Skip to content

Sweet and Sour Chicken

October 30, 2010

Where to begin! I am excited to post three of last week’s meals because they were allllllll very good. Let’s start from the very beginning…. a very good place to start …. (did anyone see the original cast of The Sound of Music on Oprah this week? I missed it. I forgot to PVR it and I’m quite depressed. It would have been the highlight of my life.)

Sweet and Sour Chicken

Anyway, before I analyze the what is not a complicated situation any further, I’ll just start with Monday’s meal: Sweet and Sour Chicken. I have literally had this recipe in my “must try” recipe binder for over a year and it’s ridiculous that I waited this long to make it. It’s full of flavor (including ginger, possibly my favorite ingredient in the world), easy, fast and healthy. Oh look, another recipe that is based on this blog’s criteria: yummy, quick weeknight meals, and good for you… except for one thing… the picky factor…

Da da daaaaaaa…..Kevin liked it!

Win win win! 

Minus the pineapple.

That’s okay though folks, because Kevin did what any mature adult would do and picked the pineapple out. And then he ate away, blind to the fact that the sauce was completely full of pineapple juice. Interesting. I’ll just leave it at that for you to make your own conclusions. Man I am going to be good at this stuff by the time we have children.

Two quick things to point out here: 1. The recipe calls for marinating your chicken for 30 minutes (or more). I miss that every time. 2. There are two instances where you are dividing your ingredients. Don’t be a ninny like me and not divide the ingredients and then get super confused when you’ve used up all the soy sauce already. These are two points that could be avoided by READING the recipe before you cook. Working on that.

Sweet and Sour Chicken
adapted from Healthy Cooking Taste of Home (side note: this is my favorite cooking magazine in the world. You should probably subscribe.)

1 tbsp plus 2 tsp reduced-sodium soy sauce (divided)
1 tbsp sherry (or reduced sodium chicken broth)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp fresh ground ginger (or more. Like me who probably doubled that)
1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch cubes
1 large pepper (any color, but I used yellow and a 1/2 a red) or any other vegetable(s) that you would like to throw in
1 can (20 oz) unsweetened pineapple chunks
2 tbsp plus 1/3 cup cornstarch, divided
2 tbsp sugar (I used brown)
1/4 cup cider vinegar
1 tbsp canola oil
green onions, to top it all off

1. Marinate chicken in 1 tbsp of soy sauce, sherry, salt, garlic powder and ginger for 30 minutes in the fridge. (Guess who didn’t do that. Me. Because I can’t read. But I did manage to marinate it for about 15 minutes and it was still great).

2. Drain pineapple, reserving the juice in a small bowl, and set pineapple aside. Add enough water to juice to measure 1 cup. In a small bowl combine 2 tbsp cornstarch, sugar and pineapple juice mixture until smooth. Sir in the vinegar, ketchup and remaining soy sauce. Set aside.

3. Saute your chopped pepper in a bit of olive oil and set aside (or just throw it in with the chicken when you cook that, it doesn’t really matter. I was just looking for something to do so that my chicken could marinate a little bit longer!).

4. Drain any extra marinade from the chicken. Mix remaining cornstarch into the chicken and try to coat each piece of chicken with a bit of cornstarch. You could do this in a large plastic resealable bag, or like me, just in the bowl, mixing well. Stir fry chicken in a bit of olive oil until no longer pink. Remove and keep warm.

5. Stir pineapple juice mixture and add to the pan. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes until thickened. Add chicken and reserved pineapple; heat through. Serve with rice and garnish with lots of yummy green onions.

1 cup chicken with 1/2 cup rice equals 428 calories and 6 g of fat. Not too shabby!!!

It’s Saturday and now I’m going to go watch, quote word for word, and sing along to, the entire 2 DVD set, The Sounnnnnnnnnd of Muuuuuuuuusic (see I’m singing it with Julie Andrews right now). Ok I’m not. But I could, literally, word for word. Just sayin.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. rebecca meier permalink
    October 30, 2010 10:42 am

    looks super yummy. will have to try it. the kids and I just watched “The Sound Of Music” a few weeks back. Loved showing them one of my FAVORITE movies of all time. They loved it two. I think they watched it 3 times in a 24 hour period. 🙂 I too missed the Oprah reunion of the cast from TSOM but I caught up where I could online and that had to suffice. Enjoy your day…love ya

    • October 30, 2010 11:24 am

      I am thinking I will have to do some online searching for it!! I love that the kids are watching it now 🙂 So great.

  2. October 30, 2010 12:40 pm

    That really looks delicious and colorful. I just saw your vlog, it was adorable.Great job. I wish I could be less shy and be able to speak in front of a camera. Trust me… I tried and it was painful. lol.

  3. wakesurferwannabe permalink
    October 30, 2010 6:16 pm

    That looks really yummy! I’m not a huge pineapple fan either so I would probably make it without. I don’t mind pineapple juice though… so I can understand that he still liked the sauce with the juice!

    Now I want to watch The Sound of Music again… definitely a classic.

Leave a Reply

