Skip to content

Whole Wheat Linguine with Summer Squash, Toasted Almonds and Italian Sausage

September 7, 2010
tags: ,

Whole Wheat Linguine with Summer Squash, Toasted Almonds and Italian Sausage

 This is a delicious meal that I adapted from a blogger friend “The Cook and the Dishwasher” – her featured post can be found here. I loved it – it used up the beautiful mini yellow and green summer squash and mini bell peppers I had picked up from the Farmer’s Market that weekend, and I threw in some mild Italian Sausage to make Kevin like it as well – this could easily be a Vegetarian dish by omitting the sausage if you prefer. The garlic breadcrumb mixture, toasted almonds and light olive oil based dressing made it a wonderful, light, “end of summer” meal. 

Kevin would still prefer I had drenched it in some creamy based pasta sauce (which in fact he DID do the next day for leftovers – there really is a chef somewhere deep inside him) but I liked it just as is. Most of the flavour comes from the Italian Sausage, garlic-crumb mixture and toasted almonds. The summer veggies were mild. And colorful. Shouldn’t food look as pretty as it tastes? I think so. 

Ingredients:
whole wheat bread crumbs (I didn’t measure, but about a cup? maybe more if you’re feeling bad)
4 cloves garlic, crushed or thinly sliced
olive oil, divided
4 mild Italian Sausages (mine were precooked, I LOVE YOU M&M’s meat shop!)
2 mini green summer squash, 2 mini yellow summer squash (or a combo of squash and zucchini)
2 small peppers, your choice of color
1/2 box whole wheat linguine
1/2 tsp dried basil
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1 pinch nutmeg
1/4 cup toasted almonds
salt and pepper to taste
 

Directions:

 

1. Cook linguine according to package directions.
2. In a food processor, pulse the bread crumbs until they are fine. Add a drizzle of olive oil, and pulse a few more times.

3. Heat olive oil over medium heat and add minced garlic. Toast garlic for about a minute, then add the breadcrumbs. Toast about five minutes until the crumbs have started to brown. Add salt to taste (1/2 tsp), mix thoroughly and pour into a small bowl. 

4. Dice up the Italian Sausage, summer squashes and cut peppers into strips. Heat 2 tbsp of olive oil over medium high heat and add sausage and squash, after a few minutes, add your peppers. Saute until meat is cooked thoroughly (like I mentioned, mine were precooked, you may have to adjust your cooking time if yours are not) and vegetables are tender. Add basil, oregano and a pinch of nutmeg to the veggie mixture. Add salt (I always use sea salt) to taste and season with freshly ground pepper.

5. Once pasta is cooked, place linguine noodles in a casserole dish; top it with the sausage and veggie mixture, add the breadcrumb mixture, and finally top with the toasted almonds. OR, you can serve it all individually: divide pasta into bowls and top with all the different parts. 

6. Drizzle olive oil over individual bowls to taste. Add a bit of parmesan cheese if you should so choose to do so.
7. If you are Kevin, complain that there is no real sauce and if you are me, tell him you are being an authentic Italian, and to shove it.

Serves 4.

The end.
12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 12:30 pm

    very nicely done….I like the addition of the almonds – nice crunch and texture!

  2. September 7, 2010 12:33 pm

    Debbie: That was literally the fastest comment I have ever received. Nicely done!
    The almonds were definitely a nice touch 🙂

  3. September 7, 2010 2:34 pm

    Ooh, my husband would love this (and me too, of course!) – we don’t eat italian sausage often, and when we do I usually buy turkey sausage – it’s so good! These flavor combinations sounds great!

    • September 7, 2010 9:16 pm

      We don’t eat Italian Sausage that often either, but it was so good! Turkey sausage would definitely work as well!

  4. Kym Palichuk permalink
    September 7, 2010 5:49 pm

    Oh my goodness I laughed so hard when you said to tell your husband to shove it. O had the whole picture in my mind and everything.
    Great recipe – thanks for sharing.

    • September 7, 2010 9:17 pm

      LOL!!! I do what I have to do 🙂 Glad to see you were still listening/reading at the end!!!

  5. September 7, 2010 6:35 pm

    Looks great! I’m going to try the sausage next time! I have an almond allergy…so I guess we’ll have to stick with walnuts 😦 Love the new blog lay-out! It looks great!

    • September 7, 2010 9:18 pm

      Yeah, I basically just modified your recipe to whatever I already had! Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. September 8, 2010 8:17 pm

    yummy! Nice work on the photography! I have some chicken meatballs I might crumble up into this!

  7. kevin permalink
    September 9, 2010 9:37 am

    this dish is a 2.1/5

    i will not shove it… mwahahahahaa

  8. September 11, 2010 9:07 pm

    I love the simplicity of this! No additional pasta sauce needed! It’s perfect as is 🙂

Leave a Reply

