Skip to content

spring cleaning is underway

March 22, 2010

I accomplished so much yesterday that I feel I must share with you all. I cannot tell you how much lighter I feel now that my house is clean, laundry is done, the fridge is full and a meal plan has been made. Bring it on, week!

For the record, I know most of you won’t really care. I probably wouldn’t care if this is what you wrote on your blog. But it just feels so good to write about!

This is what I did from 1 pm – 9 pm, Sunday March 21st, the first day of spring and the most productive day of my life.

1 pm -arrived home from great weekend at The Ranch.
1 – 2 pm – organized the laundry into darks, whites, towels/sheets. Began first load. Of six. 6. Seis. that is about 5 loads too many in my opinion.
2 – 3 pm – cleaned bedroom, changed sheets, dusted and wiped furniture down. changed sheets in guest room and wiped down furniture.
3 – 4 pm – cleaned kitchen, disinfected everything, cleaned stainless steel appliances, swept the floor. laundry.
4-5 pm – swept rest of the house and vacuumed. washed floor of front door entrance. moved some furniture around in the living room. laundry.
5-6 pm – cleaned the bathroom, finalized meal plan, wrote grocery list, put some laundry away, brought Kevin dinner to the church
6-7:30pm – returned some stuff to Walmart, grocery shopped, did not do laundry.
7:30 – 8 pm – put away groceries. put away laundry. organized the pantry.
8 – 9:30 pm – cleaned up downstairs, wiped down furniture, vacuumed, including Phil’s room. i’m such an enabler. but i couldn’t stand leaving the one room that needed it the most. made my lunch for tomorrow and got the coffee ready. one last bit of laundry.
9:30 pm – crashed. hard.

The only room left untouched was Phil’s bathroom – he is doing that (of course I’ll probably do it over again. but at least the worst of it should be done). I also did not wash the floors (besides the front entrance), but that will just have to wait.

It doesn’t actually end there. This morning I literally folded more laundry, put another load in, and prepared the marinade for the chicken stir fry we are having for dinner tonight. All before 7:00 am. I am a machine.

Tonight – Kevin and Phil are both out for the evening, and I am going to watch all the TV I taped from last week. All evening. I so deserve it.

This morning I woke up to snow. I had almost forgotten that winter doesn’t really ever end on the Prairies. Thank you, weather, for reminding me to not ever get too comfortable. Spring here is such a tease!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 1:20 pm

    AH-mazing. as you are always.

  2. March 22, 2010 7:25 pm

    wowser..way to go. I love productive days!

  3. March 25, 2010 11:32 pm

    you are wonderwoman!!it's crazy how once you start, you just can't stop! i love it.now i don't feel so bad about blogging my spring cleaning, the other day. 😉

  4. March 27, 2010 4:58 pm

    I agree about spring on the prairies being a tease. We had a end of March snow storm a few mornings ago, but today it was 12 degrees. Ups and downs of spring until June-ish.

Leave a Reply

