Skip to content

delishplan week 52

February 2, 2011

You may have thought I disappeared off the face of the earth. I kind of did for awhile there. In the meantime, one of my plants died and the other is well on its way to meet its maker. Woops! I’m going to have to try again. And perhaps water them more faithfully this time.

So I realized that this is my 1 year meal-planning-iversary! 52 weeks of meal planning (i.e. getting my work-home-life-balance under control), this week. Sure there were weeks here and there that it simply didn’t happen (especially throughout the end of December), and some weeks that the entire meal plan consisted of freezer meals (still homemade for the most part!) and eating out. But in general, I have made all kinds of new recipes, tried new things and expanded my thinking of what I can do in the kitchen. A week with a meal plan is much MUCH nicer than a week without one. I am organized, I am not frantic at 5 pm, and I feel in control of my life (a little bit drastic, but true). I also make far less crap, like kraft dinner (mmm I like KD) and other bad-for-you boxed meals. It’s amazing to come home at the end of the day and know what you are going to make that night – and that you have all the ingredients you need for it  (except when you forget to add an item to the grocery list. That’s where husbands come in handy). I know for a fact that we have saved money buying only the products that we need for the week, and I know that there is a whole other level of meal planning that I have not ventured into yet (this involves reading flyers, clipping coupons, several grocery stores, and deciding your meals for the week by what’s on sale…. it is the holy grail of meal planning).

I should be having a celebratory meal planning week, you know, all my favorites from the year, etc, etc, but I’m not. It’s just another week of easy, quick, yummy meals and I’m just happy to have it done!

Monday: Tuna Sandwiches and Soup
Tuesday: Chicken Fingers and Sweet Potato Fries
Wednesday: Baked Chicken, Green Beans and Mashed Potatoes
ThursdayVegetarian Enchilada Casserole
Friday:  Out for Dinner

I have been sad about my lack of blogging lately, and I miss the small community of blogging buddies I have formed – I have missed reading your blogs as well. I have big plans to return with a vengeance, and I do hope it’s soon. Thanks for still reading along.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. littlemrsmosher permalink
    February 2, 2011 2:03 pm

    happy 1 yr! 😉 glad you are still keeping at it. don’t feel bad, it was January – i came down with a serious case of hibernation. Loved the Veggie Enchiladas – everyone gobbled them up. the green chilies were a great addition, i filled my tortillas and rolled them and covered with the last salsa/tomato mix + all the rest of those goodies including cilantro – dave was impressed 😉

  2. Jayna permalink
    February 2, 2011 3:40 pm

    Way to go Kristin! I have yet to master the meal planning thing, but you’re right that it brings about much more sense of control. Sorry to hear about your plants – I am right there with you. I love plants.. but my I am kind of a herbi-killer. I blame my windows for being on the wrong side of the house and therefore not providing sufficient sunlight. Do come back to bloggy world, we miss you!

  3. February 2, 2011 5:14 pm

    I’ve missed you!
    Just for when you get to it…coupons!
    http://websaver.ca/en_ca/
    http://www.save.ca/coupons

  4. February 2, 2011 6:45 pm

    Congrats on the first year! And welcome back!
    Sometimes life gets in the way, don’t worry about being a tad bit away. We need to be away time to time (I did not check emails for three days between Fri and Sun this past weekend and felt renewed on Monday:) )

    Love the sweet potato fries !! Never made at home though 😦

  5. February 3, 2011 5:08 pm

    What a wonderful week – where are the veggies for Tuesday?
    You are an amazing homemaker!
    🙂
    Valerie

  6. February 3, 2011 5:54 pm

    Week 52- awesome! Glad you’re back. 🙂

  7. February 4, 2011 12:21 am

    Sweet potato fries, yes please… Congrats on 1 year!!!

Leave a Reply

