Skip to content

delishplan week 30

August 29, 2010

I absolutely love fall. It’s my favorite time of year, even more than summer. Everything from boots over skinny jeans, pulling out the sweaters, roasting fall vegetables, stews in the slow cooker, tea, pumpkin and maple flavored everything, pretty trees, wearing new colors, cool crisp walks, the countdown to Christmas, Thanksgiving, my BIRTHDAY, and mostly, my birthday. I will be 28 this year.  Yup.  And I’m cool with that. 

It’s a bit early to be celebrating the beginning of fall, but it’s been a cool summer here, and I just am tired of waiting for summer to happen. We had about 3 days of it. While I was at work. Nice. 

So bring it on, Fall. Tonight I’m making banana pecan muffins to bring to work with me all week, and if I’m feeling super homey, a light lemon poppy seed bread. I don’t know what’s come over me, I’m not usually a baker. And last night I made these Cream Cheese topped Chocolate Cupcakes from 2 Healthy Plates , a great blog that focuses on healthy cooking… and the occasional treat like these (check her cupcakes out – she put more of the cream cheese on top and they look amazing. She probably didn’t overcook hers either. Or run out of flour halfway through the recipe. Only I do stuff like that.). 

Maybe I’m baking so much because it’s basically winter around here. Where are my Uggs? 

Chocolate Cream Cheese Topped Cupcakes

Chocolate Cream Cheese Topped Cupcakes

Ok so I don’t have Uggs. 

I have another ridiculous week of work coming up (that’s why posts were far and few between last week), so dinners this week will reflect that. I’m cooking 3 x, and the rest will be whatever. Here’s what we’re having: 

Monday: We are out at a beach party. Hmmm. This might be an indoor beach party.

Tuesday: Vegetable Beef Stew – with apricots and butternut squash (sigh, yes Kevin, you can pick out the apricots. Honestly). How yummy does that sound? It’s a slow cooker recipe. Can I just pause for a moment and tell you HOW MUCH I LOVE MY SLOW COOKER??? Best.Invention.Ever. That is all. 

Wednesday: Light Fettucine Alfredo with Shrimp 

Thursday or Friday: Mexican Tortilla “Lasagna” w/ Chicken 

In between: Grilled cheese/Leftovers/Kevin can make crepes or omelets/etc. I’ll heat up a can of beans and put it on toast if I’m desperate (Ok, but seriously I would never do that. Not for me, anyway. Kevin would probably think it was gourmet though). 

Ta-Da! I love meal planning. You should do it. And share it here because I like to see what other people are making for dinner! 

Off to the grocery store. Hmm, maybe I’ll make some bread tonight too. And I have an itching to visit an apple orchard. Homemade apple cider… pie….. crumble…. 

p.s. It’s not really THAT cold. It’s like, 15. I just don’t think that 15 degrees is acceptable for August.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Elaine permalink
    August 29, 2010 9:43 pm

    Love your blog! Those cupcakes look soo good. And what is up with this winter weather? August is supposed to be hotsville. Meal planning for us? There’s a first time for everything. Thanks for the planning inspiration!
    Monday: leftover ribs/steak/grilled peppers/rice from sunday dinner
    Tuesday: chicken tikka, rice, cucumber salad, sliced pineapple
    Wednesday: udon noodle soup with sliced beef, green onion, swiss chard, egg
    Thursday: bulgogi, grilled zucchini/carrot/celery, rice.
    Friday: spaghetti with spicy meat & vegetable sauce
    Planning to do something more with the mob of zucchinis my inlaws gave us, probably a zucchini loaf, muffins, brownies, etc.

  2. August 30, 2010 8:05 am

    Mmmm. I think I’m skipping cooking this week and coming to your house every night!!!! That all sounds wonderful!

  3. August 30, 2010 5:39 pm

    Hey Kristin! I was so excited to see that you made those cupcakes, hate that you ran out of flour though! If you were my neighbor I totally would have given you some! haha

    They look really great – but that’s no surprise, Magnolia Bakery has the best desserts!

    I’m loving the way you meal plan, I try to meal plan every Sunday and buy only the ingredients that we need for those dishes. I always find myself in a rut when last minute plans come up- it messes up our meal plan, I’m stuck with ingredients and then I don’t know what to do!! How do you handle this? I guess everything should just be pushed back one night….I really need to be better about this!

    • Kristin permalink
      August 30, 2010 8:29 pm

      Lucky for me I have a friend/neighbor who gave me some flour! She saved the day.
      I think my trick is not to plan a meal for every night of the week – notice I usually plan 3 or 4 meals and although I assign nights to them, they often end up on different nights – or even on next weeks meal plan! I totally hear you – I used to plan like 6 meals an I always had excess food and hated wasting money. I find that there is always something in the pantry or in the freezer that I can figure out if I need to.

  4. August 30, 2010 8:04 pm

    Umm, can I have one of those cupcakes right now???

  5. Elaine permalink
    August 30, 2010 10:17 pm

    LOL Kristin you are welcome to come over anytime! Yeah, I planned the meals for the week Sunday night but I can definitely see that they’ll be assigned to different nights. Like tonight, I made Tuesday’s dinner plan instead, and I think tomorrow might be Friday’s.

  6. Stephanie Leverette permalink
    September 7, 2010 2:47 pm

    I’m with you! I know it’s not “that” cold in the grand scheme of things in Edmonton, but I feel like it’s so chilly! Definitely fall weather. And you should get Uggs, they are so suitable for this kind of weather. 🙂

    • September 7, 2010 3:32 pm

      I know. I NEED Uggs. I just need to write up a proposal to convince Kevin 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Autumn Inspired Beef Stew « delish living

Leave a Reply

