Skip to content

Skillet Turkey Pot Pie: simplified

September 22, 2010

Skillet Turkey Pot Pie

I have a tough job: it’s hard to make Kevin happy at dinner time, unless of course I’m making beef/red meat and potatoes (which is almost never). But listen up. I smahed this one out of the park. Is that the right saying? I really ought to stay away from the sports analogies, or at least ask Kevin if it’s correct before I post it. Whatev. This ain’t a sports blog people.

Kevin was happy tonight. And you know who else was? Me. I had no intentions of posting this recipe this week, but it ended up exceeding my expectations for a quick Wednesday night meal. It was adapted from the latest Kraft magazine, and the original recipe called for frozen vegetables, ground beef and velveeta cheese. Velveeta Cheese – really? Isn’t that just glorified Cheese Whiz? No thank you! I made some revisions to make this a better-for-you version of what was in the magazine and your typical chicken pot pie. I also made mashed potatoes for Kevin, and he mashed them all over his plate and topped them with dinner – perfect because it was pretty saucy which soaked into the pototoes. This was a great comfort meal for a sunny but cool September day. Kevin approved.

And day 3 of Birthday Week. Just throwin that out there.

Here’s the recipe!

1 lb of lean ground turkey
1 onion, chopped
1/2 cup fresh mushrooms, sliced
3 cups of  mixed vegetables: I used fresh carrots (chopped up and cooked prior to adding to pan) and frozen peas. I like frozen peas. You could try beans, brocolli and cauliflower as well.
1 can of low sodium mushroom soup. You could also try maybe half a package of light cream cheese instead of the soup.
1/2 cup water, milk or low sodium chicken broth
1/2 cup shredded light cheese (I happened to have light swiss, light marble and freshly grated parmesan on hand, so I used a mixture of all 3. Trust me – this is not normal)
Salt and Pepper;
Paprika
1 pkg Pilsbury whole wheat crescent rolls (what made this dish official COMFORT food!)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Saute onions and mushrooms on medium heat in 1 tbsp of olive oil and a dab of butter.
Add ground turkey and cook until no longer pink.
Add your 3 cups of vegetables, 1 can of mushroom soup and 1/2 cup of water. Add salt and pepper to taste. Stir, and bring to a boil.
Mix in cheese and remove from heat. I added some chopped green onion and paprika at this point. Mmmmm paprika!

If you have a pan that can go  in the oven, then you can just keep it all in the pan. Take apart the triangles from the dough and place on top of your meat/vegetable mixture. I however, do not have fancy kitchen equipment, so I transferred it to an oven safe casserole dish, and arranged the dough triangles on top.
Bake for 12-15 minutes until the dough is a lovely golden brown.
Let stand for 5 minutes before eating.

Simple, easy, fast and good for you: 3 stars from Kristin
Relatively plain, meat and veggie mixture, not spicy, no curry or various other food items Kevin despises: 5 stars from Kevin.

And that, my friends, equals success.

Friday might be a different story when I make coconut chicken with mango and basil. Unless, of course, you’re using MY criteria for success!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 6:09 am

    Looks great! I love how you made this a little healthier.

  2. September 23, 2010 7:08 am

    A healthier version that a man likes?? SCORE! I need to bookmark this 🙂

    • September 23, 2010 7:30 am

      It’s my eternal struggle to find the right balance between healthy + Kevin approved! Let me know if you try it, and any alterations you might make!

  3. September 23, 2010 7:42 am

    That looks so good! My husband doesn’t like stuff like that but it looks like something I can whip up on a Sunday and then package up in small containers for my lunches during the week. Awesome!

  4. kevin janzen permalink
    September 23, 2010 3:42 pm

    i do indeed approve – though i probably wouldn’t say ‘smash it out of the park’. ‘hit’ would be a perfect substitution for ‘smash’. good try though hon! PS – i also added a nice amount of seasoning salt for optimal eating pleasure!

    • September 23, 2010 5:38 pm

      look, a comment from the man himself! these comments pop up every now and then from the hubby, and they are my favorite!

  5. September 23, 2010 4:46 pm

    I totally love that, it looks really yummy. Just voted for you.

    • September 23, 2010 5:38 pm

      thank you so much Anna! i am a big fan of your blog too 🙂

  6. September 23, 2010 5:31 pm

    as usual, you have come up with something fantastic that i plan on stealing at some point!

  7. September 23, 2010 7:54 pm

    I’m glad to see other people read that Kraft magazine and substitute real ingredients (like using cheese instead of cheez) too! I do that all the time. Good for you.
    I’m not always a fan of being single, but being able to cook what I like the way I like it is a really big plus. I’m adding “adventurous palate” to my husband wish list.

    • September 24, 2010 4:25 pm

      Good point! If only I had been smart enough to put that on MY wishlist too 🙂

      Sigh, but I would just choose Kevin all over again!

  8. September 24, 2010 11:38 am

    This does look like pure comfort food!!

  9. September 24, 2010 1:28 pm

    i just voted for you:) what a lovely post!

  10. Jenny permalink
    October 28, 2010 11:25 am

    Hi Kristen,

    I made this fir Russ tonight and it went down really well! I unfortunately can’t get pilsbury rolls here so used the best substitute I could find, although not whole wheat-one day I may try to make my own! I paired it with roasted butternut squash with lemon and thyme which was yummy and the second night for leftovers with fresh kale , mashed potatoes and fresh beets! Delicious!

    Thanks for your ideas!

Leave a Reply

