Skip to content

Spiced Orange Chicken

November 12, 2010

I grew up on a dish much like this Spiced Orange Chicken recipe I’m about to share, and I despised it. Now I absolutely love it, and Kevin is me, as a little girl. I suddenly understand why God made me such a picky picky child. He knew I was going to marry the one I love, and was preparing me for it. Awesome. Despite Kevin not liking, well much of anything (besides sweet potato fries, sidekicks and three cheese ranch), I love him so much. But once in a while, he is going to get Spiced Orange Chicken. And he is going to eat it. Or else he will be enjoying it as his bedtime snack (wow, I cannot WAIT to say that to my future children! It doesn’t quite work the same when you say it to your husband).

Spiced Orange Chicken

I love everything about this recipe. The citrus orange flavour mixed with the nutmeg and ginger is a brilliant combination. When we eat this, it feels like I am eating at my Mom’s dinner table, and recipes like that always make me smile. This has been on my meal plan a few times over the course of this year, and not once have I officially shared the recipe (although I have shared the link). Tis a crime not to share.

Spiced Orange Chicken
slightly adapted from Jane Maynard of This Week for Dinner
note: this dish is not “hot” spicy 

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 cup flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
1 tsp fresh sage, chopped finely

butter/olive oil for cooking

Sauce:
4 tbsp brown sugar
4 tbsp vinegar
2 cups orange juice
2 tsp nutmeg
2 tsp dried basil
1 thumbsized piece of fresh ginger, minced

1 small can mandarin oranges

Directions:

Combine flour, salt, pepper and sage in a bag or in a large shallow dish. Coat chicken pieces in mixture. Brown chicken on both sides in butter/olive oil in a skillet over med heat. Drain fat.


Combine the sauce ingredients and add to skillet. You might want to add some cornstarch, bring to a boil and bring back to the med-low heat (I found my sauce didn’t quite thicken as much as I had hoped). Cover and simmer for about 30 minutes or until tender. Towards the end of cooking time, tip the cover a little to thicken the sauce.

Add drained mandarin oranges in the last 5 minutes of cooking time.

Heat about 5 mins.

Note from Jane: This freezes well, so it’s good for a quick company dish!

I served with Quinoa and Warm Broccoli Salad (cooked broccoli, red onions & orange pepper tossed with a handful of toasted mixed seeds, olive oil and sea salt). Yummy!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2010 12:53 pm

    Looks tasty!!

  2. November 12, 2010 2:08 pm

    Well, I think it sounds delicious! I’m super grateful my husband will eat pretty much anything I make.

  3. November 13, 2010 8:37 am

    Ooo I’ve been waiting for this one! Looks lovely!

  4. November 13, 2010 11:17 am

    this seems so simple and do-able!
    oh man, you have so many good recipes I keep putting in my recipe box but never making! my parents are coming for dinner tomorrow night, so maybe this is a good opportunity…

    • November 14, 2010 7:10 pm

      I totally know how you feel – I have waaaay too many recipes from all over the place bookmarked! It’s actually one thing I love about food blogging – you can never run out of food to cook/write about!

  5. November 13, 2010 9:25 pm

    This looks great! I am lucky that my husband is not a picky eater. Knock on wood. Now watch – I will have children who only eat pb & j. 🙂

  6. November 15, 2010 6:48 am

    Husbands know that they should just smile and enjoy whatever their lovely wives fix them 🙂 I think it looks yummy!

    • November 16, 2010 9:51 am

      You know, Kevin is USUALLY pretty good. For the most part, I know when I’m making him something that is going to not go over so well… this being one of them!!! Normally he’s pretty grateful so I can’t complain too much 🙂

  7. November 15, 2010 2:05 pm

    I love recipes that remind me of childhood or of my mom. This looks so delicious and easy to prepare! Love your new header, by the way!

    • November 16, 2010 9:52 am

      Thank you! I’m not sold on it yet – always a work in progress!

  8. November 15, 2010 2:05 pm

    I used to hate my mom’s enchiladas growing up, and now it’s one of my favorite meals so I know where you’re coming from! This chicken sounds divine.

  9. November 16, 2010 10:05 am

    a lovely chicken recipe, it has the comforting flavors of fall too.
    my husband used to be kind of picky but i put my foot down and molded him to like everything! hehehe 😉

  10. November 16, 2010 10:39 am

    I am so glad that I stopped by because I needed an idea for dinner. This is what I am making! I will tell ya how it goes- that recipe looks delicious 🙂 Thank you so much – yum yum.
    – Butter

  11. janemaynard permalink
    November 17, 2010 9:04 pm

    ha ha! love it! I just sat down to browse wordpress.com food blogs and thought, haven’t been to delish in a while…clicked, through, looked at the photo and thought “that looks a lot like grammy’s orange chicken” before I read a word…and it was! 🙂 I’m so happy that you love this dish so much. and you’ve reminded me that it’s been a while since we’ve eaten it. might have to put it on next week’s menu!

    great photos, too…looks, well, delish! 🙂

    jane

    • November 25, 2010 9:07 am

      Jane, you are truly one of my biggest inspirations and it’s so fun to have you visit 🙂 Thank YOU for originally sharing this recipe!

  12. Christina permalink
    November 24, 2010 9:45 pm

    Made this tonight, and it was absolutely delish!! Way to go..So glad I follow this blog..

    • November 25, 2010 9:05 am

      Awesome! I am glad you follow as well 🙂 I absolutely LOVE to hear when someone makes something and it’s successful. Thanks so much for letting me know!

Leave a Reply

