Skip to content

delishplan week 26

August 1, 2010

Seriously, how is it POSSIBLE that it is back to work time on Tuesday? People should not have to work in the summer! Gah (new word… just trying it out… I like it.).

So back to work really means back to reality which I am just not ready for! It’s been so long since I have planned, and followed through with, a meal plan that in some ways it will be good to have some regularity in our lives again. Meal planning is just step one to being organized – I could just handle waiting until September for that. And really, when are you ever, completely organized? Me? Never. I am, however, happy to report that I have purchased make-shift recycling bins for our kitchen and organized our closet and brought winter clothes downstairs (probably should have done that in May, but whatev). Two things crossed off the list. Out of 102.

Annnnnnnnnnd I just spilled coffee all over my white sheets. Gah again. (It works so well!).

Anyhow, despite all the “stuff” that needs to be done, life continues on, and here is what you can expect on our dinner plates this week:

Sunday: Ok, remember that butternut squash I mentioned, ohhhh, 2 weeks ago? Yah, it’s kind of still sitting on my counter. Begging to be cooked. This WILL happen tonight, as I’m not sure how much longer it will be good for! Butternut Squash Soup, perfect for the hottest freaking day ever. Will consider serving cold. Maybe that’s gross. We’ll see.

Monday: Tuna Melts (special request from Husband). Fast and easy, and in fact, will likely only be eaten by Kevin… I am going to the much-anticipated Bachelorette Finale where I know there will be a ton of food. I am bringing some yummy, healthy treats myself, including Mock Deep-Fried Chickpeas and Cream Cheese Vegetable “Pizzas” on Pillsbury dough (a treat a friend, Erin, makes at all her get-togethers and every time I want to secretly eat the whole plate). Recipes to come.

Tuesday: Uh, leftover butternut squash soup, leftover appetizers (ha, ha, ha?) and leftover tuna melts from the night before. So basically, leftovers. It will have been my first day back at work after 17 days, and I anticipate being grumpy!

Wednesday: We have company! Fun! I am making one of my favorites AND something so darn easy: Indonesian Peanut Chicken… in the slow cooker! So great when I work all day and come home to dinner pretty much made and my kitchen not all hot hot hot. All I will need to do is make the rice and salad, and check out the gorgeous salad I will be trying: Mango Slaw with Cashews and Mint from Smitten Kitchen. I don’t know what I am more excited for: a delicious meal pretty much made for me, or buying a mango for the first time ever?

Thursday: Will it ever be Thursday? Seriously, this just seems like light-years away. Kevin has football at 6:30, so we will eat light but with carbs and protein: bbq shrimp-pasta salad. If we like it (i.e. if I like it), I’ll post the recipe.

Friday: My sister is planning on being here! I think we’ll play it cool by having smokies and/or chicken burgers on the bbq, along with leftover pasta salad from the night before. Gotta love a bbq on Friday night!

That’s it! If you meal plan, I would love to hear whats on your menu this week! Also, I am looking for suggestions on what to actually call my meal planning posts – “This Week for Dinner” is already taken by one of my favorite bloggers. “Meal Plan Monday” is a well-known segment in the food blogging world, but I can’t use that seeing as how I don’t meal plan on Mondays! “Meal Plan Sunday” is lame. I would love to hear your thoughts, and if I like one, I’ll happily use it each week!!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 5:54 am

    That slow-cooker recipe looks great — I am going to save it!

    • August 7, 2010 10:34 pm

      Newlywed – it IS good!!! i hope you try it, and soon 🙂

  2. Kristy-Anne permalink
    August 2, 2010 9:41 am

    Ummm you have never bought a mango? Silly silly girl. Sounds yummie.

  3. camille permalink
    August 4, 2010 9:21 am

    Ok I really love this site!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you are da bomb.

    my idea is :

    DelishPlanOtheWeek

    or

    OperationFussyHubby

    or MyMealPlanSoFar

    or

    DelishLivingSchedule1.0…. 2.0… etc

    OOk i’ll stop now. Too much coffee.

    • August 4, 2010 11:17 am

      Fun ideas!!!! I like using “Delish” in it – like “DelishPlanOfTheWeek” – I’ll think about that one! And I like the 1.0, 2.0 idea too…. HMMMMMMMMMM.

  4. December 16, 2010 3:55 am

    cool website you have here

Leave a Reply

