Skip to content

Easiest Ever Chocolate Chip Squares

November 24, 2010

In our first year of marriage, I participated in a Christmas Baking Exchange with some ladies from our church. I was still newly married, and had barely cooked or baked anything since grade 11 Home Ec, where I relied completely on the culinary skills of my high school bff. I wanted to bake something spectacular, as we were new to the church and I wanted to impress the ladies and their families. Talk about pressure. I stressed so much about it because I was completely clueless. And all of a sudden, as fellow procrastinatorss will relate, I had one night to bake 8 dozen of something, and I still hadn’t chosen anything because nothing was good enough (procrastination and perfectionism are not a good combination). So into Mom’s recipe binder I went.

And this is what they got: Chocolate Chip Squares. Hardly Christmas, I know I should have been embarrassed, but everyone loved them. I had kids of the families tell me that my contribution was their fav. Okay, listen up, so I know that kids aren’t always the best judge of things, but I take what I can get. And there is a LOT of gross Christmas baking out there, can I get an amen? Sometimes sticking to the basics is the best idea.

Little did anyone know that I had completely screwed these up. Instead of using a 9 x13 pan, I used an 8 x 8 square dish. They came out super fat and huge. I could not figure out why it was taking SO long to make 8 dozen of them when I remembered from previously making them that I should be getting at least 2 dozen out of each pan. But what the heck, they still tasted amazing, fatties or not. I didn’t figure it out until the next time I made the recipe. Honestly, evidence that these are foolproof even when you screw up.

As the title suggest (I just love titles), these are THE easiest ever chocolate chip squares in.the.world. I take my periods in.between.words very seriously, so when I do so, you can be rest assured that I mean serious business. Not only are they super easy, they are so yummy I could probably eat the entire pan if I were left at home alone with them. The red cover I have for my 9×13 Pyrex offers no protection for these babies from me. They taste so soft and gooey, and remind me of shortbread. Mmm, shortbread. Now THAT is true Christmas baking.

But when there’s no time for shortbread, there is always time for Chocolate Chip Squares, and you very likely have all the ingredients in your pantry. Check it out:

My recipe binder comes complete with a cheesy quote of love on the bottom:
“The only ingredient that really matters is love.” This fully kills me every time.

Mix together 2 cups flour, 1/2 cup margarine and 1/2 cup butter*** (both slightly softened), 1 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1 egg. All together now, none of this adding dry ingredients to wet ingredients or sifting flour or any of that crap. Just throw ‘er all in and mix to your little hearts desire!

I could eat the whole thing just like this

That’s it! Told you it was easy. Delish doesn’t lie.

Okay, well I guess you still have to press whatever cookie dough you haven’t eaten
into a 9 x 13 pan, and bake at 350 for 22 – 25 minutes.
You don’t even have to grease the pan – that would be far too much to ask!

Bake until golden and edges are slightly brown. Cool slightly before cutting into squares.
 

Seriously, wonderful. Soft and gooey and just slightly crumbly. Absolute perfection in 35 minutes or less. And the best Un-Christmas Christmas baking you can get. Besides, squares are automatically more Christmasy than cookies, are they not? Don’t answer that.

***You do not have to use a combination of butter and margarine. But if you use 1 cup of margarine, they will not have the same shortbread, buttery consistency that makes them so wonderful. If you use all butter, they might come out too soft and will probably brown too much (but would probably taste great still). It’s my personal preference to use 1/2 cup of each for the perfect combination!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 2:00 pm

    This sounds so yummy and so easy. I think I will try them out. What if you use the light butter? Its supposed to be 1/2 margarine, 1/2 butter already.

    • November 25, 2010 8:18 am

      Hmm I have not tried light butter (is that even available in Canada, I am not sure!) but like I said, these are pretty much fail-proof, so go ahead and try it! You could always half the recipe for your first time around and bake in an 8×8 pan (that would an appropriate time to use an 8×8!!!), and subsitute the light butter to try it out. That’s what I would do 🙂

  2. November 24, 2010 3:21 pm

    I definitely have a special place in my heart for cookie bars. The BEST I’ve ever had was at your parents house. Gail made these to.die.for shortbread/chocolate fudge/raspberry jam ones…I’ll send you the recipe. But I will DEFINITELY be trying these!

    • November 25, 2010 8:19 am

      Oh, I think I have tried those! Gail reads my blog… maybe she’ll see this and contribute her amazing recipe! She has provided me with a few recipes – I think it’s time Gail starts her own blog! But yes, please do email it to me if you have a chance.

  3. Kym Palichuk permalink
    November 24, 2010 4:06 pm

    This is so going to be on my list of a go to recipe. When I don’t have time to make cookies, but need something for my families lunch bags – I will for sure pull out “Kristin’s cookie squares”.
    Thanks so much for sharing.
    Oh, and you probably could add some christmas colored sprinkles (I know, Kevin wouldn’t eat it then-but he doesn’t live in my house) to make it more Christmas looking, I’m going to try.

    • November 25, 2010 8:20 am

      I was wondering if you can buy red and green chocolate chips?! Ha! These make a grrrreeeat lunch box addition. Hope your family enjoys 🙂

  4. November 24, 2010 4:28 pm

    This is a great idea. I really don’t like trying to get equal individual cookies, too much work. This is good for a lazy cookie baker like me!

    • November 25, 2010 8:21 am

      TOTALLY for lazy bakers! I am all over lazy baker recipes!

  5. November 24, 2010 5:05 pm

    Brilliant!

  6. November 24, 2010 8:01 pm

    love these! i don’t think you need to have christmas cookies for them to be served at christmas!
    though, I am planning big baking days in the upcoming weeks!

    i am jealous of your kitchen aid mixer…. so jealous. haha

    • November 25, 2010 8:22 am

      Ah, the kitchen aid mixer comes with a story, but maybe for another time. It was a Christmas gift last year from my parents and I love it! I foresee a kitchen aid mixer in your future someday (ok seriously, you must get one. check out kijiji!). Can’t wait to see what you come up with for Christmas!

  7. Sheeba permalink
    November 26, 2010 4:37 pm

    Great recipe! Just made these for a dessert potluck I’m going to tonight. Super easy and very yummy! I used light margarine instead of regular margarine, and they still turned out great – Thanks!

  8. December 3, 2010 10:04 pm

    I’m with you on eating that dough! done

    Love bar cookies!

Leave a Reply

