Skip to content

delishplan: first of the New Year!

January 2, 2011
tags:

Well HI there! Do you remember me? It’s been awhile. No excuses here of course (except that I have been busy, totally sick, Christmas, vacationing, lazy, I basically didn’t cook, etc)… ahem. But here we are, January 2nd, and I am back to work tomorrow after almost 2 weeks off. It’s been absolutely wonderful. We had a fantastic Christmas holiday with both our families in two different provinces (other than the one we live in). And like I mentioned, I barely lifted a spoon in the kitchen except to put more dip on my plate. I got some FUN Christmas treasures that I can’t wait to put to good use, including a new kitchenaid food processor and the beautiful new cookbook from the barefoot contessa “How Easy is That?”. The cookbook I was expecting, the food processor I was not, and I was totally kitchen-geeked out when I unwrapped the food processor. Kevin’s brothers didn’t quite know what the big deal was. They didn’t realize that they should’ve been completely jealous. The electric razor simply does not compare to the food processor, obviously. I can’t wait to process… something.

I look like I'm about to make out with it

One thing I have been very bad at this year is taking pictures of life. Food pictures have completely taken over. This may or may not have been my New Year’s resolution last year as well. Let’s just say it wasn’t. Anyway, I hope to share more of our lives with you this year, along with the yummy, easy, everyday recipes that you’ve come to expect on my blog. Now that vacation mode is over (who am I kidding, I am still completely in it) and it’s back to work time, it’s also time to get back into my regular meal planning and cooking. And after a few weeks away, I’m very excited to get back into my kitchen.

Now I just have to find a spot for all my new kitchen appliances… (Santa also brought an electric skillet and a keurig single cup coffee brewer among other things… I really hit the jackpot this year!). 

Here’s what is hitting our dinner plates this week:

Monday: Well, since I haven’t grocery shopped since returning home Saturday evening, and I have a baby shower to attend in the evening, this leaves about two things to make: Grilled Cheese and soup. Cha-ching.

Tuesday: Stuffed Chicken and Salsa Potatoes… I’m kinda making this one up based loosely on a recipe I came across at my mother in law’s house… I was thinking at the time that I wished I had a photogenic mind, but I should’ve realized that’s what my iPhone is for.

Wednesday: My first recipe from the barefoot contessa: Roasted Shrimp with Feta… I should have groceries by this point 🙂 One of the ingredients is “Pernod” – can anyone tell me what that is?

Thursday: The Pioneer Woman’s Chicken Spaghetti … we love this. It’s not very good for you but it’s SOOOOOOO good. For our little family of two, I make two 8×8 casseroles and freeze one for later. Super handy, super tasty, PW never fails.

Friday: Leftovers… yummy delicious easy leftovers. I can’t wait til Friday for the shmorgasboard of deliciousness (if Kevin hasn’t eaten it all for lunch already) (Ok, I confess, it’s possible that I take leftovers for lunch too). There’s always pizza!

Oh it feels so good to be back. Now if only someone would come and take down my Christmas decorations for me? Thanks, that’d be lovely.

So… whatcha cooking this week?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 8:18 pm

    Wow, Santa WAS good to you this year. Yay for your new toys! Cant wait to see what you do with the food processor. Ever since blogging, I’ve been guilty of taking too many food pictures too…teehee. Happy New Year Kristin!

    • January 3, 2011 8:32 am

      Glad to hear I’m not the only one 🙂 Happy New Year to you too!

  2. January 2, 2011 8:59 pm

    Ooooing and awwing about the Kitchenaid food processor! I got the food mixer and I’m super excited to try it out!

  3. Candace permalink
    January 2, 2011 10:20 pm

    Yeah…. Kristin is back!!!! Oh how I’ve missed you!!

  4. elaine permalink
    January 2, 2011 11:17 pm

    hello food processor envy! mmmm that chicken spaghetti looks quick and delish and i’ll have to try that out soon. hey so i finished the “little house” series and am inspired to make southern style recipes like cornmeal bread, chicken and flour dumplings, apple pie, pancakes, etc this week!

    • January 3, 2011 8:37 am

      I read the series too, over the holidays! That all sounds great!

  5. January 3, 2011 2:22 pm

    I’m trying so hard to get on the meal plan train. I think I have it worked out for this week 🙂 I also got Ina’s new book and can’t wait to try it out! The roasted shrimp sounds divine!

  6. Kym Palichuk permalink
    January 3, 2011 3:04 pm

    Hey, incase you haven’t found out yet, Pernod is a licorice flavored alcohol.

  7. Kym Palichuk permalink
    January 3, 2011 3:13 pm

    oh, and thanks for coming back, I have missed reading your blog 🙂

  8. January 3, 2011 10:33 pm

    You will love your food processor! Christmas is so much fun!
    I am even working at meal planning again… to get off my tried and true track… so, you have definitely motivated me there!!
    🙂
    valerie

  9. January 4, 2011 6:21 pm

    I was wondering if Santa kidnapped you to the North Pole ! Welcome back, lady!!!
    I am too late to plan for this week! Have been trying to translate my whole blog to Turkish for the sake of my family and some friends. Taking up so much time so we are constantly eating soup 🙂 Next week! Definitely!

  10. January 5, 2011 12:40 pm

    I LOVE my Cuisine Art. It’s amazing. Got a Kitchen Aid mixer last year too and it’s awesome for so many things.
    This week I’ve started a South Beach inspired cleanse so it’s all about lean protein, lots of veggies, no sugar and no booze for a month. Woo! Day 3 and feeling great.
    Welcome back!

    • January 5, 2011 4:08 pm

      Ok, seriously, I LOVE the SBD! I did it 2 years ago with my mom, and lost about 25 lbs in 4 months. If you don’t cheat, it works, and you will feel GREAT. I still follow most of the principles (as you’ve probably read, it’s not a diet it’s a lifestyle, blah blah blah). The food is great, and you must check out the cookbooks! I have 3 of them, and they are all wonderful!

  11. January 5, 2011 1:09 pm

    Happy New Year! I think so many of us took a break (a well-needed one).

    I can totally relate regarding the food pics, my husb and I haven’t taken any pics of ourselves in months!

  12. January 6, 2011 10:16 am

    Happy New Year!!… glad you’re back and had a great holiday.. cant wait to see what’s in store next on your blog. have a great day.

  13. camille permalink
    January 18, 2011 3:06 pm

    verrrrry nice ! i love your caption! ha hahaaa

Leave a Reply

