Skip to content

Fresh Veggie Cream Cheese “Pizza”

August 4, 2010

vegetable cream cheese on pillsbury dough

fresh vegetable cream cheese pizza

Every time I am at a get together where my friend and fellow blogger, Erin J is, she brings this along. I am die hard for anything cream cheese on any type of bread product, but then topped with yummy vegetables and more cheese? Hello.  The picture above is the pre-cut version – I used a pizza cutter to cut into rectangles just before serving. I would like to experiment with “pizza style” shapes, but as usual I was late and my life was a gong show on my way out the door. Rectangles it was. These make a great appetizer when you’re looking for something healthier among the deep fried mozza sticks (yum) and saucy meatballs and everything else that is so bad but so good. They also would make your coworkers jealous at lunch time. I think I’m going to do that (make them for lunch, not make my coworkers jealous). Next week. When I’m on top of things again (ha. ha. ha.).

Fresh Veggie Cream Cheese Pizza
1 can (8 oz.) refrigerated crescent rolls
1 package (8 oz.) cream cheese, softened – experiment with different flavours. I just used regular, but Vegetable Cream Cheese would be awesome.
1-1/2 teaspoons mayonnaise
1 teaspoon Dill Mix or dill weed – LOVE DILL!
salt and pepper to taste
2 cups of a variety of fresh vegetables: zucchini, mushrooms, carrots, green or red peppers, green onions, seeded tomatoes, seeded cucumbers, etc. I used what I had: 1 small (each) red, yellow and orange pepper; fresh white mushrooms; green onion
1 oz. (1/4 cup) shredded cheddar cheese, if desired. If desired? Come on.

Preheat oven to 350° F.

Spread crescent roll dough (I used a wooden roller to do so) onto 13-inch baking stone or cookie sheet and pinch seams together. This part doesn’t REALLY matter that much because you are just going to cut it all up anyway. As you can see from my picture, mine was all uneven and stuff. I probably should have cared more since I’m sharing this uneven picture with the world. Or just 3 of you. Whatevs. 

Bake 10-12 minutes until lightly browned (mine were more than ready at 9 minutes). Remove from oven and let cool completely.

Blend cream cheese, mayonnaise, dill weed, salt and pepper. Lick the spoon. Spread the cream cheese mixture on top of cooled crust (with a non-licked spoon). Coarsely chop chosen vegetables and combine in a small mixing bowl.

Sprinkle vegetables over pizza. Top with grated cheese. Refrigerate before serving, and cut into individual pieces just before serving.

Yield: 8-10 appetizer servings. More if you’re economical like me and cut into about 16 individual pieces (not including the 4 “end pieces” I ate by myself before anyone saw). Yummy! Thanks Erin for letting me share!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim Berg permalink
    August 4, 2010 10:08 am

    yum, these were SO good! I have had these many times before and love that you can top them with any veggie you have on hand and it always tastes delicious!

  2. August 4, 2010 11:04 am

    Totally Kim! I love recipes like this! Thanks for commening 🙂

  3. Rachelle permalink
    August 5, 2010 8:23 am

    These WERE great! Thanks for posting the recipe so I can make them!!

  4. tmo permalink
    August 7, 2010 8:44 pm

    next time you should def throw some broccoli + cauliflower on there – all the crispness is a wonderful combo. also philly herb + garlic spreadable cream cheese is also amazing in it 🙂 i cut my pizza “crust” before putting the cream cheese mix on cause its so finicky once the veggies are piled high, 2 can work good for a full rectangle pizza. Pegs calls this “candy”

  5. August 7, 2010 10:19 pm

    Those are great suggestions Tan!!!! I had broccoli ready to go but decided against it last minute – next time for sure!

  6. camille permalink
    August 16, 2010 12:03 pm

    ok i FINALLY made this on Saturday and LOVED It – so easy. I was worried about spreading the dough, but found the best thing to do was just to unroll each “triangle” and spread it evenly.
    I used 2 cans of dough and used a whole cookie sheet to double the recipe – although I didn’t double cream cheese and it was still great.

Leave a Reply

