Skip to content

delishplan week 28

August 15, 2010

Candied Pecan Blackberry Salad
Candied Pecan Blackberry Salad

I posted the directions for this beautiful summer salad last week, and when I made it, it was too lovely to not take a picture to share with you all. So do yourselves a favor and savour summer a little bit more with this yummy creation! In case you missed it, here is the recipe again, this time written with the way I made it: 

Spinach
Blackberries
Crumbled light feta
Red onion, diced
Candied pecans – to candy, put the pecans in a non-stick pan on med-high; toast about a minute then sprinkle with a generous amount of brown sugar and a wee bit of water. It will become syrupy; simmer and stir until it turns to a crunch coating on the pecans. 

Kraft Sesame Orange dressing, OR:
1/4 c Orange juice  
1/4 c Cider vinegar    
2 tb Sugar   
2 tb Soy sauce    
1 tb Toasted sesame oil 

It’s possible I have found my new “go-to” salad. 

We just got home from an awesome weekend of camping in Sylvan Lake. We moved to Edmonton just over a year ago, and if someone had told us then that in a year we would be out camping of all things with 6 couples that we genuinely call our friends, I am not sure we would’ve believed them. For one thing, the Janzen’s and camping is not exactly a natural combination. Second of all, making friends is not easy, and some people are lucky to find one friend that they are truly themselves with. But we have made many natural connections here and we consider ourselves so blessed. We had a blast camping, and we just may have to make this an annual trip. Just once a year though. That’s plenty for me. I felt dirty all weekend and I even had a shower. Next year maybe we’ll stay at the Ramada and see if anyone notices. Or there’s always Vegas…. 

We even managed to find things to eat, and eat we did. Junk food, smores, smokies, steaks, bacon, eggs, chocolate, icecream, peaches and cherries, bush pies on the fire, caesars and everything else that is wonderful to eat in the great outdoors. It’s a good thing we don’t eat like that every weekend. 

With that said, let’s get to this week for dinner. 

Monday: Grilled Panini’s on ciabatta buns 

Tuesday: it’s our “2nd Annual Fringe Date” and Kev and I are heading over to Whyte Ave for dinner on the patio at Chianti’s and a stroll through Edmonton’s awesome Fringe Festival. It was a highlight of last summer for us, and this year should be good too! 

Wednesday: company’s coming! Jamie Oliver’s “Hardly Any Prep Shrimp Stir Fry” – love love love. 

Thursday: leftovers 

Friday: Chicken Fajitas 

Saturday: We have company staying over for the night, and we will either go out or I’ll think of something special. 

My, what a wonderful week this is!!! 

I’d love to hear what you’re having for dinner this week – whether you have 1 meal planned or all 7! Let’s inspire each other!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2010 12:47 pm

    happy to hear you had fun camping! smores…. yummy. nothing like camping food. haha. i haven’t been to sylvan lake in years!

    salad looks good. i think my boy would even eat that. haha

    the only meals i have planned this week: pork tenderloin i got from the farmers market last week, with potatoes and roasted veggies and i also plan to make this, with some changes: http://kalynskitchen.blogspot.com/2009/09/recipe-for-meat-tomato-and-mozzarella.html

  2. August 15, 2010 1:20 pm

    those look absolutely devine! i love stuffing any sort of veggie, and zucchini is one i have yet to try. i’ll have to bookmark that one. i’ve had a pork tenderloin in my freezer for prob 2 months now and don’t know what to do with it…. i’ll be checking your blog just in case you post something about it!!!

  3. August 15, 2010 2:50 pm

    Just came across your site through Is My Blog Burning?. Wonderful idea with the meal planning on Sundays. It gets so hard by Wednesday to figure out what to eat! I try to do the same thing but nothing officially written, it so goes out of the window.

    I made manti today, I guess you can call it a Turkish style ravioli. That should last two days. And I bought some tiny Chinese eggplants at Farmer’s Market yesterday. So I will do some sort of stir fry with pinenuts. Also there is bok choi on the menu. I have never cooked it before so I don’t know what will come out of it. It will be interesting. I don’t even know what it tastes like.

    Great blog and great pictures. Enjoyed reading.

  4. August 15, 2010 3:26 pm

    Hi Ilke! So glad you dropped by and liked what you saw! It’s definitely a work in progress. Meal planning does not always come easily for me either, but it sure makes a huge difference in my week. Your meal ideas this week sound great! I would throw the bok choy in with the egg plant/pine nut stir fry – it could work!!!

  5. August 16, 2010 5:54 am

    That salad looks heavenly. I can’t wait to try it! Sometimes I feel like there just aren’t enough meals in the day!
    Here’s our week:
    Mon — out
    Tues — Macaroni and Cheese, sauteed broccoli
    Weds — Polenta with Meat Sauce, Grilled Zucchini with Thyme
    Thurs — Caramelized Onion and Parmesan Panini, side salad
    Fri — Kasha Varnishkes topped with egg, suateed spinach

  6. August 16, 2010 7:54 am

    What a lovely salad! So light and beautiful!!

  7. August 16, 2010 8:21 am

    @newlywed, i love a girl that includes mac & cheese in her meal plan – let’s keep it real, shall we?! that was our sunday lunch yesterday 🙂

    @amy, the salad is beautiful, but more importantly, it tastes wonderful!!! today i have it for lunch with mandarin oranges substituted for the blackberries (i ran out). can’t wait for lunch!

  8. August 16, 2010 9:00 am

    Another meal planner! I like you already!

    Griled pork chops with rosemary potatoes and sauteed apples
    Chicken parmesan with spaghetti and homemade marinara
    Short ribs with mashed potatoes and peas
    Beef tenderloin burgers, fries and balsamic cucumbers
    Buttermilk fried chicken and Eating Well’s skinny potatoes and green beans

  9. Kristy-Anne permalink
    August 20, 2010 12:13 pm

    ummm I am still trying to get back to my meal planning, it was so fabulous when I did it. Now I manage about 2-4 meals a week planned… I suppose not so bad since we are away all the time.

    This week monday was chicken broccoli bake, so good, I always get compliments, but not the most gourmet and fresh, so I don’t do it often. I suppose it is good to have an easy yummie meal once in a while.

    Tuesday and Thursday (and friday for Darryl) I made beet borscht. Delicious and nutricious and lovely colour.

Leave a Reply

