Skip to content

healthy is tasty too: easy everyday salad

July 5, 2010
tags:
What do you do after a holiday long weekend of bbqs, fajitas, pizza, margaritas, wine, kettle popcorn and french pastry puffs? Um, eat a salad.

I love this salad but I debated actually writing a post about it because, well, it’s a salad. Anyone can make a salad. But I’m going with it because my picture is so colorful and the flavours are just so right on. And it makes me feel healthy just looking at it. Besides, the next post I am going to write is on the above mentioned french pastry puffs which are pure sugar-cinnamon delight. I’m all about balance.

This salad is a version of basically what I eat for lunch 2-3 times per week. The salad I had last night (that you see above) combined baby organic spinach, organic strawberries, toasted almonds, a sliced gala apple, crumbled goat cheese and thinly sliced red onions. If I had an avocado I would have chopped that up too. Usually I just use whatever I have: dried cranberries, trail mix, raspberries, pecans, dried fruit, whatever. Promise me you’ll toast the almonds if you use them. PROMISE ME.

The dressing is your basic 3 parts olive oil, 1 part vinegar (I used red wine vinegar. Balsamic is good too), & freshly ground pepper and sea salt to taste. For kicks I whisked in a teaspoon of dijon mustard. Sometimes I add some chopped up garlic, ginger and/or fresh cilantro for other flavours. You can use whatever you have on hand. The mistake I always make is drenching my salad with dressing. You definitely don’t need very much especially when using an oil based dressing. A few teaspoons will do the trick. I like this dressing bc the red wine vinegar offsets the sweetness of the strawberries, and the dijon mustard gives it some punch. Yum what an amalgamation of flavours!

And just like that, the 10 pounds I gained from pure sugar, potatoes and bacon wrapped chicken on the bbq (HELLO) vanished and I became Jane Fonda. This salad is a miracle worker people.
Who am I kidding. Pass the pastry puffs!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. R Meier permalink
    July 13, 2010 11:14 am

    that looks awesome and refreshing…

  2. July 13, 2010 2:50 pm

    This looks great!!
    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog!! I’m so thrilled you like it! I’m glad to have yours now, too- I love it!

Leave a Reply

