Skip to content

delishplan week 53 with Ham & Swiss Linguine Casserole

February 6, 2011

Hey! So this week is going to look a little different because we are going away! I am SO excited for a little getaway. We are going to Banff, which is a beautiful little town in the Rockies that I just love. I especially love the fudge shop….. and there is a KILLER “old-fashioned” candy store too… mmmmmm.

picture taken from random google image search...

We’re going with all the staff and their families from Kevin’s work for a conference. It’s going to be awesome. I am most excited to sleep in, eat good food, and hang out with some very special people in my life. It’s also likely that I am going to sample every type of fudge and buy a stupid souvenier.

From there, Kevin and I are headed to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort which is even deeper into the mountains for a two night stay, just for fun. And a little romance. It IS Valentine’s “weekend” you know! I am married to a good, good man, and I am so thankful for him.

Anyway, we leave on Tuesday, so I only have one meal to worry about this week, and it’s leftovers – the Sweet Potato and Black Bean Enchilada’s from last week (not to be confused with Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili, which is equally as delicious if you’re looking for a new chili recipe!). For some good alteration ideas to the enchilada’s, check out the comment left by littlemrsmosher (who is a real life friend) last week. This is a no-fail meal and I encourage you to give it a try, especially if you’re wary of vegetarian meals – this is an awesome “ease” into it type meal!

It’s been so long since I posted a recipe here, and I’m going to do something a little unconventional… I’m going to post a recipe that I haven’t tried. Food blogger suicide, perhaps. But a friend of mine asked me for an idea for leftover ham, and this is a recipe that I came across recently… maybe one of you will try it before me….I make no promises here! I thought it looked yummy and very easy, and I hope you will think so too.

Ham & Swiss Linguine Casserole
from Taste of Home Healthy Cooking

8 oz uncooked multi-grain linguine, broken in half
2 cups cubed fully cooked lean ham
1 3/4 cups shredded swiss cheese, divided
1 can reduced fat, reduced sodium, condensed cream of mushroom soup (OR…. if this were me, I might exchange this for a half tub of light cream cheese, veggie flavored perhaps… just sayin’)
1 cup reduced fat sour cream
1 medium onion, chopped
1 small green pepper, finely chopped (me here again – I would probably switch this for peas! I love peas!)

1. Cook linguine according to package directions. Meanwhile, in a bowl, combine the ham, 1 1/2 cups of cheese, soup or cream cheese, sour cream, onion and green pepper. Drain pasta; add to ham mixture and stir to coat.

2. Transfer to 9 x 13 inch baking dish coated with cooking spray. Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. Uncover; sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake 10-15 minutes longer or until cheese is melted.

I hope everyone has an excellent week, and I hope to come back next week with beautiful pictures from our trip and a week of inspiration for you!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2011 8:20 pm

    I think you picked a good recipe without trying. Seems like full of flavors.

    The town looks so cute! Something out of a postcard! I hope you get a good bit of rest and have good time!

  2. February 7, 2011 7:28 am

    Sounds like a wonderful trip. I’m extremely jealous over here 🙂 Have a great week!

  3. February 9, 2011 6:55 pm

    I’m looking forward to your pics! We are going on a little getaway this weekend, too. It’s so fun to have something to look forward to!! It’s great to have an awesome husband to get away with, too! 🙂

  4. February 9, 2011 10:10 pm

    Have a blast in Banff – one of my favourite places in the world. Enjoy the weather – go for a mountain hike and skating and skiing and hottubbing – oh – and eating.
    🙂
    valerie

Leave a Reply

