Skip to content

Kevin doesn’t like food. But I do.

February 20, 2010

Hello there. We had a good week which was made even better by Monday being Family Day. Family Day was NOT spent as a family in this household, but we did manage to have dinner together. Which brings me to my next comment, that once again, meal planning did not work out as planned, but that is totally okay. Monday for dinner we were invited over to the home of the people who “hosted” us those first 6 weeks in our new city. Those 6 weeks felt like eternity while we were waiting for our house to be complete, and now, how fast does 6 weeks fly by!? For example, it’s been 5 weeks since I started my job, but it feels like I started yesterday.

The one recipe of note this week was certainly the Coconut Curry Shrimp. Not to say Kevin’s Friday night omelette’s weren’t delicious of course, but we had to rush through them to make our 7:20 movie, and I don’t like dinner rushed. This curry made barely enough for 2 people, so next time I would consider doubling some of the ingredients. It was extremely flavourful, sweet, coconuty, and spiceful (not a word I know) and the curry taste was perfect. Not light enough for Kevin who didn’t like it at all, but you need to know that Kevin generally doesn’t like anything with flavour, unless it is salt or ketchup or 3 cheese ranch. Curry, coconut, cilantro, and lime don’t cut it for him.

It cuts it for me however.

Pardon the yellow-ish picture – I had no natural lighting, and I have a new laptop that doesn’t have my editing program on here yet. Ick.

A note about rice: It was my first time making jasmine rice, and I will now look upon all other rice as beneath thee. White rice has always tasted like cardboard to me, and I hate soy sauce. Brown has been a staple in our house, and I have made wild rice a few times without huge success (it takes an hour to make and really haven’t perfected it). Sweet Jasmine rice was perfect, especially with the coconuty flavours of this meal. Anyway, I posted the link, but here it is with my modifications. It looks like a lot of ingredients, but it came together really fast (15 minutes fast), once I had done the prep work. It would be good to have your spices measured out before you start cooking. And remember to double if you are cooking for more than 2:

Coconut Curry Shrimp with Jasmine Rice

1/2 cup onion (1 very small onion), minced
1 small each red pepper and yellow pepper, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp ground cumin
3/4 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp curry powder (this was an adventure in itself, the Indian store I bought it from was S-K-E-T-C-H-Y but the curry powder is authentic).
1 cup light coconut milk
1 tsp sugar
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
15-20 precooked shrimp (I used little guys, so if you had jumbo shrimp, which would be delicious in this dish, obviously use less. and the recipe calls for uncooked, which again, is probably better, but I’m scared of black shrimp).
1 tbsp cornstarch (stirred into 1 tbsp water)
2 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro (don’t skip this. it’s like 79 cents. seriously).
1 fresh lime (again. don’t skip! i was tempted to. but it’s IMPORTANT).

4 cups cooked Jasmine rice

In a large frying pan, heat a small amount of oil and saute the garlic. After a couple minutes, add onion and peppers and saute until soft. Stir in the cumin, coriander, and curry powder, allowing them to cook and meld for about a minute. Stir in the coconut milk, surgar and crushed red pepper flakes, stirring to get all the little spicy bits from the bottom of the pan. Here is also where I squeezed half the lime into the pan.

Turn the heat to medium high and add shrimp. If you are actually cooking them, continue to cook and stir gently while they turn a lovely pink, and as soon as all of them are finished, add the cornstarch/water mixture. Since mine were precooked, I just had to warm the shrimpies up, so I added the cornstarch/water mixture right away – it all happens pretty fast from here. Stir and let it bubble, thickening up into a delicious sauce. Salt and pepper to taste, then sprinkle fresh cilantro on top. Remove from heat and serve over hot steamed rice. Use the rest of the lime to squeeze fresh lime juice over the plates.

Yummm, I can taste it right now. I’m eating it in my mind.

I didn’t end up using Thursday night’s Chicken Artichoke Pasta, but that will probably get made sometime this weekend.

Other points of note from this week:
-I bought a pair of black skinny dress pants from RW for $4.95 (regular $78). This even beats last months RW deal of my beautiful red wool jacket regularly $158 on for $29. I LOVE RW sales.
-We finally saw Sherlock Holmes last night. I LOVED it. It surprised me, I guess because I really didn’t know much about Sherlock Holmes as a kid, I never read the books. It was darker than I was expecting (black magic stuff) but it all makes sense in the end. Great great movie.

We are going on a family trip to Ikea this morning (Kevin is so excited), so I am off to hopefully buy some new bookshelves and whatever other goodies we can find!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

