Skip to content

Featuring Foodie Friends: Basil Chicken Burgers & Wild Rice Soup

November 9, 2010

I wanted to feature a couple of recipes I have made lately, both inspired from fellow food bloggers. I love the food blogging community. I am constantly inspired and have far too many recipes “bookmarked” for next week’s meal plan. These two recipes really don’t fit together, particularly in one post, but I’m going to be a rebel and break all the rules today. What these two recipes do have in common is that both were partially assembled the night before AND they are bursting with flavor. I like my taste buds to have a little Party in the USA when I eat, and both of these dishes delivered. Except for the fact that I don’t live in the USA.

The first is Basil Chicken-Turkey Burgers with Goat Cheese adapted from Pretty.Good.Food (click for her recipe. Mine is slightly different). I served these for company and our friends left asking for the recipe. And where do I put my recipes? Right here folks!

My first attempt making burgers from scratch and it was SO easy, I don’t think I’ll ever buy frozen patties again!
 

Basil Chicken-Turkey Burgers with Goat Cheese
Makes 8-10 burgers

1 lb lean ground chicken
1 lb lean ground turkey
****or 2 lbs ground turkey or 2 lbs ground chicken – whichever you prefer. I did one of each bc that is what I had!
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon lemon zest  
1 tbsp italian seasoning
4 teaspoons fennel seeds 
4 teaspoons poultry seasoning
freshly ground pepper and salt
1/4 red onion, chopped 
4 teaspoons dry ground mustard 
1 teaspoon cracked red pepper 
a few handfuls of basil, chopped
3 tablespoons olive oil 
3/4 cup seasoned bread crumbs

toppings:
Goat cheese and/or Swiss cheese 
Tomato slices
Lettuce leaves

Gently mix all your ingredients together (minus the toppings. Obvs). Do not overmix, just incorporate the ingredients  (I am currently going to counseling to address my overmixing problem).
Divide evenly and make your patties (check out Pretty.Good.Food for a good tip on making the patties nice and even). I made these the night before serving and put them in the fridge to help them hold their shape. They were perfect.
Before you grill on medium-high heat, let burgers sit for a few minutes to bring them down to more room temperature-ish (if you had put them in the fridge overnight), and throw them on the grill sprayed with cooking spray. I used my fabulous Cuisanart grill and they cooked for about 8-10 minutes or so with both sides of the grill down. Don’t overcook or they will be dry which is not nice. Top with goat cheese (or swiss), tomatoes, lettuce, and whatever other goodness you can think of. Yumm.

Switching gears. Everything I know about blogging is telling me not to do this, but I simply must share it with you. Today.  

The second recipe is this Creamy Vegetable Wild Rice Soup from A Pinch of Yum (click for her recipe). This was a particularly great soup recipe because it was surprisingly very filling, packed with roasted vegetables and wild rice, annnnnnnnd it’s made with 1% milk and lite laughing cow cheese so it’s not full of fat and calories. It’s also fabulous.

Creamy Vegetable Wild Rice Soup
makes…. a lot.

4 cups of vegetables, your choice. I used red onion, butternut squash & zucchini as per Lindsay’s guidance.
2 cups cooked wild rice
2 cups 1% milk
1/3 container herb & garlic light cream cheese
rosemary or thyme, chopped finely
salt and pepper
olive oil
cooked bacon (optional, except it should not be optional)

Roast your vegetables drizzled lightly with olive oil at 425 degrees for about 30 minutes. I did this the night before to save time. Cook your rice at the same time (also done the night before in my house).
Put roasted veggies in a dutch oven or large pot and add cheeses, milk, herbs, salt and pepper.
Once the cheese melts, add your cooked wild rice.
Top with crispy bacon and serve immediately

Delicious. Please note, if not served immediately, it becomes… something that does not resemble soup…. so be sure that once it is all assembled to serve it right away. For leftovers, I had to add quite a bit of milk to make it soupy again but it still tasted great the next day. The roasted vegetables make this soup absolutely killer and I had never considered using lite laughing cow cheese like this. The result was creamy, cheesy and so flavorful. I’ll definitely be making this again.

Thanks ladies for your wonderful recipes! Please check out their great blogs for other inspiring meals! 
Pretty.Good.Food

Pinch of Yum

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 11:28 am

    All I can say about these two posts is…YUM!!! I want to try both right this very instant! 🙂

  2. November 10, 2010 10:30 am

    Yum! I always make my own patties – you got me thinking I should post my chicken curry burger recipe.
    I’m definitely going to try and adapt this soup for our long weekend getaway..seems like the perfect thing for an after surf romp to warm up our bones 🙂

  3. November 10, 2010 4:20 pm

    Hi Kristin,

    This is exactly why I love food blogging, learning from others, and being able to try out wonderful recipes from your foodie friends. Both recipes look wonderful, job well done. Yumms!

  4. November 10, 2010 7:29 pm

    Kristin, I’m so glad you liked it! It’s amazing how filling it is even though it’s pretty low-cal and healthy. Gotta love a little laughing cow cheese in there! Those burgers also look tasty! You’ve been working away in your kitchen girl! 🙂

  5. November 13, 2010 11:18 am

    you had never made homemade burgers? that shocks me!
    well great first go at it- these look great!

  6. February 13, 2011 5:51 pm

    I’m so glad you liked the burger! Yours looks delicious 🙂 Happy Cooking!

Trackbacks

  1. delishplan week 54 « delish living

Leave a Reply

