Skip to content

Challenge #1: Ready, Set, Blog: The Realities of Kristin’s Kitchen

September 18, 2010

For those of you who don’t know what I mean by Project Foodblog, please first read the blog post just below this, then come on right back here, and get voting!!! 

Challenge #1: Ready, Set, Blog: The Realities of Kristin’s Kitchen 

 “I’m sorry that my taste buds didn’t like dinner tonight, Honey.” He said it, not me. But let’s back up a few months here. 

When I began this blog, my new husband and I had moved to a brand new city five months earlier and for the first time in my life, I found myself at home, barefoot and, well not pregnant, but definitely unemployed. I thought I was going to hate being without a job. Um. I was wrong. I loved it. With few other distractions, I found myself experimenting in the kitchen for the first time. I had no kids to look after, no job to tire me out, and the choice to either clean the house or create masterpieces in the kitchen. The choice was obvious. I had grown up with a Mom who loved to experiment with cooking and baking, and up until that point, I had no interest in participating when my Mom was doing a fine job on her own. But suddenly I discovered the same passion within myself. Perhaps to avoid cleaning the bathroom or doing the laundry. Either way, I was hooked. Enter the almost daily phone calls to my genius Mother, a province away, who knows anything and everything culinary.  And so it began. 

Banana Pecan Muffins

 Sounds perfect, right? Not exactly. Let’s throw a wrench or two into my kitchen reality: 

1. My sweet, handsome, hardworking husband, who just moments ago finished cleaning up our kitchen (yay), is the P word. No, not perfect. Picky. Like, 7 year old picky. 

2. I got a job. A good one that I enjoy. But working kinda messes up my bread rising schedule (and by bread rising schedule I mean in the breadmaker, obviously) and now when was I supposed to have time to browse food blogs all day long, peruse the grocery store aisles and spend three hours on a wonderful dinner for my hardworking (picky) husband? (Okay, so the three hours on dinner might be a bit of an exaggeration). 

Candied Pecan Blackberry Spinach Salad

Funny enough, it is these two “set backs”, along with my deep desire to be creative and healthy that have turned this blog into what it is. What you will find on this blog are my solutions to two very busy schedules, my husband’s minimal palatable choices (to put it nicely), and how I strive to make dinner with minimal to no processed or prepackaged foods. I use whole grains and fresh vegetables (preferably from the local farmer’s market) as much as possible. And I love to make meals that I know my husband will like – I think of it as good practice for future children. But not always – sometimes I just have to try it, and pray to the good Lord that the love of my life will have an epiphany. 

Many prayers are lifted up in this house. 

Here on this blog you will find…well, me. I pride myself on a good meal, but I also am not afraid to tell you about our freezer burnt burgers after a busy day of work (um, see last blog post. Sigh). Clearly, you will not find perfection on my blog. Like any good cook, I make mistakes and I make a lot of them. I actually have a blog post brewing (with pictures to prove it) of all my kitchen disasters. At times I have considered renaming my blog to “Kristin’s Kitchen Catastrophes”. I would consider it more if “catastrophes” started with a “K”. Thankfully, my kitchen successes are slowly but surely increasing, and hopefully along with that, my hubby’s satisfaction. If anything, at least he is getting his vegetables. Small victories matter! 

Woops - what happened? Lemon Pound Cake Disaster

My point is, I am real. There is no point in this blog if I am not myself, and those of you that keep coming back to read my blog have told me that is the reason why you read along. I do not claim to be the next best chef, but I can claim to be the next best Food Blog Star, based on the reality of what is going down in my kitchen – which you, you and YOU can relate to. I am unique in that I have several challenges each night that I make dinner, including time restraints, a choosy spouse, and the small fact that I would rather not be 200 lbs, not to mention, as healthy as possible. Many family, friends & fellow food bloggers relate to at least one of those three challenges, therefore, making this blog successful in my own eyes. 
 

Ginger-Sesame Beef and Vegetables

 To tell you the truth, it doesn’t matter to me if I advance to the next round (gasp!). Winning a competition is not what makes me feel like I have “made it” in the foodie world. Rather, its hearing that a friend made the vegetable stuffed meatloaf for their family the other day. It’s knowing that so-and-so’s family loved the banana pecan muffins for breakfast last week. It’s the comment that a fellow blogger made that they can relate to the ridiculously picky family member. I absolutely love connecting with people through my blog, and my readers sincerely inspire me, probably tenfold, of how much I inspire them. This is what I consider success, and I am so excited to only get better.  

Whole Wheat Linguine with Summer Squash, Toasted Almonds and Italian Sausage

Obviously the best way to improve would be to indeed be the next Food Blog Star, so if you’ve made it this far, please take 5 minutes to register on www.foodbuzz.com, create an account and vote for me HERE beginning Monday September 20 (voting is open until Sep 23). My husband will thank you. And I will hug you, bake you cookies, cook you dinner, cheer your kid on at their soccer game, and/or do whatever else I need to do to win this thing.  The bottom line is, I love writing. I love cooking. It is my desire to write as though you and I were out for coffee. As though you were sitting on my couch. As though you were my friend. It is my hope that by reading this blog, you will get a glimpse of our world that is far deeper than what we had for dinner that night. I find such joy in sharing our world with you through this blog and would love to share it with so many more.

Thank you for your support! Now seriously, go vote.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2010 2:17 pm

    You definitely are real…that’s exactly what I was thinking before I got to the line you wrote. I feel like I can hear your voice when I read your blog. Great entry and thanks for sharing “the reality of what is going down in your kitchen” – lol. Good luck in the contest and great to have met you here in the Foodbuzz contest 🙂
    -Butter

    • September 18, 2010 3:02 pm

      Thank you 🙂 Your words mean so much to me. I’m so glad we have connected too, and seriously, I love your blog!

  2. September 18, 2010 2:52 pm

    I loved this post! Possibly the best one I’ve read so far for the competition. This is my first time to your blog, but I feel like you’re so real, and like we could be friends. 🙂 Good luck in the contest – I’m voting for you!

    • September 18, 2010 3:03 pm

      Yes, let’s be blog friends, shall we?!! Connecting with other bloggers like you makes this so fun. Thanks for the comment 🙂

  3. September 18, 2010 3:53 pm

    Good luck!!!

  4. September 18, 2010 4:54 pm

    Loved this post! Good luck – I’ll be voting for sure. 🙂

    • September 18, 2010 9:13 pm

      Thanks Debbie! It’s not too late for you to participate yourself you know 🙂

  5. September 18, 2010 5:30 pm

    I came to check out the competition. You look strong. Good Luck. GREG

  6. September 18, 2010 11:09 pm

    Oh Dear! Choosy husband? What you need is learn one move or two of karate, if he is twitching his nose on your plate. You just ” yaaaaaaaa! I’m a brazilian…so my hubby knows that he better behave. (I have Capoeira moves) LOL.

    Good luck with the challenges, have a great Sunday.

    • September 19, 2010 8:22 am

      LOL, well I hadn’t considered karate moves as a solution until now! Maybe I’ll just make up a few moves and see where it goes….I’m pretty scary at 5’2″ as you can imagine!

  7. September 19, 2010 8:01 am

    Like Greg, I wanted to check out the competition 🙂 I also figure it’s only fair to read your entry, since you were kind enough to read (and comment – THANKS!) on mine. Like you, moving on in this competition isn’t the center of my world (thought it would be nice), but I’m loving how many bloggers it’s brought to my attention. You and I started our blogs under similar circumstances, and you’ve encouraged me that once I start working again, I’ll hopefully be able to keep up with this crazy hobby! Good luck to you; I look forward to reading more 🙂

    • September 19, 2010 9:21 am

      You absolutely can carry on a great blog while working full time – I make it a priority in my life because I truly do love it so much. My posts might be fewer and farther in between than some bloggers, but that’s just a reality of a busy schedule. I look forward to reading more from you as well!

  8. September 19, 2010 8:54 am

    Yes, like Shea, I love that this contest has brought a whole bunch of new bloggers to my attention 🙂 Good luck. I face many of the same realities as you – TIME!!! – and know how tough it is to balance everything. But the most important thing is challenging ourselves, right?

  9. September 19, 2010 9:43 am

    This comp is certainly making bloggers more aware of each other, since we’re all on the ‘hunt’ to see who else is competing and to compare our posts lol. Love the post and the rest of your blog (and yum to the banana pecan muffin photo. excuse me while I drool on my keyboard on the other side of the world!!) Good luck in the PFB competition!!!

    • September 21, 2010 7:52 am

      I agree, I have loved discovering new blogs! I promised myself not to read ANY of the competition before I had my own posted… but then I convinced myself that I needed just a little bit of inspiration and read a few. They are all so great! Thanks for stopping by!

  10. September 19, 2010 11:04 am

    Haha, love that you called your husband ‘the P word’ 😉 Lovely post, good luck with PFB!

  11. September 19, 2010 2:23 pm

    Stumbled across your blog through an RT. Lovely story and beautiful looking dishes! Good luck in the comp 🙂

  12. jenna permalink
    September 19, 2010 9:35 pm

    you are funny!!!
    I will vote for you tomorrow, sis!
    Love.

  13. September 20, 2010 6:19 am

    Hi Kristin!
    We’ve never met, but I sort of feel like I know you just because I’ve heard about you from our mutual friend Lynnel. 🙂 I loved your blog post and your pictures – everything looked super scrumptious! I just registered my vote and hope you do well in the competition, but more so, that you enjoy being yourself on this blog. Though I don’t write about food very often, I know the challenges of being real and finding your place in the blogging world. Good luck!
    Jacquie

    • September 21, 2010 7:55 am

      Jacquie! I totally “know” you as well through Lynnel! Thank you for checking out my blog and letting me know you were here. I checked our your blog as well – it’s amazing. I can only dream to have that high quality of a space – maybe someday!!!
      Thanks for your vote!

  14. September 21, 2010 6:38 am

    Mmmm, delicious! Pecan, blackberry, spinach salad sounds like a great combo, but i’ve never tried it…there’s a first for everything!

  15. September 21, 2010 1:37 pm

    Great post, you’ve got my vote as well! Loved hearing your story and how you got here 🙂

  16. KarmaFree Cooking permalink
    September 21, 2010 7:24 pm

    great post… I wish my photos would look as good as yours. I hope we both get to advance to the next round of PFB. Check out my post and let me know what you think…

    http://www.foodbuzz.com/project_food_blog/challenges/1/view/250

  17. September 22, 2010 12:17 pm

    Great introduction – I really did feel like I got to know you. Good job and good luck in the challenge.

  18. September 23, 2010 8:49 am

    I love your honesty; it is so refreshing. I also agree that when someone tells me they tried my recipe is the most rewarding. I really enjoyed this entry, you got my vote. Good luck!

Trackbacks

  1. Autumn Inspired Beef Stew « delish living

Leave a Reply

