Skip to content

delishplan week 24: Vacay Food Planning… or not.

July 18, 2010

We leave tomorrow morning for Sunny California, and honestly, I don’t remember the last time I was this excited for something! Since there will not be a meal plan this week, I thought I’d talk about the ways we’ll be eating while we are away. Kevin and I might just come home skinnier because I just know we’re going to be cheap on the eating out! I’m a little annoyed that our hotel doesn’t have a continental breakfast, but I mean, I did pick the hotel, so I can’t even blame it on Kevin. Pffffft.

So. We have a mini fridge in our room, and we plan on getting cereal, milk and fruit for breakfast. For lunch, we’ll buy bread, meat and cheese and somehow we’ll pack it for our days in Disney.

Sigh, aren’t those beautiful thoughts? Honestly, I have no idea how this is actually going to go down! We could go back to the hotel every day for lunch/dinner as it’s only a 10 minute walk. But I’m a little bit concerned about Kevin’s comments about needing a NAP every day… um, there will be no time for naps. Therefore, I would like to stay far far away from the hotel around “nap time” as much as possible. I’m worried our 15 minute lunch break at the hotel will turn into Kevin’s hour long sleep and I’ll be bouncing off the walls because I want to go back. If he wants a nap, we’ll take a turn on “It’s a Small World” and he’ll be sorry he ever wished for a nap. Evil laugh.

With our package, we get a $100 restaurant voucher for the different eateries at the Sheraton. The plan is to save this for dinners each night, and hopefully get two or even three dinners out of that… I can be really cheap when I want to be. Maybe we’ll do a contest to see if we can get 4 dinners out of it… I’m not sure who the winner will be, but Kevin can turn just about anything into a competition, so we’ll work something out.

Realistically, I know we will be eating out quite a bit. We have reservations for the Rainforest Cafe in Downtown Disney on Tuesday night. We’ll be at Universal likely on Thursday or Saturday, so that will be another night out. On Friday we’ll spend the day in Santa Monica and the evening at Dodgers Stadium. So I’m preparing for spending some money on eating out, but that’s just part of the fun. I mean, who doesn’t love to spend $7 on bottled water at Disneyland? And is $15 too much to spend on a hotdog at Dodger’s Stadium? Totally reasonable. I’m having fun already!

Yeah, so I said we might come home thinner, but come to think of it, cheap food = fast food = definitely fatter (and poorer). Worth it? I think yes.

I have my meal plan figured out for the week after: celery. Done.

Bookmark and Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

