Skip to content

delishplan week 29

August 22, 2010
Peaches and Icecream

Ice cream for dinner? Well I won’t say it hasn’t happened before. This has been my favorite treat lately and with my fresh supply of peaches from the Farmers Market yesterday, it’s a good one. No cooking required. No creativity required. Sometimes simplicity is such a beautiful thing. I just hope I can go back to eating peaches without the ice cream. That was kind of an unforeseen problem.

Other inspiration from the Whyte Ave Old Strathcona Farmers Market yesterday: 3 lbs of blueberries, now good and frozen for fall and winter treats when I need a splash of summer (basically I just don’t know what to do with them right now). Mini red, yellow and green bell peppers and mini green and yellow squash. I am so drawn to colorful produce.

This is what I’ll be making alongside my ice cream this week.

Monday: Grilled chicken, couscous and steamed mini squash with olive oil, sea salt and thyme.

Tuesday: Whole grain spaghetti with summer squashes, bell peppers and garlic bread crumbs – recently posted by one of my blog friends “The Cook and the Dishwasher“, and I knew as soon as I saw it, I would be trying it soon. It looks perfect – no tomato sauce for my picky sweetheart, and lots of veggies, whole grains and garlic for me.

Wednesday: Healthy Southwestern Sloppy Joes

Thursday: leftovers

Friday: Staff bbq with the church – guaranteed to be a fun and delicious evening! I’m bringing a fruit salad – anybody have a fruit salad recipe that isn’t the “norm”??? I want to try something new and different!

That’s it! Please share what you’re making this week, and especially share your fun fruit salad recipes so that I’m not a total loser when I show up on Friday!

p.s. I didn’t actually eat icecream for dinner. I was simply tempted  to.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2010 6:24 pm

    I need to read your blog every Sunday evening so that I can force myself to think “What am I cooking this week?” !

    Have some zucchinis in the fridge and dill. I know they both go well together, so there will be a veggie night.

    Let me think more! But I know I will be eating for dinner one night roasted pears and icecream, I will post that as well sometime this week. I know it is more like a fall dessert maybe…and it is NOT fall but I WOULD LOVE it if it was fall right now!!

  2. August 22, 2010 6:48 pm

    LOL, I am a fall-lover as well! It has been a bit of a crummy summer here in Edmonton, so warm, comforting desserts and meals are always on my mind as well!

  3. August 22, 2010 7:14 pm

    Oh man! Come to South Carolina, see a real crummy summer…Temperature can be as high as 100s, humidity kills you. And when there is wind, it feels like there are hundreds of hair dryers blowing air right on you! Between July and September, I always question my decision about moving here.. but then I congratulate myself during winter:)

  4. August 23, 2010 6:34 am

    I have to confess that I have also had ice cream for breakfast on a few occasions. Whoops!

    Hope the pasta recipe goes well!

  5. August 23, 2010 7:27 am

    well thanks for the inspiration! i’m sure it’ll go just great.

  6. Kalle permalink
    August 26, 2010 9:55 am

    I’m still working on the meal planning – love the concept, just haven’t implemented in life yet. 🙂 We have a Kayaking BBQ this Friday and I’m making Mint and Cilantro Melon salad. It is one of my favorite summer salad recipes. The link is below – I also add watermelon and cantaloupe melon to it.
    http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/fresh-mint-and-cilantro-melon-salad/Detail.aspx

  7. camille permalink
    September 1, 2010 9:59 am

    OK, first of all – Ilke – we are SO jealous of you. Our winters suck beyond belief. BOOOOOOOOOOO

    Also, I am making Southwestern Sloppy Joes – finally something my poor hubby will like. Ha, on Sunday I made Honey Mustard Chicken/Rice/Broccoli and HE made a few BUffalo Chicken strips in the oven. Sad. Poor guy never really likes my healthy food. I can so relate to you!!!

  8. September 1, 2010 10:05 am

    Hahaha, we are totally on the same page Camille!

  9. camille permalink
    September 2, 2010 1:52 pm

    Yeah totally!!! Brothers from another Mother!

    I made the Southwestern Sloppy Joes. last night.. added extra Cumin and since I ran out of Brown Sugar, I just added extra Bulls Eye BBQ sauce for the sweet flavour. GREAT flavour.

Leave a Reply

