Skip to content

Layered Chicken Almondine Bake

October 21, 2010

So I have a pretty big claim to make about this casserole: I think it’s the best dish I make. Woah, big time statement. But just look at that bread crusted goodness. Hello delicious little green beans! Toasted almonds? I LOVE you! (Um, does anyone else talk to their food?) If that’s not enough to sell you on this, think about what you can’t see:  the baked-to-perfection chicken, melted mozza cheese, and mushrooms (added in just for Kevin…but even I think they work in this) all baked into a 9 x 13 dish of love. This is my secret weapon dish. You know, when you don’t know what to make for company, when another friend has a baby, or when I need Kevin to love me a little bit more (i.e. when I want to buy a new pair of shoes, or when I am preparing him for a night of girly TV). 

This comes straight out of Mom’s recipe binder, and honestly, that is where I find the best ideas. I really should start a once a week feature on her dishes. I think it’s my Mom that is my real secret weapon. She rocks. Love you Mom!

4-5 chicken breasts, cubed (or pick up a roast chicken from the grocery store and pick it apart for this)
salt and pepper
½ teaspoons poultry seasoning OR a few dashes of celery salt and dry mustard
4 cups fresh green beans, or a combination of carrots, green, and yellow beans (such as the pkg you can buy at M&M’s)
1 can cream of chicken soup
½ cups milk
1 cup mushrooms, sliced
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1/2 cups toasted sliced almonds
1 package stove top stuffing for chicken
1 cup hot water

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cook cubed chicken in a tablespoon of olive oil and a dab of butter on a skillet over medium-high heat until just cooked through (remember the entire casserole will be baked for 30 minutes once assembled). Season with salt and pepper as desired.

At the same time, begin toasting almonds, in a dry frying pan over medium heat, stirring often and watching carefully that they don’t burn. Remove from heat when they start to smell incredibly delicious.

Cook green beans in boiling water for 4-5 minutes, until just barely soft (or cook just barely in the microwave with a bit of water).

Placed cooked chicken in 9 x 13 baking dish. Sprinkle with poultry seasoning.

In a large mixing bowl, combine soup, milk, mushrooms and green beans. Spread over the chicken. Sprinkle cheese and toasted almonds over the soup mixture.

Combine stuffing mix and hot water. Top cheese and almond layer with stuffing mixture. I added seasoned breadcrumbs to ensure that every little inch was covered in goodness. Remember how we talked about my carb weakness? There it is.

Bake for 30 minutes.

I’ve made this before in two 8×8 dishes using the same measurements (although I’m not sure how well it freezes). I’ve also made it in a bigger lasagna casserole dish for a larger group (about 8 of us) – I just doubled, or added more of everything until the dish was overflowing with goodness. There are lots of variations (different veggies, different soup, make your own breadcrumbs, different seasonings, etc), so just do whatever fits your family!!! YUMMY!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Alyssa permalink
    October 21, 2010 8:58 pm

    YAY!!! It’s up!! Can’t wait to make this one….it was SOOOOO yummy!!!! Thanks again Kristen 🙂

  2. October 22, 2010 8:18 am

    This seems like all the ingredients for a winning dish! I love poultry seasoning, it makes me think of Thanksgiving food, which is perfect in the Fall. And I love one-pan bakes…they are always hearty and make a ton of food so I don’t have to cook for another night! Yay!

  3. October 22, 2010 8:44 am

    Moms’ recipes are always the best! This totally looks like a warm and cozy dish to be devoured on a chilly fall night!

  4. October 22, 2010 11:22 am

    I love dishes like this! So satisfying!

  5. October 23, 2010 4:44 pm

    This is one of my favorites too. My other standby is Chicken Broccoli Casserole. Having it for company tomorrow as a matter of fact! Love you too Kristin, MOM

    • October 24, 2010 8:42 pm

      Haha, obviously I am still logged in on my parents’ computer a province away 🙂 Thanks for the comment Mom! I’m soooo impressed, even if you are logged in as me!

  6. October 24, 2010 7:27 am

    This sounds very similar to a traditional family casserole from my own mother’s personal recipe book. YUM!
    🙂
    Valerie

    • October 24, 2010 8:43 pm

      Oooh, I’d love to hear the differences (I would use as inpsiration for the next time!).

  7. October 26, 2010 11:01 am

    this looks so lovely!… i cant wait to try this out. thank you for sharing:)

  8. November 2, 2010 9:56 am

    I talk to my food as I’m preparing it. 🙂
    I got immense pleasure sauteing some mushrooms for beef stroganoff last night. I think they tasted better because I smiled at them the whole time. It almost made me do a little dance in front of the stove.

  9. November 3, 2010 1:39 am

    This looks really good, I guess this will be on my try list! Thanks for sharing

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  10. November 3, 2010 12:50 pm

    Wow this looks amazing! I LOVE casserole dishes and your site! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Link love (Powered by barbecues, fireworks and surprisingly sweet treats) « Musings of an Abstract Aucklander
  2. delishplan week 63 « delish living

Leave a Reply

