Skip to content

vegetarian lovers

March 18, 2010

Because it’s a slow day at work. Because I bothered to take a picture (despite the mocking of my husband and little brother). Because it was tasty, easy and fast. Because I love cooking meatless meals. Because I love to add black beans to just about any meal. Because I also love sweet potatoes and avocados. And cheese. Because I’m nice like that.

Because of all these wonderful things, here is the recipe for Healthy (relatively) Enchilada Casserole:

4 whole wheat flour tortillas, quartered
19 oz can of sweet potatoes, drained
19 oz can of black beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 cup chunky mild (I used medium) salsa
2 tsp chili powder
can of corn (my addition)
can of green chilis (my addition)

14 oz can of tomato sauce
1/2 cup chunky salsa
1 cup grated light sharp chedder cheese

1 ripe large avocado, diced
1/4 cup finely chopped green onion
red pepper flakes

1/2 cup light sour cream

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Arrange half of tortilla pieces in bottom of greased 9 x 13 inch baking dish.

Mash sweet potatoes in medium bowl. Add next 6 ingredients. Stir. Spread evenly over tortillas in baking dish. Arrange remaining tortilla pieces over top.

Combine tomato sauce and second amount of salsa in small bowl. Pour evenly over tortillas. Bake, uncovered, in oven for 15 minutes. Sprinkle with cheese. Bake for another 5 minutes until heated through and cheese is golden.

Sprinkle with avocado, green onion and red pepper flakes over top.

Serve with sour cream. Serves 6.

1 serving: 465 calories; 11.4 g Total fat; 17 mg Cholesterol; 81 g Carbohydrate; 14 g Fibre; 21 g Protein; 1294 mg Sodium.
p.s. really feel free to put in more chili powder, or maybe add cumin or red pepper flakes. but that’s just me.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 2:49 pm

    yummy, I love everything in this recipe. I have to get that cookbook.

  2. November 4, 2010 6:46 pm

    I must confess that I love the thought of having a meal that comes out of cans (mostly)!! Especially sweet potatoes. We both love them, but they are tough to peel and chop .

    I make an enchilada casserole too, but I am going to have to give this one a try. I think this recipe isa notch or two higher 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. delishplan week 52 « delish living
  2. delishplan week 53 with Ham & Swiss Linguine Casserole « delish living

Leave a Reply

