Skip to content

Summer is delicious: Mango Salad with Mint and Cashews

August 7, 2010

 

Mango Salad

As a picky eater child, I didn’t try a lot of different foods. I would declare something inedible based on texture, what it looked like, if there was blood oozing from it (still not a huge lover of red meat), or if I just felt like being a brat. And being stubborn, it was possible I wouldn’t try it for years and years later. Now, I get to be pleasantly surprised whenever I try new foods – mushrooms, goat cheese, shrimp, olives. This week I was reintroduced to mangoes. Until this week, I had never purchased a mango. As per usual, Iwas pretty sure I had an aversion to mangoes, probably from eating one too many on a trip to St. Lucia when I was 16.

When I saw this salad I knew it was time for mangoes to be given their 2nd chance. I absolutely loved this salad. The author of the recipe calls hers a “slaw” because she julienned her mangoes and vegetables so thinly. Me? No time. Home at 5, company at 6, bathrooms not clean and fresh mint and ice cream still needed to be picked up from the grocery store (which turned into two trips, but Kevin came to the rescue). Typical. So no, I do not call mine a slaw, and rather a salad, and frankly, it all tastes the same. Unless julienned vegetables take on a new flavor that I don’t know about. The napa cabbage, mangoes, red peppers, fresh mint, toasted cashews and lime-rice vinegar vinaigrette became the most surprising combination of light, minty,  fresh, fruity flavors – with a touch of toasted cashews. I loved it.

Who knew I liked mangoes?

Mango Slaw with Cashews and Mint from Smitten Kitchen

2 mangoes, peeled, pitted and julienned or sliced very thinly
1 to 1 1/4 pounds Napa cabbage, halved and sliced very thinly
1 red pepper, julienned
1/2 red onion, thinly sliced
6 tablespoons of fresh lime juice, from about two limes
1/4 cup rice vinegar
2 tablespoons oil of your choice (i used a combo of olive oil and sesame oil)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes, or to taste (or omit this and whisk in a chile paste to taste)
1/4 cup thinly sliced fresh mint leaves
1/4 cup toasted cashews, coarsely chopped

Toss mangoes, cabbage, pepper and onion in a large bowl. Whisk lime juice, vinegar, oil, salt and red pepper in a smaller bowl and pour over slaw. You can either serve this immediately or leave the flavors to muddle for an hour in the fridge. Before serving, toss with mint leaves and sprinkle with cashews.

About your mango: This salad will work with almost any variety or ripeness of mango, whether sour or sweet. Use the one you can get, or that you enjoy the most. In general, a firmish not overly ripe mango (unlike the very ripe, sweet one I used) holds up best but all will be delicious in this salad.

***being a first time mango buyer, I innocently ended up with a perfectly ripe mango and a not so ripe one, leaving me with both slightly sweet and sour tastes. but as the note from the author states above, it was still totally delicious. so do not worry too much about getting the perfect mangoes – they will all work!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Cory permalink
    August 7, 2010 7:52 pm

    You must not be as picky as you think, because I always love reading your meal suggestions but then get too afraid to try most of them. They all have so many yummy sounding things (mostly different types of vegtables that I’ve only pretended to eat) and it just makes me nervous. I have never eaten a pepper, ever. I cook with them in giant chunks and then eat around them, or puree them. The idea of biting into one scares me. This said I am working myself up to making your stuffed pepper recipe based solely on the pictures you posted. They look so dang good!!!! You’re blog just might get me to grow up a little.

  2. August 7, 2010 8:50 pm

    This mango salad tastes SOOO good. Two thumbs up! Thank you!!
    Also, if you like mango, you’ll love mango pudding (use puree and full fat milk for whipping) and mango over yogurt.. soo soo delicious

  3. August 7, 2010 10:22 pm

    You are so funny Cory!!! Peppers are not scary. If I can eat a mango, you can definitely eat a pepper! When you work up the courage to try, let me know how it goes!!!

    Elaine, that sounds wonderful. Is there an actual recipe to that, or just wing it with what you wrote?

  4. August 8, 2010 5:29 am

    Mmmm, looks delicious. Thanks for showing it thinly sliced as opposed to julienned…I lack patience even when I have time!

  5. Elaine permalink
    August 13, 2010 3:52 pm

    Definitely not winging it! This is a good recipe for mango pudding. Next time I’ll make it for you guys!

    * 500ml carton whipping cream
    * 1 can (750ml) mango pulp/puree
    * 3 packages (15ml) unflavoured gelatine
    * 1 cup hot water
    * 3/4 cup sugar
    * 1 ripe mango

    1. Dissolve the gelatine and sugar in boiling water and stir to mix well. Let it cool for a few minutes.
    2. Add in the mango pulp.
    3. Add in the whipping cream or water and mix well.
    4. You can add in some fresh mango for the extra texture. Peel the mango, remove the flesh and mash them up.
    5. Add in the fresh mango pulp and mix well.
    6. Pour the mixture into a container and refrigerate for at least two to three hours.

  6. August 15, 2010 11:19 am

    Awesome!!! Can’t wait to try that!

  7. August 29, 2010 8:29 pm

    ..I like the addition of mint and cashews…a whole new level of flavor…

  8. August 30, 2010 8:07 am

    I completely agree Debbie!!!

Leave a Reply

