Skip to content

delishplan week 40-something

December 12, 2010

Who can believe it is actually Dec 12? Not me. I have to apologize – I have been missing blogging and my little blog family.  December is my most favorite month – I have the Christmas Glee CD blaring (right now actually), the tree is up and beautiful, the mall is ridiculous and at work I spend half the time at various during-office-hours parties and luncheons, and half the time actually working (ok so I WISH that was the ratio…. it’s more like 10 – 90). We have also been gallivanting between cities to attend various events and weddings and have spent many hours visiting with friends and family – and each other. I estimated that in the last week, Kevin and I have spent 16 long distance hours in the car together – and we’re still happily married! Whew. Amidst all that, cooking has been pretty much non-existent. And yet there still seems to be food EVERYWHERE. It’s just that time of the year. We are busy.We are crazy. But we are happy.

This week there might actually be a bit of cooking in the mix. Good because you know how it is when there is food everywhere, but you haven’t really been cooking? Yeah. That means that we’ve been eating crap. And eating out a lot. I like eating out here and there, but after several days of this, I just want a good healthy spinach and vegetable filled home cooked meal. So I’m bringing back the meal plan that’s been noticeably missing from our lives the last few weeks. We still have a few events up this week, but things are slowing down a tad for which I am grateful.

Monday: Kevin’s work leadership team Christmas party – no cooking. More bad (by bad I mean good) food.

Tuesday: our Tuesday commitments are cancelled until the New Year, so we get to just hang out. I’m thinking soup and salad and deli style buns.

Wednesday: Veggie Stuffed Meatloaf. I might try this with ground turkey.

Thursday: out with some girlfriends for the evening

Friday: breakfast for dinner.

I promise to be back soon with some new recipes! I have some good ones ready to go, and they’re definitely worth sticking around for. If you care to share what your families are eating this week, please share!!!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 12:20 am

    This time of year is always crazy and off schedule isn’t it? We’ve been eating out a lot too. Mostly parties and trying to catch a quick meal between everything else. Gotta say though, still the best time of the year.

  2. December 13, 2010 5:38 am

    I know how you feel … from today until SUNDAY I only need to make one meal because of all the parties and get togethers we have going on! Which is kind of a good thing, kind of not a good thing. Hopefully I’ll either get some good workouts in, have good self control, or just feel comfortable enough with eating out for a week to enjoy it! 🙂 Excited to see how your meatloaf turns out.

  3. December 13, 2010 8:00 am

    hah! i was just thinking i really need to plan some real meals this week and stuffed meatloaf, waffles (since i got a new waffle maker) and also thats its been ages since i had a good big salad 🙂 my plan is like yours by default this week!

    • December 13, 2010 8:56 am

      oooh, i hadn’t committed to a breakfast option for Friday and my waffle iron hasn’t made an appearance in awhile – thanks for the idea!

  4. December 13, 2010 10:42 am

    Always love reading this roundup! I actually planned ahead for today at least and broke out my slow cooker this morning to make brisket. Coincidentally, I’m hosting a Brunch for Dinner Christmas Party on Friday for my family and my husband’s family! Such a fun twist on traditional dinner 🙂

  5. camille permalink
    December 13, 2010 2:05 pm

    totally hear ya on the ‘bad’ food. yesterday i ate 1/16 off the pan of “skor bars” i made (the ones that are made with choco/butter/sugar/saltines) …. and i felt so sick. today i scarfed down my apple to get some nutrition back in me!

  6. December 14, 2010 4:19 am

    We are taking easy this week since the past two weeks were crazy with eating. Mostly soup, salad, grilled cheese and easy fish or chicken. I have to go to my company’s Christmas party on Friday, so this week’s goal it fit in my nice skirt! 🙂

  7. December 14, 2010 4:20 am

    goal is to fit in the skirt! Too much sugar altered my spelling abilities!

  8. December 14, 2010 8:35 am

    Definitely a quick weeknight meal kind of week! It’s the fiance’s week to cook (we trade off weeks, so it’s a little bit easier on the both of us!), but you can definitely see a difference in my cooking and his cooking! (although both are still quite delicious!)

  9. December 14, 2010 10:44 am

    I love the Christmas Morning Wifesaver recipe from the Best of Bridge (google it) . We have it every Christmas morning, and when we have company – etc. Vanja loves it and it would make a fantastic breakfast for dinner. The great thing about it is you whip it up in 10 minutes before you go to bed Thursday – it needs to sit over night = and then pop it in the oven when you get home and dinner is ready in an hour.
    Salad on the side – and you will be happy.
    🙂
    Valerie

  10. December 14, 2010 10:17 pm

    yum breakfast for dinner! my fave!
    totally with you in regards to eating badly (or too well you could say) these past few weeks. so many parties and get togethers! i’ve barely been home! i feel my waist line expanding…. eeekk…
    glad to see things are calming down for you a bit. its nice to have some kind of balance!!
    i have no meal plan this week. haha! hopefully it’ll work itself out.

  11. December 20, 2010 2:21 pm

    I hear ya – there hasn’t been a whole lot of “real” cooking going on at my house – I’m sure it will be better after the new year!!

Leave a Reply

