Skip to content

Healthy Highlight: Grilled Lemon Thyme Chicken

August 12, 2010

Grilled Lemon Thyme Chicken

Grilled Lemon Thyme Chicken

 

Yummmmmmmm. Sometimes the best dinner is simple chicken, rice and a steamed vegetable. While this grilled chicken was indeed simple and quick, it was anything but typical. The original recipe called for rosemary but knowing Kevin was doing the grocery shopping this week (bless his heart), I wrote on the grocery list “fresh rosemary or thyme”. I knew that meant he would bring home thyme and I’m so glad he did! It was flavourful, juicy and perfectly lovely. 

Ok, so if you are smarter than me, you will a) make sure you HAVE chicken in the house before you decide to make this; and b) you will marinate it all day long in the fridge. It’s a good idea to be smarter than me as it will make your life much easier (in many aspects of your life). I had to do a last minute run to Save-On (where they sell 6 chicken breasts for $10 all the time which I say is a good deal), and I only marinated the chicken for maybe 16.5 minutes. It was still terrific. Bet that’s a word you don’t use every day. But all day in this yummy summery marinade would be out of this world. So do it. Be smarter than me. I’m okay with that. 

Here’s the recipe: 

Grilled Lemon Thyme Chicken
adapted from Mireille Guiliano, French Women Don’t Get Fat (is this true?) 

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
Juice of 1 lemon
4 tbsp olive oil
4 garlic cloves, minced
fresh thyme sprigs, with thyme pinched off
freshly ground sea salt and pepper 

Place the chicken breasts in a baking dish. Mix together the lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, and thyme and pour over chicken. Season with salt and pepper. Do this in the morning, before you go to work, not 10 minutes before your husband gets home. Or wife. I’m sure many men are reading this right now. Ahem. 

Cover and marinade at least 2 hours in the refrigerator. 15 minutes will do the trick in a pinch. 

Bring the chicken to room temperature before grilling. I used my wonderful amazing cuisanart grill and it took about 8-10 minutes (both sides being grilled at the same time), at 350 degrees, but check yours for doneness. Let’s not get salmonella. 

I served with brown rice and steamed broccoli with olive oil. And a glass of Yellow Tail chardonnay. Mmhmmmmm. Grilled Chicken with Lemon and Thyme

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2010 6:44 am

    My mom has always grown lemon thyme in her garden, this was one of our family’s favorite summer dishes growing up! I can’t wait to try it on my own!

    • August 14, 2010 10:03 pm

      it’s very tasty and Herbs straight from the garden would make it that much better!

  2. cory permalink
    August 15, 2010 2:31 pm

    Made this for supper last night wit some baby potatoes, yummy yummy. It was the first time I cooked with Thyme. Very flavorful! I think I will try the rosemary next time just to see which I like better.

  3. August 15, 2010 3:14 pm

    Cory that is so great! Yes, do try with rosemary, and tell me how it goes 🙂

  4. August 16, 2010 6:12 pm

    This recipe sounds great – i love easy chicken dishes! Your photos are beautiful too!

  5. TiffanyKLB permalink
    August 17, 2010 12:35 pm

    This sounded so good I bought the ingredient for it yesterday and I am going to make it this week. Thanks for the great idea!

    • August 17, 2010 1:09 pm

      @Rachel: Thanks! The photos are slowly improving… it’s shocking how much work actually goes into a blog, wouldn’t you say?!! Hope you drop by often – I’ll be checking you out too, especially for healthy options!

      @Tiffany: Thank YOU for coming by and commenting friend!!! Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Trackbacks

  1. Attn: Creative Cooks — Need Your Recipes! | Nutri-Savvy's Blog

Leave a Reply

