Skip to content

Fruit Salsa

August 20, 2010

Why does work have to be so much work?  With school starting up right away, my workday has gone from pleasantly full to I AM A CRAZY PERSON busy. I am that person who shoots laser beams out of her eyes when you ask her a question. My hands are constantly in my hair and/or rubbing my forehead. And I may or may not answer the phone, “What do you want?” Okay so it’s not that bad (although the hands in hair/forehead rubbing is true, and sometimes I feel like answering the phone like that), but the point is, I am a tad tired when I get home at night, therefore posts might be a tad farther and fewer between for the next few weeks or so.  

With that said, here is a delicious summer (summer? what is that?) treat to bring to your next get together! It seriously feels like fall here, so I knew I had to get this recipe up before it becomes socially unacceptable to bring a summery fruit salsa to your next bbq, baby shower or Bachelor Pad girls night. Don’t judge me.

So you need to know something about me. I seem to always screw up a new recipe the first time I make it (and usually the 2nd time too). Why I don’t just follow the recipe to the t, i just don’t know. This time I added too much sugar. Next to impossible, I know. But sugar turns fruit basically into syrup, which ruined the consistency of the salsa (refer to Exhibit A for proof). Still awfully tasty though. Nice and sweet. I’m just glad you all have me to make your cooking mistakes for you. Nooooo problem.

I made my own cinnamon chips to go with, however there is a brand of cinnamon chips that apparently are only available at Safeway, near the flowers of all places, that make the BEST dippers. So you pick – make ’em yourself, or buy ’em at Safeway. Just make sure you have them one way or another.

I’m posting the recipe as is, but if you were me making this the 2nd time, I would start with halving the sugars and working my way up to the desired sweetness. Just a hint. Unless you like syrup, like, a lot.

Fruit Salsa with Baked Cinnamon Chips

by Allrecipes

2 kiwis, peeled and diced
2 Golden Delicious apples – peeled, cored and diced
8 ounces raspberries (I used blackberries instead)
1 (16 oz) carton of strawberries, diced
2 tablespoons white sugar (more or less to taste)
1 tablespoon brown sugar (more or less to taste)
2.5 tablespoons fruit preserves, any flavor (I used a mix of apricot and strawberry)

10 (10 inch) flour tortillas
melted butter or butter flavored cooking spray
2 cups cinnamon sugar

1. In a large bowl, thoroughly mix kiwis, apples, raspberries, strawberries, white sugar, brown sugar and fruit preserves. Cover and chill in the refrigerator at least 15 minutes.

2.Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

3.Coat one side of each flour tortilla with melted butter or butter flavored cooking spray. Sprinkle tortillas with desired amount of cinnamon sugar. Cut into wedges and arrange in a single layer on a large baking sheet. Spray again with cooking spray (not necessary if using melted butter).

4.Bake in the preheated oven 8 to 10 minutes. Repeat with any remaining tortilla wedges. Allow to cool approximately 15 minutes. Serve with chilled fruit mixture. Best when made and eaten the same day otherwise the fruit gives off so too much juice and it gets runny.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2010 6:56 am

    Those cinnamon chips sound awesome! Something I’ve never thought of!

  2. August 21, 2010 11:18 am

    Yes, they are totally worth the trouble of making them!!! I can’t think of anything better to eat with this salsa.

  3. August 22, 2010 10:13 pm

    I love this! What a tasty, healthy dessert option. We are always baking our own tortilla chips, never thought to add some cinnamon and sugar!

  4. camille permalink
    September 1, 2010 9:04 am

    I’ve made this before, but only with strawberries – i will have to try it with the other berries sometime. And SWEET! i had no idea that safeway made their own Cinnamon chips. That is awesome!

Leave a Reply

