Skip to content

pizzzzzzzza

April 14, 2011

What’s this? A midweek post? So exciting!

As you know, I have basically ZERO motivation to cook lately, and things don’t seem to be looking up in this department! However. When your hubby informs you at 11 am that he’s invited company for dinner on a Wednesday night, somehow motivation overdrive kicks in. I spent my lunch hour at the grocery store and somehow managed to put two super yummy, easy peasy, company worthy pizzas, salad and chips on the table by 6 pm. Super-staaaaar (Molly Shannon anyone??? Okay. Maybe not). Perhaps Kevin should tell me every day that he’s invited friends over for dinner. At least then he and I would be eating regular meals!

BBQ Ranch Chicken Pizza

BBQ Ranch Chicken Pizza

Seriously, this is so darn tasty. Kevin and our guests gobbled it right up. In a perfect world, where I wasn’t cooking for Mr. Picky,  pineapple and cilantro would put this over the top. Something to consider for your household!

Crust: Pillsbury Pizza Dough – I had my doubts, but it was awesome.
Sauce: 1/2 cup bbq sauce and 1/2 cup Kraft Three Cheese Ranch dressing, mixed
Toppings: cooked chicken, mushrooms, green peppers, red onions, green onions (added just before serving)
Optional: cilantro and pineapple
Cheese: Kraft Italian 4 Cheese blend
Extras needed: cayenne pepper, salt, pepper

Bake crust according to package directions on a cookie sheet.
Cook chicken pieces in a bit of vegetable oil. I added salt, pepper & a few dashes of cayenne while the chicken was cooking. Cover and set aside.
Mix bbq sauce and ranch dressing. Use a bit of the sauce to toss the chicken with (should just lightly coat the chicken). Spread remaining sauce over baked crust, leaving about a half inch border.
Sprinkle a generous amount of cheese.
Top with whatever toppings suit your fancy.
Bake again, according to package directions.
Sprinkle with green onions and/or cilantro just before serving.

Margherita Pizza

Margherita Pizza

This was the pizza I loved. For whatever reason, I was totally uninterested in the BBQ Ranch Chicken, and opted for this fresh, simple and delicious vegetarian friendly pizza. I loved it. Even Kevin had a bite (he’s a tomato hater) and deemed it “fine” – fine is good people, fine is good.

Crust: Pillsbury Pizza Crust
Sauce: Jarred Pizza Sauce (or make your own)
Cheese: Kraft Italian 4 Cheese blend
Toppings: Roma tomatoes (marinated in olive oil, garlic, sea salt and pepper) and fresh basil
Extras Needed: 1 garlic clove, salt, pepper, olive oil

Slice tomatoes and marinate them in a bowl with a few tablespoons of olive oil, 1 minced garlic clove, sea salt and pepper. Let sit for about 10-15 minutes.
Meanwhile, cook crust according to package directions.
Spread pizza sauce over baked crust, leaving 1/2 border. Sprinkle with generous amount of cheese.
Place tomatoes evenly over pizza. Drizzle entire pizza lightly with olive oil.
Bake again, according to package directions.
Add strips of fresh basil, just before serving


Perfection!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    April 14, 2011 10:16 am

    Looks yummy….both of them! In fact you have inspired me to make the BBQ chicken one for supper tonight! Hmm hmm good!

    • April 14, 2011 1:38 pm

      yay! this is the type of comment every food blogger loves – when you actually make the recipe! success!

  2. April 14, 2011 11:16 am

    YUMMY!
    I really need to make pizza. I’m glad to see you liked that pizza dough. I might go that route, because whenever I want to make my own pizza, its too late for me to get the dough going…

  3. littlemrsmosher permalink
    April 14, 2011 11:17 am

    mmm pizza! BBQ sauce AND ranch – so doing this next time!! i’m pretty sure I have a ranch tooth the same size as Kevins….lol. also i ❤ pillsbury pizza crust – my most recent pizza i ventured into homemade dough – i was really surprised + impressed – i'm all about EASY! you should make Kevin make it – slap the dough hook in the kitchen aid + voila http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/quick-and-easy-pizza-crust/Detail.aspx

    • April 14, 2011 1:39 pm

      i’ve heard it’s super easy to make your own dough. i will do it, someday! and it’s always fun to use my kitchenaid 🙂

  4. April 14, 2011 4:42 pm

    Oh it IS super easy! And even though I use yeast, I don’t let it rise. I mix it in the kitchen aid while the sauce is simmering and I have homemade pizza in about 45 minutes or an hour.

  5. littlemrsmosher permalink
    April 14, 2011 5:38 pm

    i also made pizza – but my pizza was jealous of your pizzas fresh basil – summer where are you?! also for that dough my pizza was ready scratch to cooked in 40mins! devoured in alot less 🙂

  6. April 16, 2011 5:23 am

    I love the BBQ chicken idea. I like that pizza dough. Then I found that they sell ready to bake pizza dough at Trader Joe’s, and now I am addicted to their wheat pizza dough. I think you pulled a great dinner together. I know I will be doing the BBQ one soon, with all the cilantro on top 🙂

  7. April 16, 2011 6:53 pm

    Omg! Your pizzas look amazing, Kristin! I love the sauce and ingredients you used on your BBQ Ranch Chicken Pizza. They both look delicious!

  8. July 23, 2011 8:15 am

    I love me some pizza! Great photos, but now I’m hungry!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

