Skip to content

birthday weekend!

September 25, 2010
tags:

I anticipate my birthday all year long. I think because my Mom and Dad always did such a great job of really celebrating each of us (there are 4 kids in my family) on our birthdays every year. We had great parties with scavenger hunts and crafts and themes and homemade cakes (and not-so-homemade cakes too – Dairy Queen anyone?). I had a sweet 16th party that I will never forget and a 21st bday that I wish I could forget.  Overall, I just love birthdays, and I do a darn good job of reminding anyone close to me that it is birthday month, birthday week, birthday weekend, and birthday DAY throughout the month of September. Kevin has been slowly catching on. I did get beautiful flowers on Monday afterall.

I have a busy weekend planned. Besides researching, cooking and writing a big post for Project Foodblog, singing at church tomorrow, and having a small part-ay at our house tonight, I also need to CLEAN said-house (booo) and spend some birthday money from my Mom and Mother-in-Law. Did you know that I live in the city with the largest mall in North America? It’s true. It’s suprising that you can’t find me there 24/7 actually. West Edmononton Mall. On top of WestEd, I also live 5 minutes from South Edmonton Common, which by the time it’s fully deveolped will be the “largest open-air retail development in North America.” Shoppppppppppppppping.

 I am excited to not have to make my own cake this year because a dear friend has promised to bring dessert tonight after a bunch of us go out for supper. She is basically a cake connoisseur, so I know it will be perfect.

Here’s a little sneak peak of what I might be spending my birthday money on this year!

Microplane Zester!

Brown Leather Boots... drool!

A cozy winter sweater that I would like to live in

Happy Birthday Weekend EVERYONE!!!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Kym Palichuk permalink
    September 25, 2010 11:07 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY WEEKEND TO YOU!
    Hope your weekend is an amazing one. You work so hard that you deserve to be pampered and I hope you feel loved over and over this weekend.

  2. September 25, 2010 1:50 pm

    Happy! Happy! B-day TO YOU!
    🙂
    Valerie
    Buy the microplane… from Lee Valley Tools – I can’t live without mine (bought one for my feet, too…. don’t laugh; it works fantastically!)

  3. September 25, 2010 3:36 pm

    Happy Birthday! Where is that sweater from? It’s so cute!

    • September 26, 2010 10:50 am

      It’s from American Eagle. I seriously could hibernate in something like this!

  4. September 25, 2010 6:01 pm

    Love those boots – you must get them!

    I used to attend Mill Woods (back then it was Pentecostal… has that changed???) Assembly. I haven’t gone since I moved to the north end of the city though. But since I can’t find anything around here that I like, I’ve been thinking about going back. I also want to check out Ellerslie Road Baptist and WECA. Can you tell I prefer big churches?!

    Happy birthday weekend – hope you have a ton of fun!

    • September 26, 2010 10:53 am

      Ha, yes I prefer big churches too, but they are easy to get lost in sometimes. I am lucky in that my hubby is on staff there, so it’s easy for us to meet people. And yes, MWPA is still Pentecostal. You should try it out if you’re looking for something! We have a great 10:45 am service, and an evening service called “The Project” at 7 pm which is seriously awesome (geared for under 30).

  5. September 25, 2010 6:18 pm

    Have a great birthday weekend!

  6. September 26, 2010 1:51 pm

    Happy Brithday!

    i love those boots and that sweater 🙂
    I never go to West Ed… so busy and honestly, most of the malls in the city have the same stores anyway.

    • September 28, 2010 10:08 am

      Truthfully – we RARELY go to West Ed either! It’s just so BUSY (like you said!). It’s only when I have serious money to spend!

  7. September 26, 2010 6:27 pm

    Happy birthday! 🙂 I LOVE those boots!! It’s actually my bday this week too and I’ve already decided I’m getting tall brown boots with any bday money I get 🙂

  8. September 27, 2010 6:47 am

    Happy Birthday! And I love your selection of Birthday gifts…I would get the same things lol.

  9. September 27, 2010 9:38 am

    Happy birthday! I love birthdays as well, but my husband isn’t a big birthday celebrater. I’m trying to change him, though!

  10. Elliott permalink
    September 28, 2010 7:31 am

    Ooo…where are those boots from? They look sleek but comfy enough to wear around all day.

    • September 28, 2010 10:09 am

      I agree! They are from Aldo. Thanks for dropping by!

  11. Jenna permalink
    September 28, 2010 12:21 pm

    if you buy those boots, please don’t drool on them!
    I like the microplane, it looks super cool.

  12. October 4, 2010 10:36 am

    It’s so nice to find another Edmonton blogger! Happy late birthday!

Leave a Reply

