Skip to content

A quick breakfast: Banana Pecan Muffins

September 1, 2010

Banana Nut Muffins

Banana Pecan Muffins

“Quick and easy” are my middle names when it comes to bringing breakfast and lunch to work with me each day. I literally am a complete tornado in the mornings and there is no way I have 10 extra minutes to have breakfast before I leave for work at 7:15 am. I usually bring cereal/oatmeal and milk (I have a fridge, so I just leave my milk in my fridge for the week, and my cereal in my office). It works. But sometimes you just need a change. Enter stage right: Banana Pecan Muffins. Perfect solution – I grab and I run (not just in the mornings… I’m usually running late wherever I go. Sad). 

These are not super sweet (only 1/2 cup sugar), so you really need to ensure you are using really really ripe bananas as that is where most of the sweetness comes from. I also found the 1/3 cup of mini chocolate chips added the perfect amount of sweet. I personally don’t prefer sweet things in the mornings –  I banned sugar from my coffee almost 2 years ago, and my life has never been the same since (that might be a bit dramatic). If you want more sweet, you could add more sugar or maybe some applesauce. It’s up to you, but I liked them just the way they were – nutty banana, with teeny bits of sweetness. Sweet! 

Banana Pecan Muffins
adapted from Eat, Shrink and Be Merry  

1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup oat bran
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 1/2 cup mashed ripe bananas (about 4 medium – or 3 medium and then add applesauce to equal 1 1/2 cup)
3/4 cup buttermilk
2 tbsp vegetable oil
2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/3 cup mini chocolate chips 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray muffin tins with cooking spray and set aside. 

In a large bowl, combine flour, oat bran, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Mix well and set aside. 

In a medium bowl, beat together eggs and brown sugar on medium speed of an electric mixer for 2 minutes. Add bananas (and applesauce if using), buttermilk, oil, and vanilla. Beat again until well blended. 

Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix just until dry ingredients are moistened. Do not use electric mixer for this step. Fold in pecans and chocolate chips – but reserve some pecans for the topping. I say it again – do not over-mix the batter (unless you like hard nasty muffins). 

Pour batter into muffin tins. Add a pinch of the chopped pecans to the top of each muffin. Bake at 350 for 15-17 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool muffins in pans on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Remove muffins from tins and EAT UP!!! 

*made 18 muffins 

**the original recipe made 2 loaf’s, rather than muffins. If you’d like to make a loaf, bake at 350 for 30-35 minutes. 

Banana Nut Muffin

Banana Nut Muffins

I’ll have two please. 

(Two always means 4)

p.s. It’s FINALLY Birthday month! 26 glorious days of celebrating. Bet you’re all excited.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. camille permalink
    September 1, 2010 9:14 am

    MMmm. Looks excellent. I have heard lots of good stuff about the Eat, Shrink Be Merry cookbook!

  2. September 1, 2010 10:04 am

    I LOVE Eat, Shrink and Be Merry! It’s one of my all time favorites. I keep finding new treasures in there!

  3. September 1, 2010 1:48 pm

    I don’t like overly sweat muffins, so those would be right up my alley – and I bought a huge bag of ready to bake bananas for .79 cents!

    Yeah – another woman who celebrates her birthday the whole month! 😀 Mine is in March though.

  4. September 1, 2010 3:09 pm

    I will try these muffins as I am not also fond of eating sweets for breakfast. People eating donuts for breakfast, for example, still a mystery me as to how they can use up the whole dessert quote of the day at the beginning of the day 🙂
    Happy Birthmonth !!!
    Keep Celebrating! Because if you don’t, nobody will!! That is my motto!
    🙂

    • September 1, 2010 7:21 pm

      Haha, I agree 🙂 I make my poor husband talk about birthday month pretty much every day in September. He just loves it.

  5. September 1, 2010 5:46 pm

    LOL, I celebrate my birthday all month long too. Those muffins look delicious! Can’t believe all that nonsense about the copyright infringement, sheesh!

  6. September 1, 2010 7:45 pm

    Lovely photos, recipe & blog! I look forward to reading more!

  7. September 2, 2010 6:27 am

    Those muffins look yummy! Have a happy birthday month — and good luck with your writing!

  8. September 12, 2010 6:32 pm

    YUM! Those both sound and look delicious!

    Great blog! Happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

Leave a Reply

