Skip to content

Salsa Chili

May 14, 2010

I don’t really like chili. But you probably wouldn’t know that since this is now the second chili recipe I have posted in the last month. The thing is, I like the taste of chili, the seasoning, the spice and the veggies. What I don’t like is the beans. Kidney beans to be exact. And most chili recipes call for 2 or more cans of red kidney beans. Yuck. So, this recipe is perfect because I can modify the beans I want to use, plus it includes one of my most favorite things in the world: Salsa. Yummy yummy salsa. Healthy too. Back to the beans – normally I would do one can of chickpeas, and one can of black beans. Tonight I didn’t have any black beans in the house. Sad. So I did substitute a can of red kidney beans. One can I can handle. One.

Plus. And this is important. There are no tomatoes in this (besides what is in the salsa). No tomato sauce, no stewed tomatoes, no tomato paste, no nothing. This means Kevin will eat it, and he will like it!
But maybe the most best part – it comes together in 30 minutes. Chili in 30 minutes? Seriously. This is a great weeknight meal for the nights I don’t want to cook, and I almost always have what I need in the pantry. Did I mention 30 minutes? Hello.
So here’s for when you’re in a hurry, when you need to cook for 8, or for when you don’t like tomatoes. Ladies and Gentlemen (ok just Kevin):
Salsa Chili.
1 1/2 lbs lean ground beef (I’m actually quite grossed out by beef right now after watching Food Inc. yesterday, but I made it anyway.)
1 cup chopped onion
1 small green pepper, chopped in chunks
2 cans of beans of your choice (1 can black, 1 can chickpeas; 2 cans kidney; whatever)
1 1/2 cups frozen kernel corn
canned chopped green chili’s, with liquid
2 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 1/2 cups medium (or how you like it) salsa
Scramble-fry ground beef and onion in large pot or Dutch oven until onion is soft and beef is no longer pink. Drain,.

Add remaining 8 ingredients. Heat, stirring occasionally, until boiling. Simmer for 10-15 minutes. Makes 8 1/2 cups (2.1 L) chili.

I served with grated cheese and green onions, along with crusty buns. Kevin ate his sloppy joe style. I just ate it regular chili style cuz I’m classic like that.

I made reference to this above: yesterday I watched a really eye-opening documentary, Food Inc. I’m actually quite interested in “food economics” and it is shocking how our health and safety is literally compromised by the mass production of the meat industry. It was disgusting. Everything from the hormones and chemicals that are injected into the animals, to the cruelty of animals (I honestly did not even know that I cared until I saw it), to the dirty plants, to the way a handful of major corporations are controlling the entire industry. And it wasn’t just meat. Almost all processed food and even produce is in fact affected one way or another.

With that said, I am not one to make a radical decision (i.e. just stop eating meat? Not there yet) based on the first information I heard. I’m also not about to go through my freezer and cupboards and chuck every non-organic food/meat product. But I am interested in the whole subject, and I am making a conscious decision to be particular about buying locally grown and looking for organic. And grain fed. Or something. The documentary did not touch on Canada’s process, and that is something I would like to learn more about.

Meat. Here I am talking about it again. Kevin would die if I stopped cooking it, but that’s not where I am going with this. I just don’t want to be in the dark about what is going on in this industry that has so much to do with my every day life. I want to make educated decisions to keep me and my little family healthy and safe.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

