Skip to content

what a week!

September 17, 2010

I have been rather MIA this week. Work has kind of taken over my life these last few weeks, and I expect this to continue for the next 3-4 weeks. I am pretty sure this is the first September of my life that I can’t wait to be over! Thanksgiving can’t come soon enough. We are going home to visit my family in good old Saskatchewan, and I can’t wait to kiss my little niece and nephew all over their sweet little faces. And let my Mom do all the cooking. Ahh, since I’ve started this blog my Mom probably won’t let me get off the hook in the kitchen this year 🙂

I didn’t do an official meal plan this week and I all I can say is that I am fully motivated to have a good meal plan up for next week. I just can’t do another week like this one! Last night we had what I think will be the last bbq of the year – and it was terrible. Slightly freezer burnt burgers and old buns with no lettuce or tomatoes – all we had was red onions to go them! To top it all off, I microwaved frozen peas to go with our burgers, and Kevin has not stopped making fun of me for putting peas and burgers together. He had me laughing so hard last night I had tears streaming down my face. “Would you like peas with that?” “Would you like to super-size your peas?” “Does supersizing your peas mean that you get extra peas, or that you get JUMBO peas?” I was dying. Partly because Kevin is so darn funny, and partly because I am so overtired that just about anything is funny these days  (at least I am laughing and not crying which is my usual choice of emotional outburst).

I’m pretty sure I’ve never said this a day in my life, but TGIF. And I’d like my TGIF super-sized please.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2010 10:28 am

    Hey, thanks so much for your comment on my blog! I’m glad you think I’m inspiring, although I must admit that most days, I feel like a fish flopping around on the bottom of a boat – no clue how I got where I am and what is going to happen next! I’m working on it though – slowly!

    I really enjoy your blog as well – you’ve got great ideas and I like your style of writing! I loved the idea of the “Big Cook” – I find I never have time to make healthy, nutritious meals during the week, so having a freezer full of dishes to choose from is a fantastic idea.

    I’m also looking forward to Thanksgiving – and my family is in Saskatchewan as well! I grew up in the middle of nowhere – it’s a 6-hour drive to go visit. We were just there for the Labour Day weekend so I don’t think we’ll be going again for Thanksgiving.

    Is it weird that I would totally serve peas with hamburgers and not think anything of it?? Although, I guess a salad or something is a more logical choice! It’s good that you had a laugh over it though… those are desperately needed every once in awhile.

  2. Mary G permalink
    September 19, 2010 4:43 pm

    hey Kristin,
    you are doing great, and way to go for being real… some weeks are like that. Being in school full time along with having all 4 kids living at home still is proving to be interesting. We keep talking about planning ahead and doing the big shop, but so far we are eating decently, just a bit later than I’d like. Looking forward to a new week of meal plans.
    Kevin and peas?? really?? You are a miracle worker. lol

    • September 19, 2010 8:47 pm

      Mary, I love how encouraging you are, even from a few provinces away! Thanks for supporting me with my blog! I can’t imagine what it would be like to add 4 kids to the mix – I’m pretty sure by then I’ll have lost all my hair. You must be doing something right!!!

Leave a Reply

