Skip to content

Aloha! Shrimp Stir-Fry

December 1, 2010

So, it’s pretty cold up here on the wintery prairie land in Canada. We had a few blustery days of MINUS 35 degrees which, honestly, I am unable to explain to you how cold that is. That is pretty much equivelent to minus bazillion. Ever read Little House on the Prairie? You know what stands out to me from those books? The blizzards. I thought it was romantic as a child to read that Pa would use a rope to guide himself to the barn and back to the house to save the chickens from the white out winter conditions. Don’t know what I’m talking about? Go read the books. Or at least watch a few episodes with Michael Landon as Pa. Sigh. Those were the good old days. I’ve recently discovered the library where books are, gasp, free, and I’m thinking I should borrow the entire series and read them over my Christmas break.

About the only thing we still have in common with the 1880’s is the weather. Goodness the Prairies are cold. But I love living here. Here’s one reason why:

Perty. I assure you, this is not what things look like right about now. Imagine this covered in white. Snow everywhere. Still beautiful – but freaking cold.

All this to say that I certainly wouldn’t turn down a little trip to Hawaii right about now. Just sayin. Since that’s not about to happen, we’ll just pretend with a little Shrimp Stir-Fry, and because we’re adding pineapples to it, I think we can call it Aloha Shrimp Stir-Fry. This is not at all an authentic Hawaiian dish, but because I’m so cold and because this is my blog and because I think pineapples remind me of Hawaii, I get to call it that. So Aloha to one and all.

This is yummy. It has that nice mild flavor that Kevin is so fond of, with lots of vegetables. I love the combination of the pineapple-ginger glaze with the shrimp, and the toasted sesame seeds really sets the whole dish off. It’s fast, easy on the calories, and it’s really a great weeknight meal.

Aloha Shrimp Stir-Fry
adapted from Company’s Coming

1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth
1/2 cup reserved pineapple juice
3 tsp low sodium soy sauce
1 tbsp + 1 tsp cornstarch
1 tsp chili paste

2 tsp peanut oil (or canola oil)
1 lb frozen uncooked large shrimp
2 garlic cloves
1 tbsp finely grated ginger (or more, but 1 tbsp is a good place to start if you’re not familiar with ginger)

2 tsp peanut oil (or canola oil)
5-6 cups fresh mixed stir fry vegetables (I used a frozen mix because I was in a hurry, but fresh is always best)
19 oz can of pineapple chunks – drained but reserve the juice (see first paragraph of ingredients)

sesame seeds, toasted (about 1/3 cup, but use to your personal preference)

Directions:
Stir first 5 ingredients in small cup until smooth. Set aside.

Heat wok (or large frying pan) on medium-high until very hot. Add peanut oil, shrimp, garlic and ginger. Stir-fry about 2 minutes until the shrimp turn pink. Keep the wok moving to avoid burning the garlic. Transfer to a small bowl.

Heat second amount of oil in the same wok. Add vegetables. Stir fry until tender crisp, about 3 minutes. Add pineapple and shrimp. Toss. Stir broth mixture and add to wok. Heat and stir for about 1 minute until boiling and slightly thickened.

Sprinkle with toasted sesame seeds and serve over hot rice. Serves 4-6.

1 serving = 179 calories, 4.5 total fat, 2 g fibre, 17 g protein

Betcha Laura Ingalls never made this.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. elaine s permalink
    December 1, 2010 10:30 am

    This is great! The dish is looks quick to make and the colors are very happifying. Funny that you mentioned Little House, a week ago on a nostalgic whim I had ordered the full set from Amazon to read over the Christmas break, as well as some interesting reads including an Asian cookbook (more for the great dialogue than for the recipes) and something called Musicophilia (relation b/ music and the brain). I totally need a library card.

    • December 1, 2010 10:39 am

      I wish I would have thought to order it before – I just looked it up and Amazon guarantees it will not ship until after Christmas. They are the perfect curling-up-at-Christmas books to read, so I’ve added them to my growing list of holds at the library 🙂 It’s a series I feel like I should have on my bookshelves anyway, so I’ll have to purchase them at some point.

      I enjoy the word “happifying”!!!

  2. December 1, 2010 11:43 am

    I loved Laura Ingalls!!!
    (And hate cold, freezing weather like today!)
    The stir-fry sounds great. 🙂

  3. December 1, 2010 12:47 pm

    love the colors! I’ll make this dish and ignore the snow and pretend I’m on the sandy beaches of Hawaii!

    PS-I used to love Little House on the Prairie, too!

  4. December 1, 2010 2:19 pm

    Wow, the cold sounds brutal! And here I am complaining about 55 and rainy in NYC. I will cease immediately 🙂 Your dish looks quite delicious!!

  5. December 1, 2010 6:38 pm

    This stir fry looks so tasty and summery. It’s not quite as cold here, but still grey and dreary enough that a tropical meal woul dbe much appreciated in our house!

  6. December 2, 2010 7:35 am

    I read all the Little House on the Prairie books as a kid, so YES I know what you’re talking about! And I love the look of that shrimp stir-fry!

    Stay warm 🙂

Leave a Reply

