Skip to content

Autumn Inspired Beef Stew

September 27, 2010

Autumn Inspired Beef Stew

First of all, I am so, so SO excited to have been chosen to be apart of Rita Barry of The Giggly Bits 2nd official Blog Hunt! I think one of the best things about entering the food blog world is the amazing connections I am making. I have only been blogging seriously since August, but in 2 short months, I have become a complete food nerd. I now officially talk about my “foodie blog friends” to my sweet hubby who I am pretty sure thinks I have gone just a little bit crazy. Especially ever since Project Foodblog began – I have been obsessed. Not just with my own posts, but with reading all the other contestants posts, catching up (ok, keeping up) on twitter (my newest obsession), updating my facebook fan page, and sincerely wanting to cook and bake 99% of what I read on the blogs – Foodies are the best! 

Since I am anticipating a few new readers with this blog hunt, let me just tell you a bit about what you can expect on this blog. Um,  well let’s see. Basically, my husband is the pickiest man alive, and I am just about the opposite. He likes meat and potatoes, I like vegetarian dishes and all types of flavor and spices. So pretty much you will find a huge array of recipes, as I attempt to satisfy my desire to be creative, while at the same time, attempt to satisfy my hubby’s picky palate. I recently wrote all about it on my Challenge 1 of Project Foodblog, so feel free to check it out for more, or check out my page, “About this Blog“. I also consider myself a dedicated meal planner (ummm, even though I haven’t posted this week’s plan yet!), and I look for nutritious, vegetable inspired, good-for-you meals. To me, this means minimal pre-packaged goods and not a lot of added sugar or fatty foods. But trust me, I post plenty of treats. Everything in moderation (do 4 cookies equal moderation?). You can also check out all the recipes I have posted in my always-being-updated “Recipe Index.” 

I am really excited to be sharing this awesome fall inspired stew with you all! It was on my meal plan a few weeks ago when I was literally pulling out my mittens and, get this, scraping my car window (ugh) in the morning before leaving for work. This week, however, is absolutely gorgeous! I should really be working on my suntan. But I know that cooler weather is just around the corner and THIS is what you need to make when it reappears for its second coming. It’s not only delicious, it’s healthy. And… it’s orange. Orange food means butternut squash, apricots and carrots, fresh from a friend’s garden. I topped it off with a handful of seeds – pumpkin, sunflower and a few mixed nuts – any mix will do, and it adds huge flavor and crunch. Oh, added bonus: it’s a slow cooker recipe! My slow cooker is pretty much my bff – I work full-time and it is the best thing in the world to come home to dinner ready for you. 

This is not your typical beef stew, my friends. You need to know that I ate it all week for lunch, and I think my nose may have turned a teensy shade of orange – pretty! Consider yourself warned! 

Autumn Inspired Beef Stew
adapted from Taste of Home, Healthy Cooking  

3/4 pounds beef stew meat, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
2 tsp olive oil
1 can (14.5 oz) beef broth
1 can (14.5 oz) stewed tomatoes, chopped
1 1/2 cups cubed peeled butternut squash
1 cup frozen corn
6 dried apricot halves (or peach halves), quartered
3 medium chopped carrots
2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp ground pepper
2 tbsp cornstarch
1/4 cup water
2 tbsp minced fresh parsley
1/2 cup mixed seeds/nuts (pumpkin, sunflower, pecans, walnuts, etc) 

In a nonstick skillet, cook beef over medium heat in oil until no longer pink; drain. Transfer to slow cooker. Add broth, tomatoes, squash, corn, apricots, carrots, oregano, salt and pepper.
Cover and cook on high for 5-6 hours, or until meat and veggies are tender.
Combine cornstarch and water until smooth; gradually stir into stew. Cover and cook on high for 30 minutes or until stew has thickened. 
Stir in parsley and top with mixed seeds just before serving. Add sea salt and ground pepper to taste. 

Annnnnnnnnnnnd if you’re awesome like me, you will serve this with freshly made whole wheat honey bread… from the bread maker of course! I usually get my bread maker going just before going to sleep and wake up to fresh warm bread in the morning. Anything to help me get out of bed at 6 am. Coffee is my preferred drug of choice, but fresh bread is a close second.

If you liked this post, please take a few minutes to read my Challenge #2 post for Project Foodblog, where I attempted (successfully I might add) authentic Thai Panang Curry and a Green Mango Salad. It’s just a few posts down, and if you like what you read, vote for me to be the next Foodblog Star here

Welcome to my blog – let me know you stopped by, and I would so love to check out yours as well!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 11:17 pm

    If I ate meat I would totally eat that, seriously. I can bestow no higher a compliment than that. I will be back after a very long run tomorrow! Cheers to fall.

    • September 28, 2010 10:01 am

      Although I am not vegetarian, we do follow a “Eat Less Meat” policy in this house. Ha, at least I follow it 🙂 I think this stew would be equally as delicious with chickpeas and perhaps cauliflower/potatoes, for all you non-meat eaters!

  2. September 28, 2010 5:26 am

    We had to give away our bread maker because the smell of baking bread would make me start howling like a werewolf.

    I don’t understand your hubby; how can you be a picky eater when everything is so damned delicious?

    • September 28, 2010 10:02 am

      Hilarious! I will never give up my bread maker 🙂

      And really, my hubby may be picky, but he at least TRIES everything – and usually finishes his plate too. He’s just not always thrilled! This one was a winner though!

  3. September 28, 2010 5:36 am

    Rita was right – the pics are amazing! I love to use the crockpot, do the work in the morning and have it all ready to go later:)

    • September 28, 2010 10:03 am

      Thank you. I am seriously so amateur when it comes to my photography, but I feel like it is slowly improving over time. I just got my first tripod for my bday from my husband! So excited. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. sclark1013 permalink
    September 28, 2010 6:09 am

    Love the recipe ideas I’m getting from your blog. I was actually thinking of making a crockpot beef stew soon as teh weather is cooling down. I’m not too familiar with cooking with squash, so this might be something fun to try for me. 🙂

  5. September 28, 2010 6:30 am

    The beef stew looks amazing. While I am considering going vegetarian, it’s recipes like these that make me go back!

    • September 28, 2010 10:05 am

      Too funny! I consider going vegetarian all.the.time. but could never take the plunge (my husband would NOT be happy!). Again, this could easily be made with chickpeas in place of the beef, and some cauliflower and potatoes. Would be equally delicious!

  6. September 28, 2010 7:03 am

    OMG- I LOVE beef stew and have a squash addiction, so this recipe is perfect! Thanks for sharing!

  7. September 28, 2010 7:49 am

    it makes me want to buy winter clothes…maybe not in the 108 weather in L.A.

    Instead I’ll just eat your delicious stew!

    • September 28, 2010 10:05 am

      I have heard about this crazy heat wave you are experiencing. Oh to live in California. Jealous!

  8. September 28, 2010 8:03 am

    Saying hi from Giggly Bits and SITS! What a fun recipe. Just my kind of thing – a variation on an old favorite and in the crock pot too! I am fairly new to blogging as well – come say hi when you can! Keep on cooking and writing about it!

    • September 28, 2010 10:07 am

      I will, and I’ll definitely be stopping by your blog! We newby bloggers need each other! Thanks for the comment 🙂

  9. shrinkingirl permalink
    September 28, 2010 8:30 am

    Wow, if I weren’t a pseudo-vegetarian who won’t touch raw meat anymore I would totally make that! It looks super yummy.
    I wonder if I can get someone to do the meat touching…. Hrm….

    • September 28, 2010 10:06 am

      LOL, I have been slowly getting over the grossness of raw meat over time – it quite disgusts me as well! I love that you call yourself a pseudo-vegetarian – that is awesome!

  10. September 28, 2010 10:44 am

    I love crock pot meals!!!!

  11. September 28, 2010 11:33 am

    I think your picky husband and my picky husband would get along well! I have to be pretty sneaky with adding new veggies to his palate. This dish looks yummy and something that both of us would eat. Crock-pot cooking is right up my alley.

    • September 28, 2010 6:26 pm

      Haha, it’s almost like having a child sometimes, hey?!! Kevin actually eats his vegetables, thank goodness, he just doesn’t like a whole lof of…. flavor. He likes his meat and potatoes! Thankfully, this dish was a winner for both of us.

  12. September 28, 2010 11:51 am

    That stew looks amazing! So yummy. 🙂

  13. mercade permalink
    September 28, 2010 3:16 pm

    OMG! That recipe looks absolutely amazing! Why have I not been here before? Well, that’s about to change!

  14. September 28, 2010 9:52 pm

    The weather in alberta has been crazy! I am loving this warm spell though.

    That soup looks great, and I also agree about the fresh bread. I find that having a bread maker is great because i never buy store bought bread, but also makes me afraid to make bread without it

  15. September 28, 2010 10:16 pm

    Oh Dear! I know exactly what you are talking about. My husband probably can’t take it anymore. But I love it. It’s great to meet all this amazing new people. Your stew looks fab.

  16. September 29, 2010 12:40 pm

    Yes, we’ve been enjoying a bit of an indian summer, too – but I know the cold weather is right around the corner! This is perfect for one of those chilly nights.

  17. September 29, 2010 3:15 pm

    If you have only been blogging for two months, I take my hat off to you. You have absolutely immersed yourself deeeeeply into the blogosphere, and we all know what kind of time and dedication that takes… to have done what you have in two months is truly admirable.
    The stew is timely and looks like the perfect mid-week autumn meal to me. Thank you!
    🙂
    Valerie

  18. September 29, 2010 4:41 pm

    i am so going to try this out. looks really lovely:)

  19. September 29, 2010 7:28 pm

    Looks super delicious!

  20. September 30, 2010 4:48 am

    Looks great! I am so all over the slow-cooker this fall!

  21. September 30, 2010 5:36 am

    As soon as I get my act together and catch up with everything, voting for you is on the to-do list!
    Best of luck!! You go girl!

  22. Connie permalink
    September 30, 2010 8:06 am

    Hi! First time here. Unique beef stew. Looks good even though some of the ingredients make me raise a eyebrow. 🙂

  23. June 12, 2011 11:43 am

    It was a contentment getting to your site individual. I arrived here now hoping to master something new. I used to be not dissatisfied. Your ideas after new techniques about this area were useful including a great help that will myself. Thank you with regard to creating time to put in writing these things after which it for sharing your current mind.

Leave a Reply

