Skip to content

delishplan week 39 & Asparagus & Red Pepper Frittata with Goat Cheese

October 31, 2010

Aren’t Sundays wonderful? I could use a few more Sundays in my week. My regular routine is church in the morning, then a busy afternoon of napping, reading, and meal planning. Every now and then I join Kevin downstairs for football (aka nap time). It’s a tough life. In the evening I  usually go grocery shopping and enjoy basically empty aisles, and often come home to bake some yummy treat (only to give away 3/4 of whatever I bake!).  I just bought mini muffin tins this weekend, so I’m thinking something along those lines for tonight. Orrrrrr there is this… Peach Shortbread from Smitten Kitchen…. the mini muffins may need to wait…. If I was super confident in my baking I might think of some way to incorporate the shortbread into the muffin tins… But I don’t dare.

Here is what we’ll be eating this week:

Monday: Vegetable Wild Rice Soup and Butternut Squash and Rosemary Biscuits (hellloooooo!)
Tuesday: Big Cook slow cooker meal
Wednesday: SW Turkey Chili:

Thursday: Basil Chicken Burgers with Goat Cheese (I am so stoked to try theses!)
Friday: Pita Pizzas

Hint: Any sentence that is highlighted in dark blue means you can click on it to find the recipe. I found some inspiration this week from three fun foodie blogs,  Pinch of Yum, Now for Something Completely Delicious and Pretty.Good.Food – thanks Ladies, for your great ideas!

As an added bonus, here is a recipe we tried last week and it was so simple and delicious: Asparagus and Red Pepper Frittata with Goat Cheese. It is so easily modifiable (is that a word?) to your family, which is exactly what I did – as you can see here, Kevin’s side had diced ham and grated chedder cheese added, to make him feel like he wasn’t eating anything fancy schmancy (I think goat cheese scares him).

Frittata

 
This comes straight out of the new South Beach Diet Super Quick cookbook, and I will definitely be making it again, whether for breakfast OR dinner. Even lunch 🙂

Asparagus and Red Pepper Frittata with Goat Cheese
Makes 4 servings
Hands on time: 10, I repeat, TEN minutes, not including cooking time (Total about 30 minutes!)

Note: If your nonstick pan has a plastic handle, wrap it in foil before putting it under the broiler (it’s fine for the 3 minutes….but I was still just slightly nervous and there may or may not have been a slightly burnt plastic smell beginning to form just as I was pulling this out of the oven!!!)

3 tsp extra-virgin olive oil, divided (there’s that divided thing again! so sneaky)
1/2 lb asparagus, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
1 large red bell pepper, slivered
5 large eggs
3 large egg whites
1 tsp dried italian seasoning or dried tarragon
1/4 tsp each salt and pepper
1 tsp butter or vegetable oil spread
3 oz reduced fat goat cheese

In a 10 inch broilerproof non stick skillet, heat 1 tsp of the oil over medium heat. Add asparagus and bell pepper and cook, stirring for 1 minute. Cover and cook for 2 minutes.
Meanwhile, whisk together the whole eggs, egg whites, italian seasoning, salt and pepper.
Reduce heat to low and add remaining to tsp of oil and butter to the pan, stirring well to melt and to coat the bottom and sides of the pan with oil.
Pour in egg mixtrue and top with dots of goat cheese.
Cook, uncovered without stirring, until the eggs are set around the edge, and still a little bit wet in the centre (12 -15 minutes).
Meanwhile, heat the broiler.
Broil the fritatta 6 inches from the heat for 2 -3 minutes, until the top is just set and cheese is melted. Cut into 4 wedges and serve hot, warm, at room temperature or even chilled.

1 slice = 181 calories, 12 g fat

Asparagus and Red Pepper Frittata with Goat Cheese

What will your family be eating this week?

Whew, after all that hard work, I think it’s time for that nap…..

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 8:35 am

    Yummy menu! You’ve got me thinking I need to make another batch of those biscuits! 🙂 Thanks for the link!

    • November 1, 2010 7:37 pm

      Haha, you are welcome but sadly mine didn’t turn out! I must have overmixed them, or too much flour, not enough buttermilk???? I must MUST try them again. I am determined to master the biscuit!

  2. November 1, 2010 9:23 am

    I love love love asparagus and goat cheese. Still loving your meal planning idea. I really need to get on it! Meanwhile, I have my dinner party menu for next weekend planned to a T.

    • November 1, 2010 7:38 pm

      Well that’s a great start at least! Would love to hear what you are serving 🙂

  3. November 2, 2010 5:36 pm

    thanks for meal planning so i don’t have to! 😉 jj – but seriously, thanks for weekly inspiration – SW turkey “chili” was a hit at our house too – the kids gobbled it up. i made up some quinoa and we had a taco salad/chili buffet of fixings, shredded cheese, taco chips, quinoa, sour cream and ranch – great combo – thanks for sharing again!

Trackbacks

  1. delishplan week 40 « delish living
  2. Sweet Pepper and Herb Frittata « Sydney'sKitchen

Leave a Reply

