Skip to content

delishplan week 33

September 19, 2010

All this Project Foodblog stuff is making me a crazy lady and I am happy to be posting this week’s meal plan instead of writing my heart on my sleeve as seen in the post below. I don’t do so well under pressure (But remember – voting begins tomorrow, so please vote for me! If you haven’t read it, it’s possibly the most important blog post I have ever written so please do check it out by scrolling down or clicking HERE and let me know your thoughts).

Today Kev and I ate another “Big Cook” Meal – scroll down a few posts to learn what that means. Today’s freezer meal was “Italian Chicken” or rather, “Chicken Parmesan with Spinach and Whole Wheat Penne.” It was great. Six hours of cooking with 3 great girlfriends was one of the most well spent days ev-ah. In the weeks to come, I plan to post some of the Big Cook recipes so that you can do this too with whoever your posse may be!

Chicken Parmesan with Spinach and Penne

I have another week of insanity coming up at work, so once again, I am going for easy, warm (for this rainy, cool weather we are experiencing) and quick meals for the week ahead. As always, please feel free to share your meal plan as well, which I love so much to read 🙂

It’s also my much-anticipated Birthday Week which I look forward to almost as much as my actual birthday-DAY (which is on the 26th). Hopefully I can remove myself from the pressures of work this week and enjoy it as much as possible. Kev and I have a fun night planned on Saturday to celebrate with a handful of friends, which I can look forward to all week. Until then, here’s what we’re having for dinner:

Monday: Curried Cauliflower Soup with Swiss Cheese and Wild Rice. Homemade* Whole Wheat-Honey Bread on the side. Yum. This is my meatless meal of the week.

Tuesday: Easy Bean Tacos and Guacamole (I guess that makes 2 meatless meals this week, which I prefer anyway!). Click for the recipe.

Wednesday: Ground Turkey-Vegetable Skillet Pies (a healthy & quick skillet version of Shepherd’s Pie…we’ll see how it turns out!)

Thursday: Leftovers

Friday: Coconut Chicken with Mango and Basil (I can’t wait for this!)

Saturday: Out for dinner!

Recipes for Curried Cauliflower Soup and Coconut Chicken to be shared if successful! Both are new to me, so I’ll take one for the team and try it out for you all first. I’m nice like that.

*Please note, whenever you hear “Homemade Bread” on this blog, rest assured I mean the breadmaker. It’s not the same, I know, blah blah blah.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. tmo permalink
    September 19, 2010 8:12 pm

    the soup – amazing, however do not do what i did today and replace the leeks with spinach, or else you will have the ugliest soup ever made. good thing it was still super tasty and everyone even 4 and under gobbled it up. celery on the other hand will be just fine…lol

    • September 19, 2010 8:45 pm

      Ha, I love how you know exactly where that recipe came from. It has kind of been my go-to cookbook for the last month or so (try 6 months). Everything I make from there is delicious, so that’s why I keep coming back to it! Thanks for the tip on the spinach – I even have spinach I am trying to get rid of, and I totally would’ve thrown it in there! I love leeks though, and made sure to pick some up tonight. I can’t wait to try it, and I’m glad you’ve assured me it’s good!

  2. Terry Glubish permalink
    September 19, 2010 9:14 pm

    Can’t wait to see the coconut chicken and mango basil recipe. Hope it turns out great.

    • September 21, 2010 7:50 am

      Me too Terry! Especially because the Curried Cauliflower Soup was too ugly to post!!! Tasty though. It might make an appearance in a pinch 🙂

  3. September 20, 2010 9:26 am

    Those meals sound great! I’m excited to hear how the soup turns out. It’s not something I would think to make but it sounds delicious.

    Here is my “off-the-top-of-my-head” meal plan for the week:

    Monday – not really sure… I have a late meeting and I’m hoping something will be made for supper when I get home!

    Tuesday – either leftover veggie curry or pasta/vegetable casserole – saw the recipe yesterday and i must try it

    Wednesday – maybe sloppy joes?

    Thursday – probably leftovers

    Friday – maybe steak and potatoes, depending on the weather (steak must be bbq’d!)

    Weekend – no clue yet!

    Happy birthday week! Make sure you do something special for yourself every day. 🙂

    Oh… and I just voted. 🙂

    • September 21, 2010 7:51 am

      Great meal plan, thanks for sharing!
      Oh, and I definitely do something special for myself each day of birthday week. For example, Sunday I bought myself a litre of chocolate milk. What a treat!!!

Leave a Reply

