Skip to content

spicy shrimp wraps with mango salsa

January 14, 2011

Spicy Shrimp Wraps

Confession: My favorite weeknight dinners are those which are on the table in 15 minutes or less. You see friends, I love to cook and I love writing about it. But I work all day. I spend up to 2 hours in the car commuting back and forth (especially lately – I would get home faster if I was on ice skates!). I have evening commitments several times a week. Not to mention I have friends I like to see every so often. Fancy dinners are not anywhere on my radar right now!

These spicy shrimp wraps took no time and they were a huge hit. And one of the main ingredients is mango. How much fancier can one get?!! The salsa and mango would normally be mixed together (hence “mango salsa”), but I left the mango separate to appease my mango-wary husband. Meh, more mango for me! You can easily fancy this up a bit by making your own salsa which is always extra delish, but I went with store bought.

Pretty!

These had tons of flavor – sweet from the mango, spicy from the seasoning on the shrimp, but still light, fresh and good for you. Feel free to add whatever veggies that suit your fancy, and even make your own taco seasoning if you’d like – the more you make from scratch, the healthier these baby’s get. See the bottom of this post for a good homemade version.

I am going to start making these for dinner every night.

Spicy Shrimp Wraps with Mango Salsa
adapted from Taste of Home Healthy and Delicious

1 cup salsa
1 tbsp ketchup
1 mango, peeled, and diced

1 pkg low-sodium taco seasoning, or homemade
1 tbsp olive oil
1 lb shrimp, peeled, devined and tails off (have you ever sat and pulled the tails of little shrimpy’s? It’s so fun!!!).

6 whole wheat flour tortillas, warmed

toppings:
fresh lettuce, green onions, thinly sliced red peppers, diced tomatoes, avocado, light sour cream, etc.

Mix the salsa, ketchup and diced mango together and set aside.

Combine taco seasoning, olive oil, and defrosted shrimpy’s in a large resealable bag. Shake until well coated.
In a skillet on medium-high, cook little shrimpy’s for just a few short minutes until they are bright and pink. ‘nummy.

Spread toppings over your flour tortillas, top with your favorite toppings and, voila, dinner is served and everyone is happy. Especially you. Because that took about 3.5 minutes to make.

Hi little Shrimpy!

Bonus: Homemade Taco Seasoning
from allrecipes.com
http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/taco-seasoning-i/Detail.aspx

How many times do I assume I have an ingredient, and get halfway through making dinner before I find I don’t? Um, far too often. It happened recently in fact, when I was literally making tacos and was missing the taco seasoning. The horror. Luckily I found a great recipe online. This mix tasted awesome, and I like that you can control the salt intake, as well as adjust any of the seasonings to your liking. The only problem is that I didn’t take a great picture, so you’re left with a crappy pic but a great recipe. I’d rather have a great recipe any day! Since my post today calls for taco seasoning, I thought I’d give you the option of making your own. It’s healthier. It lasts for several months in an airtight jar. And it tastes great. So why not?

Homemade Taco Seasoning

There are approximately 9 billion homemade taco seasoning recipes out there (it’s true, I counted), but this is basically what I used…. then I modified like crazy, adding a bit of this and a bit of that, and a lot of this and less of that. But this is a good place to start!

1 tablespoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon black pepper

Mix ‘er together and store in an airtight jar or container.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. littlemrsmosher permalink
    January 14, 2011 11:07 am

    looks yum! i’m a huge fan of epicures taco seasoning too – the older i get the more wary i get of prepackaged things 🙂

    • amanda permalink
      January 14, 2011 11:25 am

      I am all about the epicure taco seasoning as well. Always have a jar (or 2) of this on hand.

  2. January 14, 2011 11:30 am

    Ooh, great tip! I’m kind of a fan of Epicure everything. It’s dangerous!

  3. January 14, 2011 12:26 pm

    I make my own homemade seasoning too – I will have to compare it to yours. Great idea for a post! YOur wrap is gorgeous – and easy – and nutritious and so much fun. I love wraps for that reason.
    Kudos to you on this motivating piece today!
    🙂
    Valerie

  4. January 14, 2011 12:35 pm

    Yum! I will have to give these a try also giving my hubby the option of going mango-less. As you said…more for me!

  5. Cara permalink
    January 14, 2011 12:39 pm

    Can’t wait to try these. What a coincidence – I just got the same taco seasoning recipe from that site on Wednesday when I too realized I had none left in the midst of cooking dinner. It was great. I won’t be buying the packaged stuff again!

    • January 14, 2011 4:22 pm

      Too funny that we used the same recipe! I guess because it was basically the first one that came up in the search!!!

  6. January 14, 2011 12:41 pm

    I never even thought of making taco seasoning!! VERY good info to know!

  7. January 14, 2011 1:29 pm

    Oooh, I love the pictures and how delicious this sounds. Shrimp, mango, and salsa are such a lovely combo. I was going to make Vietnamese wraps tonight, but now you’ve got me contemplating. Thanks for sharing your recipes.

    • January 14, 2011 2:13 pm

      Oh – Vietnamese rolls got me to thinking that bean sprouts in these would be amazing!

  8. January 14, 2011 3:44 pm

    Love the look of this!! 🙂

  9. January 15, 2011 8:16 am

    It definitely does seem like we were on the same page this week! And funny thing is… I actually considered making a mango salsa instead of the cucumber one I made! Hehe! Definitely going to have to give these a go soon!

  10. January 17, 2011 10:54 pm

    yummy! I plan on making these sometimes soon!!!

  11. camille permalink
    January 18, 2011 3:07 pm

    mmm so gotta make this!!
    and i second the epicure taco spice! I use that often too and LOOOOOOOOOOOVE it

  12. January 25, 2011 9:28 am

    Great combination! Love mango salsa.

  13. January 25, 2011 1:31 pm

    Awesome recipe! I love weekend recipes that are different an meat with a couple of veggie sides. I’ll have to add this to my collection.

  14. January 25, 2011 2:05 pm

    oh yum! the shrimp looks soo juicy!

  15. January 25, 2011 8:21 pm

    I am so glad I found your easy recipe. I may have to adjust it a bit for my husband but – only a little. I also like the recipe for taco seasoning since I have never looked up any of the 9,000 ones already out there. I hope to see more of these easy supper meal ideas.

    Thanks,
    Jennie P. Martin

    http://www.jenniepmartin.com/

  16. January 25, 2011 9:05 pm

    looks tasty! What a great idea… never thought of these pairings. Gotta try this mango salsa!

  17. January 25, 2011 10:07 pm

    Looks delicious!

  18. January 27, 2011 5:41 pm

    “adding a bit of this and a bit of that, and a lot of this and less of that…” love it. i’m a big fan of culinary experiments… that’s how i cook, too! this spicy shrimp dish looks delish. thanks for sharing.

  19. January 27, 2011 9:33 pm

    Looks good. I’m a big fan for mango salsa. It is such an easy thing to whip together any time of year with frozen mango.

  20. January 30, 2011 9:01 pm

    Wow mangoes and shrimps!!! What a very delicious treat

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  21. March 1, 2011 5:14 am

    Your spice blend sounds great!
    http://pantrychef.wordpress.com

  22. March 3, 2011 5:10 am

    Life expectancy would grow by leaps and bounds if green vegetables smelled as good as bacon. ~Doug Larson

  23. March 5, 2011 1:53 pm

    That looks like a great weeknight recipe, thanks.

    • March 20, 2011 3:05 pm

      great weeknight recipes = my intention for this blog. what a compliment – thanks!

  24. dragongirl97 permalink
    March 30, 2011 5:28 am

    Wow! Those look really nice.

Leave a Reply

