepper
1 pkg frozen hashbrown potatoes

Mix first 5 ingredients in a 9×13 dish. Carefully mix in the hashbrowns.

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.
Serves 8 (as a side dish).

I think I’ll halve the recipe for the two of us because I’m not sure how good this tastes the next day!

While I’m talking breakfast and while I’m talking Mom’s, let me share with you a recipe from Kevin’s mom that is such a sweet treat for breaky, and so easy that even Kevin can cook this!

Crepes:
(makes about 15 crepes)

2 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp sugar
pinch of salt
6 eggs
milk

Whisk together. Add milk – just enough to make it runny. Spray a pan with pam or a bit of butter/marg. When pan is hot, pour enough of the mixture into pan to make a thin layer and fry (you can only cook one crepe at a time). Flip over to cook both sides (like you do with pancakes).

Spread butter over crepe and fill with your favourite toppings – fresh berries, brown sugar, cinnamon, maple syrup, etc. I really like a banana, a drizzle of maple syrup and a pinch of brown sugar. Roll up and YUM!

I’ll leave you with a true fact. Yesterday (Valentine’s Day) marked 8 years that Kevin and I shared a heart shaped pizza at Boston Pizza and declared our true love (actually it was more like true like) for each other for the first time. Who would’ve thunk things would’ve turned out like they did considering the 5 or so years in between that we were definitely not together?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    September 14, 2010 4:49 pm

    Tweak the hashbrown casserole with the following changes, and I guarantee your husband won’t be the only one who’ll love it! One can each of mushroom & crm of chicken soup; add 1 med onion, chopped; a pinch of dried basil & a splash of sherry (& sometimes a bit of crumbled feta…yum!) Yes, you can use low fat sour crm. Make sure to use sharp cheddar. Add some milk to make the mixture feel creamier. Once it’s in the baking dish, sprinkle w/ parmesan cheese… P.S. After mixing I freeze it in usable portions; it freezes beautifully. Defrost in fridge if you have time.

Leave a Reply

