Skip to content

Couscous Stuffed Tomatoes

July 15, 2010

How cute are these? I love good-looking food! This was my yummy dinner last night which was perfect because:

a. Kevin hates tomatoes + b. Kevin is away

So I realize these won’t work for everybody. The word “couscous” has already scared half my readers away.  I am not sure how kid friendly they are – I live in a dream world where my future children will take after me as I am today (try almost anything) and not me as I was at 5 years old (a food brat). Plus, they are quote unquote “healthy” ( I had a friend drop by while I was making these and those were her words).

If you’re still reading, then ding ding, you have got to make these!!! I used all fresh delicious ingredients and they embody everything summer. They have a homemade pesto flavour going on – basil, breadcrumbs, lemon juice, etc.  Plus I love couscous. This is a dinner RIGHT up my ally. I LOVED them. My new go-to food when Kevin is away and there is no milk for cereal (don’t you hate that?). I didn’t do a grocery run this week so I had to substitute what I had to stuff these little babies, but as you can see, I filled them to the brim. The stuffing that didn’t make it into the tomatoes I simply ate as a side dish. Yummm.

Oh Kevin, when will you see the light? We could live happily ever after eating these every night for dinner. Alas.

Recipe, adapted from: katiescooking on Tasty Kitchen

Couscous Stuffed Tomatoes (serves 2)

6 whole medium tomatoes
2/3 cup uncooked couscous – follow directions on box to cook
1/8 cup toasted almonds or pine nuts
1/8 cup chopped basil
1/2 cup spinach, chopped
juice of 1 lemon
freshly ground sea salt and pepper (to taste)
1/4 cup red onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup breadcrumbs
1/4 cup parmesan
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Read this carefully – You have to let the tomatoes sit, upside down on a paper towel with the insides scooped out for 30 minutes, that is THIRTY MINUTES before you can stuff and cook them. This kinda screwed up my night because I love not reading recipes in full before I begin making something. It’s my favourite, especially when I’m starving. I wasn’t mad at all.

Slice off the very bottom of the washed tomatoes, just enough to let them stand up without rolling. Then slice the tops right off and scoop out the insides. Sprinkle the inside of the tomatoes with sea salt and then refer to warning above, and do not skip this step or you will have a soggy disgusting mess. We can’t have that.

Make the couscous according to the directions on the box. After it has sat for 5 minutes, mix the nuts, basil, spinach, chopped red onion, garlic,  lemon and salt and pepper in a separate bowl and stir into the couscous pot.

In a small bowl, mix together the breadcrumbs and parmesan.

Spray a glass baking dish with non-stick spray. Spoon the mixture into the tomatoes and top with as much of the breadcrumb mixture that you can handle. Place the tomatoes in the baking dish. Drizzle a small amount of olive oil over the breadcrumb topping.

Bake uncovered in the 375-degree oven for 15-20 minutes, or until the tomato skin starts to split and soften.

Heaven.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. R Meier permalink
    July 15, 2010 9:38 am

    I will be trying these for sure…my kids and hubby are away next week will try it then so I can have it all to myself..hehe

  2. Rachelle permalink
    July 15, 2010 10:18 am

    I am going to try these too!! Thanks for the suggestion!! I made your Asian Salad last night and LOVED it!

  3. Emilie permalink
    July 16, 2010 11:58 am

    Kristen, you rawk! I love your blog. Can’t wait until you have to adapt these foods to be kid friendly. And, BTW, Bernie will love these, cause I’ve made something similar. The cheese and basil make it…and of course garden or farmers market tomatoes.

  4. July 16, 2010 2:34 pm

    Thank you friends! I am having so much fun reading your comments!

Trackbacks

  1. delishplan week “end” 64 & week 65 « delish living

Leave a Reply

