Skip to content

weekend success!

April 17, 2010

I have basically spent this weekend shopping as Kevin is away.

I started by browsing at our fabulous South Common but didn’t end up buying anything. Old Navy was completely picked over and I made a decision to go there before the weather changes next time… maybe just maybe they would’ve had more than double XL’s in all the summer dresses and tank tops if I had gone last weekend during the freaking snow storm? Lesson learned.

On my way home I stopped at the brand new Good Earth coffee shop because it was their Grand Opening today, and they were giving away free coffee. I LOVE Good Earth coffee! Also, I don’t know all the details of this, but if you buy a pound of their coffee, it feeds a child for a week. HELLO, I will be buying from there from now on.

Oh, and I take it back, I did buy something, at Home Outfitters. A cooling rack. Can you believe I didn’t have one of these? I looked pretty intently at food processors and I am also looking for a giant (5 qt) non-stick saute pan with a lid, but couldn’t bring myself to pay $225 for one. Not today anyway. I still have $250 on my HBC gift card from our wedding, even after the big $16 spent on my new cooling rack. Saute pan or food processor? Big decision. Plus I can’t help but think Costco would be cheaper, but then, is it really cheaper when you are actually paying for it out of pocket? Notsomuch.

Last night Ikea and Indigo were wonderful company. Ikea finally inspired me to do a home project I have been putting off since we moved in – hemming the curtains in our house with the little iron on hemming strips. Uggggggh I like failed home ec in high school, and this was pretty scary, but I did it this morning! Huge accomplishment, and I can’t believe what a difference it makes to NOT have your curtains dragging messily all over the floor. It took me all morning, but it was worth it, plus it got me to clean the house while I was at it. And now all my curtains are perfect and my home is now officially tailored.

So as you can see, it has been a pretty successful 2 days. Tonight, friends took pity on me and invited me out for drinks with two of my favorite Edmonton couples at Century Grill. It’ll be weird to be the “5th” wheel, but worth getting out and talking to someone besides a saleslady.

I’m off to finish my coffee and start my new book, “Outlander” – an oldie (well, 1991) but I’ve heard wonderful things about it. I haven’t read a book that I have enjoyed as much as “Pillars of the Earth” and I’m hoping this will be my new standard of a good book. Plus the sales lady at Indigo guessed that I was also born in 1991 and I didn’t correct her but laughed politely. One day I will gloat like my dad did for years and years at all the young comments I get, but right now I kind of wish I looked like an adult.

BYE!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

