Skip to content

delishplan week 54

February 13, 2011
tags:

For whatever reason, it took me FOREVER to come up with this week’s meal plan! But as always, I’m so glad I did because it’s a good week of easy cooking, and some of my favorite stand by’s are on it. I’m also excited to try something new: Butternut Squash Mac & Cheese, inspired by THIS fabulous blogger. I’ll be using an actual butternut squash, since I have one sitting on my kitchen counter waiting to be cooked up into deliciousness.

As you know, we were away this past week, spending 2.5 days in Banff, Alberta, and 2.5 days at the Fairmont Hot Springs, in British Columbia. It was a perfect week and so nice to get away with my sweetheart. I was rather lazy with my picture taking, but I did take a few pics with my iphone… not the best quality pics, but kinda fun.

Banff Ave

View from the Banff Springs Hotel

I did take a few pics with my real camera, which I’ll go through and post this week hopefully. It was a beautiful time away, and I’m home feeling refreshed and relaxed (but still not ready to return to a crazy week of work!). Sigh!

Here’s dinner this week – please share your plans too!

Monday: Valentine’s Day! Since we spent most of the week at our little mountain-lodge getaway, we’re happy to stay in on Monday night. I”ll make a fav meal of Kevin’s – Bacon and Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo, using a new recipe I discovered this week. Nothing too tricky, but will make for a happy husband. He doesn’t need fancy to be happy (which is sometimes such a blessing!). We’ll see how this new recipe compares to my faithful Alfredo recipe found HERE.

Tuesday: Kitchen Sink Quesadillas from Jane at This Week for Dinner. An old stand-by. These are so easy and so yum.

Wednesday: Butternut Squash Mac n’ Cheese – half using Lindsay’s recipe, half made up in my head….

Thursday: Slow Cooker Chicken Stew with Apricots and Couscous – this is so.so.good. I haven’t pulled out my slow cooker much this winter and it’s a shame because some of my favorite meals are slow cooker meals. They are so versatile and make my life so much easier.

Friday: Basil Chicken Burgers with Goat Cheese – I have just been craving these lately!!! They are the best!

Yum!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2011 1:54 pm

    It is always nice to get away for a while! It is one thing I want to do more this year…short get-aways to prevent the burnout at work!

    We had a huge Turkish dinner for friends last night, so the next two nights will be the leftovers. Since I cooked 7 hours straight yesterday, I want to refrain from cooking for a while, and will be eating salmon burgers one night and I want to make your slow cooker chicken. Maybe Thu or Wed. I am sure it will be awesome!

    • kristin permalink*
      February 16, 2011 9:30 am

      a huge Turkish dinner sounds amazing!!! (and a lot of work!)

  2. February 14, 2011 12:14 pm

    I LOVE my slow cooker. With beef, pork, or chicken, I brown the meat in seasoned flower to get my spices in.Rice cookers are great too. Not only can you cook rice, but you can add ground beef or other meat or other ingredients and cook a meal in your rice cooker too

    Thanks for the recipe and good advice! I will definitely be making those!!

    Looking for a quality small kitchen appliance? Visit http://www.indoorgrillcooker.com for the most up-to-date information on selecting, using and maintaining your kitchen appliance.

  3. February 14, 2011 3:58 pm

    I bet my honey would love bacon & chicken alfredo!

  4. February 14, 2011 7:20 pm

    You have quite the meal plan lined up the week girl! Way to go! Those chicken burgers sound great… I’ll have to check those out. Happy Valentine’s Day- hope your bacon and chicken fettuccine turned out deliciously (how could it not?!)!

    • kristin permalink*
      February 16, 2011 9:31 am

      it wasn’t as good as i was hoping! i will definitely stick to my old faithful alfredo recipe 🙂 that’s okay though – it’s good to try new things!

  5. littlemrsmosher permalink
    February 15, 2011 7:19 am

    the insta-gram photos are great perfect process for a lower quality photo – you can barely tell! here’s some meals happening in our house this week, hopefully
    v-day- veggie quesedillas w/guacamole + strawberry ” milkshakes”
    daves bday -he didn’t want a fancy supper and he’s going out with your dad for lunch so probably something easy like spaghetti + basil meat sauce + salad? not sure better get thinking
    wed- fast supper since he has music practice – tuna melts + macaroni for kids – might try your tuna recipe to change it up
    thurs – friend in town maybe go out..if not better butter chicken
    fri – friend is still here we better be going out if we didn’t on thurs….lol
    have a great week!

    • kristin permalink*
      February 16, 2011 9:31 am

      Is the Better Butter Chicken from Eat, Shrink and Be Merry??? I still haven’t tried that one!

  6. February 15, 2011 7:44 am

    Sounds like an excellent and very yummy week. My husband doesn’t need fancy, either – thank goodness. But the grind of that evening meal does take its toll!
    🙂
    Valerie

  7. February 15, 2011 8:47 am

    Always love reading your meal plans! You have inspired me to break out my slow cooker, an appliance and I adore but don’t often devote much time to!

    • kristin permalink*
      February 16, 2011 9:32 am

      Slow cookers are so underrated!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention delishplan week 54 « delish living -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

