Skip to content

delishplan week 50

January 16, 2011

Hi! It was a good week and an even better weekend -although as usual, never long enough. Highlights of the weekend were Saturday morning brunch with two of my favorite girlfriends, a friend’s birthday party last night and buying new family members for our home: 2 house plants. I’m very excited about them. Kevin named them Steve and Bennett – we’re (he’s) weird like that (Steve and Bennett are two of my brother’s friends btw). Oh look here they are!

Did I REALLY just post pictures of house plants on this blog? I did. This is my sorry attempt to share more of our personal lives on this blog (obviously this is going to take some work). Yes, I mentioned three fun things from this weekend: brunch, a party and houseplants. A much cooler person would share pictures from a lovely brunch or a fun party. Not me. I share
house plants. Houseplants that we named. Speaking of which, I can’t even tell you which one is Steve and which one is Bennett. I’ll have to ask Kevin when he gets home. As you can see, I have yet to pot them. But it’s basically been blizzarding for a week straight here, and my Mom told me they should be okay for a little while, so I’m waiting for the snow to be gone. So yeah, maybe in July.

Back to the point! What’s for dinner this week. It’s a full week once again (we are either out or have people at our place every.single.night), so I have lots of easy things prepared. ThankΒ  goodness for meals already prepared in the freezer. Here we are!

Monday: We have an annual dinner with Kevin’s work tomorrow night. I was asked to bring a hot vegetable for 20. Kinda hard when you only have an hour between getting home from work and dinner time. So I made 8 lbs of carrots tonight and will reheat tomorrow. I’ve shared this recipe before, but will be doing an official post on them probably this week: Roasted Carrots with Thyme (from the PW). I could eat them alone for supper (in fact I pretty much did tonight as I kept sneaking them while I was making them!). They are yummmmmy.

Tuesday
: Slow cooker meal from the freezer. Yes, I’m still pulling these out of my freezer from our Big Cook back in September. Best thing ever.

Wednesday: Told you this is freezer week: I have a frozen veggie lasagna just waiting for someone besides Kevin to be here for dinner. Kevin in fact will be away W night, but my parents are flying through Edm and will spend the night at our house with me. Good timing because I HATE being alone! Plus, they will appreciate a veggie lasagna, so it’s perfect.

Thursday: Sweet and Sour Chicken from last week that never got made.

Friday
: Appetizer night! We’re having a couple of friends over for games night, so I’ll make some easy appys and call it dinner. My favorite!

That is all! Hope you all have a wonderful week, and if you have a menu planned (or just a night or two!), I would absolutely love to hear what you’re having too!

Ooh, and if you have a favorite appetizer, I could definitely use some inspiration for Friday night!!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. rebecca meier permalink
    January 16, 2011 11:06 pm

    Some appies i love are:
    Dates with mozzarella wrapped in bacon
    Spinach Artichoke Dip with chips
    Chicken Wings
    Shauna’s Chilli Dip
    Bruchetta on a bisquette

  2. January 17, 2011 1:21 am

    I’m a fan of hot artichoke dip, there’s a recipe in the Eat, Shrink and Be Merry cookbook that’s supposed to be good or I use one from my Philidelphia cookbook. I also like the pita wedges from eat, shrink as well, they’re a healthy alternative to chips! πŸ™‚

  3. January 17, 2011 6:57 am

    Feta cheese ball with pita chips. I can almost guarantee it will be a hit. Check my blog for the recipe.

  4. January 17, 2011 8:14 am

    My menu plan….
    M: Spicy African Peanut stew
    T: Tilapia and veggies
    W: Vegetarian Nachos
    Th: Leftovers
    F: Frozen Pizza? πŸ™‚

    Thanks for reminding me to organize my thoughts on food for the week! πŸ™‚

  5. January 17, 2011 8:41 am

    I am finally on the menu planning train! I started this week since my husband and I are going veggie for the week. The ONLY way to make this work, in my opinion, is to have all of our meals planned out!

  6. acanadianfoodie permalink
    January 17, 2011 11:28 am

    WEEK 50!!!!! Standing ovation to YOU!!!!

    • January 18, 2011 4:22 pm

      thank you!!! i actually think it might be week 52 and i missed my official 1 year of meal planning… i’ll know for next week for sure!

  7. littlemrsmosher permalink
    January 17, 2011 8:07 pm

    so since i’ve been thinking about it for 2 days i have somewhat of an unofficial plan for the week…here goes:
    mon- souvlaki pork from costco w/spinach salad
    tues – toss up – toasted chicken sandwiches or your sweet potato enchilada casserole w/some leftover chicken thrown in- http://delishliving.com/2010/03/18/vegetarian-lovers/ – i dont have the green chilies – do they make the meal?
    wed – freezer meal here too tomato pesto chicken pasta courtesy of Dinner Rush and my groupon – 50% w00t!
    thurs – thai green curry
    fri – KD – not cold but fresh πŸ˜›
    actually this night will be whatever dad makes cause i’m going out for splurge night with the girls, which i need to make an appy for so i will be making anijitos – they are always a hit

    thanks for the inspiration, ps cute plants

    • January 18, 2011 4:20 pm

      although it’s better with green chilies (what isn’t better with green chilies?), i would still make it without!

  8. January 18, 2011 2:17 pm

    Sooo enjoyed reading ur meal plan… After all these years I truly wish I would plan the whole week ahead of time… All I know is that tonite is Rick Bayless’ Chard Tacos…
    PS – We also do the Friday appetizer thing! It’s such a fun way to end the week! Our fav is Emeril’s Stuffed Sausage Bread – decadent and ridiculous! (Cuz it’s Friday after all!)

  9. January 18, 2011 6:46 pm

    I think I just hit a new low when I planned to have my dinner (read: a sorry slice of pizza) at Costco tonight while shopping!
    Hats off to you! I put this on my new year resolution list πŸ™‚

  10. Em-mE permalink
    January 19, 2011 10:49 pm

    Your menu planning is soooo great, and I like Bennett and the other guy too. Plants are a good thing, especially in winter!

    Okay, I’ve been menu planning too, but have a bad habit of chucking the tear-outs after I’ve made them…so many recipes to try and so little times.

    Yeah, on my own tonight (don’t eat as healthy)
    Thursday-black bean burger with sweet potato fries (from Chatelaine January 2011)
    Friday-pasta with leftover turkey and a creamy tomato sauce with basil. Pear feta and pecan salad
    Saturday am- ricotta oat bran pancakes with raspberry sauce (since it’s on the same tear-out from Catelaine for Thursday) and probably sausage and pyrogies for supper.

    I think comfort food when we have so much so is in order…and isn’t that a big part of the year?

    • Em-mE permalink
      January 19, 2011 10:54 pm

      I meant ‘comfort food when we have so much SNOW!!! It’s getting late:)

  11. Jayna permalink
    January 20, 2011 12:21 pm

    I love the plants Kristin!! πŸ™‚

  12. January 29, 2011 5:25 pm

    I think pictures of houseplants are a great idea – they say all sorts of good things about you because they are still alive! I love it!

Leave a Reply

