Skip to content

Feature: Hummus and Breadcrusted Basa

September 5, 2010
tags:

I am away on holidays & I’m not doing a meal plan this week (not today anyway). Instead, I am very excited to feature an amazing fish recipe by one of my best friends, Lynnel! I am particularly excited about this recipe because I have never ventured into the land of seafood in my kitchen, besides shrimp and scallops. Lynnel writes in the post how basa is perfect bc it is so non-fishy (perhaps defeats the purpose of making fish, but I really am not a fan of stinky sewage smell! Basa it is!). It looks so delicious and I can’t wait to try it. So read on for a treat! Thanks Lynnel 🙂

So I got a food processor from Airmiles (“free!”) so I could make my own baby food and other such stuff that needs to be pureed. As per usual I read the instruction manual, familiarized myself with my shiny and sharp new machine, and then I discovered some recipes at the back. Two were earmarked immediately and tried as soon as possible. The first I made on a perfectly crisp fall day so the warmth of it was lovely. Butternut Squash Soup. Yum! My son and I have been eating it all week and there’s more in the freezer. The other was simply titled Hummus. I like hummus, but the problem with it is that I always have to eat it all myself. My husband is picky and having it with veggie sticks or on a sandwich doesn’t ever happen. So I looked online for recipe ideas that incorporated hummus into a more dinner appropriate meal. I was so glad to find one! I modified it a bit with what I had in the freezer, and was really happy with how it turned out. I call it Hummus and Breadcrumb-crusted Basa, and I served it with thick slices of whole wheat garlic toast and a side garden salad. And you gotta squeeze lemon slices over the fish. Basa is a fish fillet I found the frozen fish section once, and I have never gone back. I should check if I can get it fresh! But I like having it on hand in the freezer for short notice. It is a large white fish fillet that has zero fishy smell. Perfect! And my husband likes it too. Including this new version.

To make Hummus and Breadcrumb-crusted Basa:

2 -4 Basa fillets (the recipe I found said Tilapia or something – I’m sure any fish could do)
Hummus (you can make your own or use store-bought)
1 or 2 Bread slices, in pieces (and/or Panko breading if you have it)
1 Lemon, zested then cut in slices
Parsley or cilantro – a handful will do

While oven is warming to 400 degrees, place parsley in food processor or blender, pulse a few times, then add bread slice pieces and lemon zest and process until mixed. (I also added a bit of panko just at the end to make it a bit crispier, and cuz I had it around.) This is your easy-peasy breadcrumb mixture!

Thaw fillets and pat dry with paper towel.
Brush oil very lightly on fillets, both sides, and sprinkle with salt and pepper and other seasonings if you like.
Place in baking pan and top with a layer of hummus.
Sprinkle on breadcrumb mixture and press into hummus.
Bake for 20 minutes in 400 degree oven or until fish flesh is opaque. (Follow package directions of whatever fish you choose.)

How easy is that?! And it was delicious. Hope yours is too.
Lynnel

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2010 6:02 am

    Never would have thought to use hummus that way — sounds great! And healthy to boot!

    • September 6, 2010 7:41 pm

      I thought her recipe was pretty clever as well! Also it is something that is way out of my comfort zone, but along my same theme of easy, fast and healthy!

  2. September 7, 2010 9:09 am

    fantastic idea! it looks great and i love hiding hummus… ryan doesn’t like it either. this is great!

Leave a Reply

