Skip to content

Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Goat Cheese & Basil with Mushroom Wine Sauce

October 13, 2010

I took a little break from the blog world this week. Not on purpose, it just so happened that a) I barely cooked; and b) I have been super busy. Life happens sometimes! What a pain. I prefer my online existence to half the real world things I do! I don’t mean that (or do I?). I am 98% introverted, although that surprises everyone when I tell them that. A little known fact about me.

I don’t know what is up, but when Kevin announced that I hadn’t cooked in a week and a half, I half opened my mouth to cry out “What absurdity!” until I realized, crap, he was right. I haven’t officially meal planned in about 3 weeks and I have barely been cooking. What on earth have we been eating? Frozen dinners from The Big Cook (such a huge relief). Grilled cheese and soup. Dinner meetings out. Nachos. Pizza. Sandwiches. Spent a weekend at home with my parents. Taco Time. Hmm. It’s time to get back to it. I actually have anxiety when I don’t do a meal plan – and not just during the half hour drive home when it suddenly occurs to me that Kevin might actually expect dinner, but an overall “My entire life is out of CONTROL” anxiety. When life gets busy, meal planning works wonders. And so, here I am again. I miss cooking.

Here’s an amazing, relatively simple recipe to inspire myself again, and hopefully you as well.

I have been dying to share the Goat Cheese and Basil Stuffed Chicken recipe that you got a sneak peak at from my dinner party – if you can remember like, 5 weeks back. Normally my blog focuses on fast and easy weeknight dinners that are healthy for me and yummy for my husband. This isn’t exactly weeknight friendly, unless you are the black heels in the kitchen type, providing luxury 5 course meals to your family each night. Of course I am talking about myself here. For sure.

This is really something special. I absolutely LOVE goat cheese in anything and everything, and fresh basil is always a winner in my books. Kevin would never have guessed that he was going to love this as well, given the extravagant ingredients (uh, goat cheese and basil), and I was proud to serve it to our guests. It’s really not hard, just a tad time consuming. As a special treat, I took pictures of pretty much the whole process, so I can show you all how easy it actually is. You know, a typical Wednesday night meal for the fam. Or Saturday night luxury dinner party – however you roll. And trust me, you will be rolling for this recipe. There are a million ways you can do this, some of which are probably easier than the route I went (i.e. you could probably cut a slit into the thickest part of the chicken breast and stuff ’em – would be equally as yummy, and less work). Here’s what I did.

Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Goat Cheese & Basil with Mushroom Wine Sauce
adapted from Epicurious
http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Chicken-Breasts-Stuffed-with-Goat-Cheese-and-Basil-2749

Chicken

  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
  • 1/2 cup fresh goat cheese (such as Montrachet) (about 4 ounces)
  • 1/2 cup light mozzarella cheese (optional)
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped finely
  • 3-5 basil leaves, shredded or 1 teaspoon dried, crumbled
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 egg, beaten to blend
  • 1/2 cup dry breadcrumbs, with seasoning (or add your own – italian, basil, parsley, garlic powder, etc)
  • 2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) unsalted butter melted

Mushroom-Wine Sauce

  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1/2 pound mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 2/3 cup chicken stock or canned low-salt broth
  • 4 tablespoons chilled unsalted butter (1/2 stick), cut into 4 pieces
  • Salt and pepper

Pound chicken to 1/4 inch thickness between 2 sheets of wax paper. Or… keep it simple and cut through the chicken breasts to half their thickness. I’m sure there is a more correct way of putting that. However you do it, make sure the chicken is nice and thin. The thinner the better. I seasoned my chicken breasts with salt, pepper, and a little bit of garlic salt.

Combine cheeses, green onion, red pepper and basil in a small bowl. Season with salt and pepper. Spread cheese mixture lengthwise over each chicken piece.

Roll chicken up tightly without losing too much of the filling (this is easier said than done), into tight cylinders. Tie ends with string to secure (toothpicks work in a pinch).

Dip chicken in egg, letting excess drip off. Roll in breadcrumbs. There are way too many pictures of raw chicken in this post.

Lightly fry in olive oil and a dab of butter to brown the outside of the chicken. We are NOT cooking the chicken all the way through here, simply browning the outside to make it extra scrumptious. You have to practice an absurd amount of patience in this step. I came thisclose to serving pizza that night at this point.

Ooh this may have been well worth the effort….. more raw chicken pictures for your viewing pleasure. At this point, you can continue with cooking OR you can throw it into the fridge for up to 4 hours while you take care of other matters of business. Such as cleaning the bathroom (the worst part of having guests over). Eww, raw chicken and toilets in the same post… I feel like washing my hands right now.

Place chicken in a 9 x 11 baking dish and pour 2 tbsp of melted butter over top. Or perhaps more. Bake at 350 degrees until cooked through, about 30 minutes.

Ooh, now for the Mushroom Wine Sauce. This was sooooooo yummy, and you may have seen my comment that it was literally my first time cooking with butter. What.A.Difference. I am a butter convert. Mmmmmm I am thinking about this right now. Don’t skip the sauce, even though I skipped the pictures for the sauce!

Melt 1/4 cup butter in heavy large skillet over medium heat. Add mushrooms (I used crimini) and sauté until tender, about 8 minutes. Add wine (you could replace the wine with chicken broth) and boil 3 minutes. Add stock and boil until liquid is reduced by half, about 6 minutes. Remove from heat and swirl in 4 tablespoons cold butter 1 piece at a time. Season sauce with salt and freshly ground pepper.

Serve sauce in a prettier serving dish than a 4 cup Pyrex measuring cup.

Remove string from the chicken. Cut into 1/2 inch rounds and fan on a lovely serving dish (can you tell that I am sad I do not have lovely serving dishes?). Serve immediately. Pass sauce around separately. I served with a green apple salad, green beans and wild rice.  

Sigh with great contentment. The end.

And she’s back.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachelle permalink
    October 13, 2010 1:33 pm

    I LOVE the pictures- they help so much!! This recipe looks so good!!

  2. October 13, 2010 1:58 pm

    You’re so cute. I missed your blogging ways. If I wasn’t panicked at touching meat, I would try this (just kidding. kind of)

    • October 13, 2010 2:22 pm

      Hahah! I may or may not have a secret box of latex gloves hiding under my kitchen sink. When we first got married, I made Kevin deal with all the raw meat in the house. I am growing up so fast.

  3. October 13, 2010 2:33 pm

    I love your little write-ups Kristin! So entertaining to read 🙂 The recipe looks awesome too!!

  4. October 13, 2010 7:01 pm

    I love this recipe and it looks absolutely delicious. Unfortunately I can’t eat sweets 24 hours a day 😦 I am a big fan of chicken and I am always looking for new ways to serve for dinner – this is perfect – Goat cheese – yummy. thank you!
    – Butter
    (from Running On Butter)

  5. October 13, 2010 7:05 pm

    What an absolutely gorgeous meal. I love stuffed breasts and these look like a riot to make and a very delicious meal… nutritious, too.
    YUM!
    🙂
    Valerie

  6. wakesurferwannabe permalink
    October 13, 2010 9:59 pm

    That looks so good! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I hope you had a fantastic Thanksgiving weekend. I’ve missed reading your blog while you’ve been busy/away!

  7. October 14, 2010 1:39 pm

    Kristin this is beautiful! I think this meal makes up for a couple weeks of not cooking.

    Laura

  8. October 14, 2010 2:50 pm

    Oh Dear! I so understand the ” my life is out control” thing. I loooooove goat cheese, but sometimes when I put a recipes with goat cheese I get comments of people saying they hate goat cheese. How can you hate something so delicious? Right? You chicken looks amazing I loved that you breaded it. So yummy.

Leave a Reply

