Skip to content

delishplan week 40

November 7, 2010

First things first: The winner of the Giveway to the Holiday Survival Guide is…. Rachelle!!! I’ll be contacting you this week to get you your fun prize! Thanks so much everyone for your awesome questions – one question will be answered later this month by one of Revive Wellness’ Dietitians. I’m really looking forward to that because your questions were SO great.

Back to business. How can it already be: a) Sunday and b) the 40th week since I began meal planning? (note: Week 1 was not actually January 1st, as I began meal planning when I started my new job a few weeks into January). Unreal how fast time goes by. Thankfully we all put our clocks back an hour last night to savour every moment of life we are blessed with. Apparently I am extra appreciative of life today (or at least the extra hour of sleep I got last night!).

My wonderful parents are coming this evening for a couple of nights. “Oh how lovely of them to visit you” you might be saying. Well, they’re not actually here to visit us. They’re here to Christmas shop! Which is actually even better than visiting with me if I win out on Christmas Day! Their visit results in great motivation to clean the house from top to bottom, and just when I thought I might get away with not washing the floors, I shattered a glass full of sticky juice. Therefore, the floors are officially washed. Anyway, me, my husband and my shiny floors are all quite excited for their visit, even if they’ll be spending most of their time here in a mall. I’ll still be cooking for everyone and I’m quite excited about Monday night’s meal because it’s one of my FAVORITES (recipe to be posted this later week)!

Here’s what will be on our plates this week! Please note, I have TWO days off this week! Two! I could not be more excited!

Sunday: Soup, Salad & Bread: Turkey Minestrone Soup, Mixed Greens & Apple Salad w/ Ciabatta Bread (straight from the bakery, I did not attempt to bake this myself, as we all know what happens when I attempt breads!)

Monday: Spiced Orange Chicken w/ Couscous and Steamed Veggies. Looks a little somethin’ like this:

Spiced Orange Chicken

Tuesday: You guessed it, a “Big Cook” freezer meal for our busy night

Wednesday: Mediterranean Linguine with Sundried Tomatoes and Artichokes (I have to admit, I’m not completely sold on this & that probably means we’ll end up eating something different!)

Thursday (day off!): Grilled Veggie Quesadillas w/ Salsa & Sour Cream

Friday
(Oh! Yet another day off!!!): Undecided. I think we’re having company, so Friday’s meal is currently under review 🙂

Last Sunday I included a quick lunch/dinner idea (Frittata) with the week’s meal plan, and today’s lunch was just begging me to include it in this post. So I said fiiiiiiiiiiine, pita pizzas for everyone. Pita Pizzas hardly deserve their own post because they are basically child’s play, but they do deserve an honorable mention since they are a great weeknight meal (or Sunday lunch, of course) when you need something fast that everyone will enjoy. You also have total creative control on the healthy factor.

Today Kevin was spoiled with a Pepperoni, Mushroom, Red Pepper and Double Cheddar Cheese Pita Pizza.

I, on the other hand, fully enjoyed my Red & Yellow Pepper, Avocado and Goat Cheese Pita Pizza. I win for healthy factor… but that’s usually a given. Kevin, who could also be dubbed Mr. Competition, does not join in on the “Who is healthier” game. So I always win that one. I take what I can get.

Before hitting the oven: Pita Pizzas

Using Greek style Pita Pockets, spoon a couple of tablespoons of jarred pizza sauce on each pita.
Top with whatever you can dream up with, and finish off with a layer of shredded cheese or crumbled goat cheese.
Bake on a foiled cookie sheet at 425 degrees for 8-10 minutes. Finish off under the broiler for about one minute.

Pepperoni, Mushroom & Cheddar

 Perfection!

Red & Yellow Pepper, Avocado & Goat Cheese

Your turn! Have any interesting meals or meal plans to share? Obviously anything goes from simple Pita Pizzas to elaborate Roast Beef dinners! Let’s hear what you have planned!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. rebecca meier permalink
    November 7, 2010 2:52 pm

    I plan on making your fettechini alfredo tonight and your layered chicken almondine bake tomorrow night. Both new recipes to me but since you say they are so good we are looking forward to trying them. 🙂

    • November 7, 2010 2:55 pm

      Oh Rebecca, this makes me smile. The Almondine Chicken is particularly delightful. Let me know how things go 🙂 Miss you friend.

  2. Elaine permalink
    November 7, 2010 3:03 pm

    Wow those pita pizzas look soo soo good! om nom nom

  3. November 7, 2010 3:23 pm

    Very delicious menu. I am jealous of your parents!
    Today and possibly tomorrow we are having braised beef with whatever veggies left in the fridge.
    I went to the bread making class given by Peter Reinhart yesterday and came home with French bread dough and challah dough along with bunch of other baked goods that we made. I need to bake the dough by Tuesday. I guess I will be firing up the oven.
    On your Wednesday dish: it turns out really good if you are using sun dried tomatoes marinated in olive oil, garlic and dry basil. I make that very often because it is easy and you can open a jar of marinated artichokes, whip up a dish in a minute. I add goat cheese to that mix as well. Let me know how it turns out – if you end up making it.

    • November 7, 2010 3:31 pm

      Thanks Ilke… I’m re-inspired by this dish now! It was feeling a little too summery, but who cares, right? I’m adding pine nuts into the mix as well.
      I would LOVE (slash, NEED) a break making class! I bet you got SO much out of it!
      Thanks,as always, for your comment!

  4. November 7, 2010 4:15 pm

    Those pita pizzas look delish! 🙂 We have kind of a weird week because we are pet sitting and won’t be home, so I don’t have that many dinners planned. But I do have some great rice, bean and veggie lunches planned!

  5. November 7, 2010 4:17 pm

    You are so right about it being a summery dish!! I have not thought about that.
    Bread class was good but it was a little bit (!) too crowded and short. I think I will continue with his books instead of classes and save money!! Have fun with your parents! I am impressed that they are already shopping for Christmas. You guys are all organized and well-planned family 🙂

  6. November 7, 2010 4:40 pm

    That spiced orange chicken looks particularly good!!

  7. November 8, 2010 6:05 am

    This week I am going to make a Butternut Squash Risotto with sugared pecans and pancetta. I can’t wait! 🙂 Your pictures are looking great!

  8. November 8, 2010 8:53 am

    Your pizzas are mouthwatering! There’s also no better way to get your house into shape than when the parents come to visit. I find myself cleaning crevices of my apt that I never knew existed!

    • November 8, 2010 11:20 am

      So true. In 2 weeks my inlaws come – it will be operation clean house X 1000!

  9. Erin permalink
    November 9, 2010 6:58 am

    Hey
    Are you going to share the recipe for the turkey minestrone soup? It sounds delicious!!

    • November 9, 2010 8:16 am

      Sure, stay tuned! I think I forgot to take a picture though. Bad food blogger.

  10. mom permalink
    November 9, 2010 12:40 pm

    Thanks for a great visit. Sorry, we gobbled up the soup before you could take the picture. It was yummy. Love you!

Leave a Reply

