Skip to content

Coconut Fudge Bars

April 27, 2011

Coconut Fudge Bars

Sometimes this is all you need in life to make everything better.
 
I needed a quick and simple dessert for a Good Friday lunch with friends, and these fudge bars were the perfect solution. They are no-bake and took no time at all to put together and throw in the fridge for a few hours. They are completely preggo-friendly (i.e. lazy girl cooking/baking… but also that they don’t contain any deli meat, bean sprouts, unpasterized cheeses – I miss you goat cheese – or any of the other millions of things I’m not supposed to be eating right now. Pssshhhaw).
You certainly don’t have to be 5 months pregnant to enjoy making a family friendly dessert, so here you all go! And I full on copy and pasted here, so even my blog is preggo-friendly (again, talking about the lazy factor).
 
Coconut Fudge Bars
from Kraft Canada
 
1 cup butter, divided
2-1/2 cups Honey Maid Graham Crumbs
1 cup sugar
2/3 cup evaporated milk
1 pkg. (250 g) Jet-Puffed Miniature Marshmallows
1-1/2 pkg. (8 squares each) Baker’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate, coarsely chopped
1 cup chopped walnuts (I left these out. Yuck).
1 cup flaked coconut, toasted (toast at 350 on a single layered baking pan, stirring every 30 seconds or so, for 2-4 minutes)

 

LINE 13×9-inch pan with parchment, with ends of parchment extending over sides. Spray with cooking spray. Mix 3/4 cup butter; mix with crumbs. Press onto bottom of pan.

BRING remaining butter, sugar, milk and marshmallows to boil in large saucepan on medium heat, stirring constantly. Cook 5 min., stirring constantly. Add chocolate; cook until melted, stirring frequently. Pour over crust.

TOP with nuts and coconut. Refrigerate 2 hours or until firm.

I only added the toasted coconut on half the bars to accommodate any coconut haters, but I was surprised to see that the coconut half disappeared first!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 10:30 am

    I love anything that’s quick and easy. And when you combine that with a chocolate dessert, I’m seriously in!

  2. rebecca meier permalink
    April 27, 2011 11:14 am

    yum!

  3. Amy McRae permalink
    April 27, 2011 8:57 pm

    MMMM Chocolate and coconut, what could be better!

  4. April 29, 2011 9:25 am

    Those look awesome. I’m all for simple desserts too.

  5. May 1, 2011 4:41 am

    coconut fudge bars!!! I love and hate you at the same time for posting this. I hate you for posting this because you make me hungry but I love you for posting this because you make my day so much better! 😉 Thank you!

  6. May 2, 2011 2:01 am

    That looks so good! I am so drooling now

  7. May 2, 2011 11:05 am

    First of all, coconut and fudge together – perfection. Second, a no bake recipe – I am in! Thanks for sharing.

    • May 4, 2011 1:29 pm

      Courtney – I am SO happy you commented because I found your blog through it! You are awesome, and I absolutely love the concept of your blog! I tried commenting on a post, but something is wrong with my settings, and none of my comments are working on other blogs right now. I don’t know what’s going on, but hopefully you’ll see this, and hopefully I’ll get things worked out on my end 🙂

  8. May 3, 2011 11:26 am

    YEAH!!!! Those are making my life better! 😀

  9. May 3, 2011 12:34 pm

    They look delicious..and sounds like an easy recipe..i like 🙂

  10. LisaK permalink
    May 4, 2011 8:17 am

    I ate goat cheese! Not sure what kind you’re into but the soft little “logs” we get are all pasteurized!!! PS. These bars look scrumptious! My mom found some gluten-free graham crumbs… yum!

  11. akatwentyeight permalink
    May 13, 2011 1:46 pm

    Sometimes these are all you need in your life to make everything better is right! Coconut, fudge, graham crackers.. really can’t go wrong!

    Thanks for sharing & Happy Friday
    twentyeight
    http://www.threetwentyeight.com

  12. May 31, 2011 7:01 pm

    Oh boy, I am DEFINITELY making this one!

Leave a Reply

