Skip to content

delishplan week 11

April 18, 2010

KEVIN IS HOME! Yay I survived! He didn’t think the curtains looked any different and he wasn’t as nearly excited about our new Ikea lamps as I thought he should be, but that is okay, he is home and I am so happy. Even though 15 minutes after getting home he had to go to the church… tis the life.

Last week at work I got the most incredible deals on meat at the student-run butcher shop. During the school year, they always have good meat on for cheap, but the last day of the shop being open until September was really something. It seemed like the entire school showed up to buy their meat for the summer, including little me, who hardly even likes meat, and contemplates becoming a vegetarian almost daily. I still spent $65 and think it’ll be all the meat we need for most of the summer, not including hamburgers for bbqs, shrimp and chicken breasts (although I did buy 4 for $6.00, that just won’t last all summer). For $65, I got 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, 6 chicken thighs ($2.53!), 4 top sirloin steaks, 2 pork loin cutlets, 1 pork tenderloin, 5 lbs of lean ground beef, 1 ham sausage, 12 spicy cheesy wieners (ooh I can taste the bbq now), one package of maple pork breakfast sausages, & 2 salmon fillets. I am annoyed at myself for not buying a roast for $8.00 or more chicken at that price, or more salmon. Anyway, I just had to share my amazing deal with you all. Kristin. Lover of Meat.

No. But I am married to a manly meat lover man.

I was VERY excited to read that I have inspired a fellow blogger friend, JL, into meal planning. She wrote all about how much more organized she feels, and how they are saving so much money on groceries for not buying all that extra stuff you “might” need that goes to waste. Seriously, best decision I have made allllll year. Meal planning should have been my New Years Resolution because I am doing much better at it than I am at my real resolution (to take more pictures).

One thing I have noticed is that I do not need to plan as many meals as I have been doing. I forget to take into account the invention of LEFTOVERS that works wonders for a busy night, and sometimes it just doesn’t work for whatever reason. Last week I only made 2 out of 4 meals – Ham & Mac & Cheese Cauliflower Bake and Shepherd’s Pie, both were great, but made WAY more than 2 people can eat in one setting. So from now on, I am only going to plan 3 or 4 meals, with the expectation that one of those meals (at least) will likely get bumped to the weekend, which works anyway because I never plan for weekends. Oooookay, here we are.

Monday: Sweet and Sour Chicken (from Healthy in a Hurry, Companys Coming)

Tuesday: Southwestern Turkey Chili (also from same cookbook, above)

Wednesday: no plans (leftovers or breakfast for dinner)

Thursday: Jamie Oliver’s “Hardly Any Prep Shrimp Stir-fry” with ginger, garlic, cilantro, shrimp, fresh veggies and vermicelli… mmmmmmmm. Haven’t made this before but we have exciting guests coming on Thursday and I can’t wait to try it out for them. Yay KAS and D for visiting!

Friday: bbq. Friends are coming over, and right now the plan is after supper, but I’m thinking of incorporating dinner with the evening… we’ll see we’ll see!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

