Skip to content

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

September 13, 2010

Ummmmm. So, let’s talk cookies. I actually don’t make them all that often (trust me, it is better that way) but last night I realized I didn’t have anything fun to put into my lunch today. So obviously cookies had to be made. My lunch today consisted of…. 2 apples and 2 of these cookies. At about 9 am. Woops.

These are my favorite type of cookie – soft and chewy, but not pancake flat. I often find oatmeal cookies to be on the dry side – these are nice and moist. It took a whole 5 minutes to mix up the dough. And about 1 second to take them from the cookie sheet to my mouth.

And now I think I will eat cookies for dinner.

Thanks to Charlene G. for this amazingly simple and delicious Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookie recipe! I can’t wait to try your soft gingerbread cookie next!

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies  

½ cup Shortening (slightly softened)
½ cup Brown Sugar
½ cup Granulated Sugar
1 Egg
½ tsp. Vanilla
½ tsp.  Baking Soda
1½ cups Oatmeal
¾ cup  Flour
¾ cup  Chocolate Chips

Cream shortening
Add sugars, mix
Add egg and vanilla, mix.

Combine baking soda, oatmeal, and flour in a medium sized bowl. Add to wet ingredients and mix thoroughly.

Bake @ 375 F for 7-9  minutes or until light brown (mine were ready between 7-8 minutes). Cookies will not look totally done (soft on the inside). Let cookies cool slightly before removing from pan.

Makes about 32 small cookies (I remember being a kid making cookies with my mom and she always made me make the cookies smaller. I didn’t get it then. I do now).

Enjoy!

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. rebecca m. permalink
    September 13, 2010 6:23 pm

    yummmmmmm

  2. Emma Rad permalink
    September 13, 2010 8:17 pm

    mmmmmm Kristin you make me incredibly sad I don’t have an oven :*(

  3. September 13, 2010 8:23 pm

    i’m trying not to eat dessert this week cause i’ve just had SO MUCH lately. this is not helping the cause. yum.

  4. September 14, 2010 12:13 am

    love always the classic cookies…sounds fab!

  5. September 14, 2010 4:46 am

    Yeah, these cookies make me want to eat them for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! They will definitely be hitting our table very soon!

    • September 14, 2010 8:01 am

      I hope they do! I ate my “ration” for the day in the car this morning. It helped with my anger against the traffic!

  6. September 14, 2010 9:30 am

    Oh, those look SO good. I will definitely have to try them.

  7. September 14, 2010 12:47 pm

    Sometimes going back to the basics is a good thing. Moist oatmeal chocolate chip cookies are a favorite of mine as well.

  8. September 21, 2010 11:12 am

    These are some of my total favs! I love oatmeal and chocolate!!

Leave a Reply

