Skip to content

delishplan week 43

November 28, 2010

The Holiday Festivities have officially begun. Finally! I have been not-so-secretly celebrating Christmas for weeks now, and it’s about time the rest of the world joined in with me. Until now, my only holiday supporters have been department stores and Home Sense. But lately even my husband, a firm believer in Christmas beginning in December, has turned on the lights of the Christmas tree a few times. He turned 30 last week and I am thinking with his distinguished new age he has also become wiser. At least that’s what I am telling myself. Perhaps this also means he’ll start liking everything I cook?

I feel very blessed that I have so much to celebrate around the holidays (and all year long!). I have two wonderful families, a supportive, loving husband, a home I love, friends that surround us, but most of all, the reason we celebrate, a Saviour that brought hope to the world. As much as I love all the shopping, the decorations, the eggnog lattes and the parties, I celebrate Christmas with deep acknowlegement and gratitude of a God who loves us so much that he sent his son to earth to die for us, that we might truly live. I am not ignorant of or immune to trouble, sorrow or pain in my life, but I have peace knowing that there is something so much greater than this world. So bring on the festivities!

We have a busy week ahead of Christmas-ing amongst regular life. I also have a few great recipes that I am excited to share with you this week. Meal planning hasn’t shown up on this blog in a couple of weeks for various reasons (one being I left my power cord at work last weekend which meant no blogging!), but I hope you are inspired by this week’s plan. Because I believe I am cooking once. And it’s tacos. Very inspirational. Here you go, none the less!

Monday: Ladies Banquet at our church – a huge annual event that is sold out in hours every year. It’s a full catered Christmas dinner, but everyone brings a salad or dessert. This year I’m bringing a salad and it was a  huge relief to find something from Anna over at Chef Wanabe that is unique and looks amazing: Watercress and Couscous Salad. Can’t wait to try this. (Update 2 hours later: after coming home from the grocery store, I am not making this because the store was completely understocked tonight! I had a back up plan because I knew some of the ingredients may have been hard to find even on a non-Grey Cup night, so instead I am making Lemony Couscous Salad. I’ll probably post this later this week!).

Tuesday: Always our busy night, which means a slow cooker meal from The Big Cook. Easy and always good.

Wednesday: We have a gift certificate for Tony Romas, so we have a fun night planned to go for dinner there at West Ed and spend the evening shopping. I don’t know why, but I am looking forward to this date night of dinner and shopping like a giddy schoolgirl. I can’t wait!

Thursday: Our only night at home this week, and I’m thinking tacos. It’s been awhile and I can’t help but love them.

Friday: We’re off to a fun, formal Christmas party being thrown by our very good friends. I am super excited about this because I know that C & B know how to throw a good party, and I get to wear a new dress. The food will be awesome, and I am bringing Butternut Squash Pot Stickers which you have seen a preview of in my last post! Recipe to be posted soon. They are fabulous.

Saturday: Another Christmas party! Good thing I like these events – even though at the same time I find them completely exhausting. I can tell you right now that I will be spending all of Sunday recovering from all this socializing! I’m bringing dessert, and am still considering my options – a friend brought up her fabulous Oreo Truffles the other night, and then I found a recipe online (like you really need one – they are SO easy!), and I think I’m sold on those. My backup plan is my always delicious Pumpkin Cheesecake Squares. Oh Pumpkin Cheesecake, you never fail me.

There you have it – only one real night of cooking, if you can call tacos cooking! Still, if you’re in need of a salad, appetizer or dessert in the next few weeks, I’ve just given you ideas for each! To recap:

Salad: Watercress and Couscous Salad
Appetizer: Butternut Squash Pot Stickers (recipe to be posted)
Dessert: Oreo Truffles (from my blogging buddy Megan over at Cooking Whims) or Pumpkin Cheesecake Squares.

I would kind of like to eat all of that in one sitting.

What have you got planned this week? Have holiday parties started creeping up on you too? I’d love to hear what you’re cooking up this week!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2010 9:59 pm

    “Yes, please!” to the recipe for the butternut squash potstickers! 🙂

  2. November 28, 2010 10:27 pm

    beautiful post! Sounds like a fun week!

  3. November 28, 2010 10:40 pm

    hi Kristin,

    i really appreciate what you said about Christmas in the beginning of your post. sometimes we get all caught up in the festivities that we forget what any holiday is really about, not just Christmas.

    sounds like a fun week you have ahead of you. i still look forward to date nights too, but with two little ones, those are becoming more rare…sigh. hope you two have a great time.

  4. November 29, 2010 1:03 am

    I am also looking forward to butternut squash pot stickers! We’ve been snowed in this weekend and maybe until wednesday…it will be freezer meals for us for the time being!

  5. November 29, 2010 4:22 am

    Yes, December gets hectic all of a sudden. Don’t have any plans of cooking yet. We have been through two big dinner parties within the past four days, so have a lot of leftovers…and seriously I do not want to see any casserole for a looong time!
    Looks like good recipes coming up on your site! Looking forward to it 🙂

  6. November 29, 2010 7:27 am

    yay Oreo Truffles!! 🙂

  7. November 29, 2010 10:24 am

    I love date night, nights in and holiday parties! Bless this time of year!

Leave a Reply

