Skip to content

delishplan week 38

October 25, 2010

I just came home from a beautiful weekend retreat out at a this incredible Ranch situated at the foothills of the Rocky mountains. I was there with the leadership team of our church’s young adult group, The Project. The Ranch is about 2.5 hours south of Edmonton, and it was a much needed weekend of rest, beauty, and relationships. Oh every so often there are wonderful benefits for being the wife of a man in ministry… while he was busy “working” (aka hanging out with the leadership team), I was having glorious naps in our king sized bed, being fed yummy meals and endless snacks, reading the Lisbeth Salandar sagas (book #3 of The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo series) and hanging out with several of my girlfriends that were there for the same reason as I (mainly thanks to their hubbys in charge).

To make the weekend even sweeter, I took Monday off from work. Happiness! Knowing myself all too well, even after a restful weekend I would not have been happy to go to work after being away from my favorite place all weekend – home. I am such a homebody. I recharge at home. Plus I didn’t have time to meal plan, go grocery shopping, do a 100 loads of laundry, pay the bills or do any of the other endless tasks that I usually save for the weekend. So here I am. In bed, drinking coffee, not cleaning, not doing laundry, definitely not paying bills, but looking up recipes and psyching myself up to brave the newly paved in snow streets to go grocery shopping. Yes, this morning I woke up to the white stuff. I don’t mind one bit – I’m on holidays, baby!

But it better be gone by tomorrow.

Ooh, the other thing I am excited to do today is make Maple Glazed Pumpkin muffins from “A Pinch of Yum” – one of my newest blog discoveries! If making these doesn’t make the snow melt away, I just don’t know what will.

Here’s what we’ll be eating this week. Plenty of meatless but hearty meals and a chicken dish that I have been saving for months from Taste of Home’s Healthy Cooking magazine… tonight is the big night! Also another one of our Big Cook meals for our busiest night of the week. The Big Cook meals have been our saving grace this fall, and I will absolutely be doing this again in the future!

Monday: Sweet and Sour Chicken over rice

Tuesday: one of the “Big Cook” meals…any of which will do, since all I do is thaw them overnight, and stick ’em in the slow cooker. And voila!

Wednesday: Asparagus and Red Pepper Frittata with Goat Cheese

Thursday: Vegetarian Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili (a combo between a South Beach Diet recipe I have and THIS from GOODLIFEeats)

Friday: I am out with the girls for dinner and a movie! love.

As always, please share your meal plan, or even just a dish or two you’ve been thinking of making. Maybe this will inspire you to actually go ahead and make it!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2010 10:44 am

    Sweet potato and black bean chili sounds delish! I love chili! I really need to get on this meal plan thing. As I sit here now, I’m wondering…what am I going to make for dinner tonight?? 🙂

  2. Elaine S permalink
    October 25, 2010 4:36 pm

    Your Monday sounds delish!
    This week’s meal plan – as you can see, rice is a non-negotiable 🙂
    M: rice, bbq whole chicken with creamed veg (onion/pepper/broccoli/baby corn/celery)
    T: rice, teriyaki sliced steak with stir fried taiwanese cabbage
    W: rice, chicken cacciatore with veg incl in the sauce (tomato, celery, onion, pepper)
    R: rice, some kinda mexican chilli in the slow cooker
    F: rice, asian stir fried chicken with veg (mushroom, baby corn, water chestnut)

  3. wakesurferwannabe permalink
    October 25, 2010 6:02 pm

    Looks like you’ll be eating very well this week!

    I made Zippy Beef Bake yesterday but kind of screwed it up a little so it’s not as good as it usually is. We’ll be eating that for another day or so. After that… we’ll probably do some sort of chicken dish, probably a stir-fry to use up a ginormous bag of veggies we bought awhile ago at Costco.

  4. October 25, 2010 6:09 pm

    I will be making French Dip sandwiches tomorrow night and I can’t wait! Toasty warm bread, chipotle gouda cheese, sauteed onions, roast beef, and a little beef broth for dipping… Mmmm. And by the way – thanks for the shout out! 🙂

  5. October 26, 2010 11:42 am

    Your Wednesday sounds amaizing I’m coming back to take a look! I hope you will be posting….

    • October 26, 2010 11:49 am

      If it’s good, I absolutely will 🙂 I’m looking forward to it too!
      Mondays was good too – I just finished leftovers and I can’t wait to post this recipe! Ooh too much good food lately 🙂

  6. camille permalink
    October 27, 2010 2:21 pm

    MMM. I’m trying your Southwest Turkey Chilli tonight! Except I’m doubling it cuz we both LOVE chili and my husband loves ground turkey ANYTHING. Score.

Leave a Reply

