Skip to content

delishplan week 37

October 17, 2010

My plan to have home-cooked meals all weekend didn’t exactly pan out (except for Friday night). That’s TOTALLY okay because now I have all the groceries I need for the week ahead which means no grocery shopping tonight. I’m relieved because I just cannot imagine myself going out for groceries right now. I normally LOVE grocery shopping, walking through the aisles of endless produce, freshly baked bread, and everything in between. I get a lot of inspiration from the grocery store/farmers market! Since I have been meal planning, I have really cut back on buying unneccessary items, but I haven’t stopped buying an item or two that catches my eye, whether it be a new vegetable, a unique spice, a different type of rice, or a can of something fun, like pumpkin or artichokes.

The problem is, grocery shopping on Sunday nights. On one hand I love it because there the stores are so empty. On the other hand, I am not motivated on Sunday nights to do anything but watch TV or read my latest book obsession. I need some fresh perspective on how and when my fellow meal planners actually carry out their plan for the week.  I am considering switching to Saturdays (hello rest of the city of Edmonton… BUT also more motivation to hit up the farmer’s market if I am doing my shopping then anyway) or Monday nights. Potentially Sunday afternoons, again, along with the rest of the city.

Anyway, here’s what we’re eating this week (yes, repeats from the weekend!)

Monday: Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo – the lite version
Tuesday: Chicken Curry
Wednesday: breakfast for dinner
Thursday: leftovers
Friday: we are headed out for the weekend – meal plan taken care of!

That was easy! I look forward to hearing what’s on your dinner plates this week!

Stay tuned for yummy Chicken Almondine Casserole, recipe to be posted this week.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 7:59 am

    So important to plan. I don’t anymore – but need to make more of an effort at it. I have a little mental illness where I tend to buy a lot more than we need and then have to work to use it because my other mental illness is I refuse to waste anything
    🙂
    valerie

  2. October 18, 2010 11:07 am

    The meal plan concept is a really good idea. Somehow I can never actually sit down, make my plan and get ‘er done. Perhaps that’s why during the week I’m often unmotivated to cook! Maybe I’ll try it next week…As for food shopping, I’ve gotten into a baaaad habit of having my groceries delivered. Otherwise, I’m usually there with the crowds on Saturday since by Sunday everything is picked over!

Leave a Reply

